Dr. Aazy Aaby MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Portland, OR

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.8)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    60%
  • Great
    8%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Wait Time 17.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 16th, 2017
No worth the wait
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Long wait times 45 mins or more behind apt. time. Front staff was very slow, unresponsive and inattentive. Gave the overall impression that patient was not valued and just part of the "herd" in the waiting room. Waiting room was boring, bland, and uninviting. This was a first for my child so it was important to have a space of engagement for both child and parent. Once we got into apt. the Medical assistant did not explain anything to my child but quickly "man handled" my child and forced drops in my Childs eye with my child expressing fear. I expected as at my child dentist or primary care doctor some bedside manner that was child friendly supportive and educational. the examiner room was cold, unwelcoming, and unfriendly to kids. The medical assistant then left my child and myself in this room and said to my child don't touch anything. We were in the room for over 35 mins. My child was crying the whole time in response to how the medical assistant treated my child with the eye drops. No one came in to ask if we were all right. Then the Dr came in rushed said I agree with the machine kids needs glasses took less then 5 minutes to confirm prescription and then walked out of room. We were escorted to the glass section and was told our insurance only gave us the choice of two glasses offered in a black box. Mind you this is a child's first glasses. One of the pair was broken and the child had to try on a broken pair of glasses. the assistant offered no advice on frame size or fit. I could have done much better at lens crafters or Cosco and gotten better help. The assistant walked away for long stretches at a time as we tried to navigate the process. I left feeling that neither my child or myself were valued and that we were disrespected. The experience was awful and I will not go back to this office or doctor. I would not recommend this office or this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 28th, 2015
Friendly, Kind, Listens, Great Physician
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Aaby is a great. I liked his office, his staff was friendly and my prescription is perfect. Go see him, he is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 13th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Awful, arrogant, rude, and patronizing. He showed up for less than 5 minutes looking grumpy scaring my sensitive sweet 4 year old. Facing a terrified child, Dr. Aaby asked in an angry tone if my child has mental problems! In summary, this is, by far, the worst MD I have ever met and I've had my fair share. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 12th, 2015
Great Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been to see Dr. Aaby many times over the years. He is one of the most caring and courteous physicians I know. He explains things thoroughly, took great care of my elderly mom when he did her cataract surgery and is all around a great doctor. I highly recommend him.g8
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2013
Exceptional Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Both my husband and I and our children go to see Dr. Aaby. He has been my doctor for years. He is honest, would never try to sell you something that you do not need, and is always right on with our prescriptions
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 27th, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is good with kids. Too friendly? Takes a long time to get an appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Best doctor ever.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 31st, 2013
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing this doctor for over ten years now. He is honest and straightforward. He listens to concerns and accurately diagnoses problems. He is a phenomenal doctor who I highly recommend.

5.0 of 5
September 29th, 2012
No one else gets my eyes right
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I miss having eye care. It's probably been about six years since I have been because I don't have health insurance. However, I have had Dr. Aaby as a doctor since I was a little kid. I have a severe astigmatism and I need prism in my lens. He gets it right on. I have tried other doctors at major optometry chains. However, I have had to go back multiple times because of the mistakes they made. Not with Dr. Aaby. If it's ever financially feasible I will go back to Dr. Aaby.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 6th, 2012
Shouldn't be a doctor!
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
AWFUL doctor! He refused to listen. I suspected that my daughter had a certain eye condition. He REFUSED to conduct the proper diagnostic tests. My daughter now is nearly blind. I got a second opinion, and my suspicion was right. If Dr. Aaby would have put his huge ego to the side, her vision would be fine! Do not see him. He thinks he knows everything, and does NOT care about anyone but himself!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 27th, 2012
Wait time
35 minutes
This doctor doesn't care AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2012
Great doctor for kids
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Aaby is great with children. I highly recommend him for anyone with young kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Aazy Aaby, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Portland, OR.