ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Abhay Rao Is this you?
  • 7
  • 1
  • 3
  • 3
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
23.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Abhay Rao?


18 Ratings with 10 Comments

3.0 Rating

December 14th, 2016

Front desk is terrible and rude. Blanca

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 10th, 2014

Fed up

Dr. Rao was ok, has had better GP's. His front desk is a very big problem. You can't count on her for accuracy, she schedules you for one day and you show up and the doc isn't even in that day. You have a doc send information to Dr Rao and it never gets to him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 4th, 2014

Doctor, where?

Doctor is unavailable. Does not come in the office for weeks! Office staff doesn't answer the phone, in fact, they turn off the phones. Staff is ineffective, rude and unprofessional. They would be better off with toddlers running the office and a cardboard cutout of a real doctor

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 20th, 2013

get a different doc

Doctor was ok to start but as my illness progressed, doctor didn't try to help. Dr began showing up late for appointments then started missing appointments altogether. Tina and other girl forget about referrals and blame you for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

March 1st, 2013

Dr. Rao is a great doctor! I could tell he was very knowledgeable and was correct on his diagnosis. He promptly got me in touch with the specialist I needed and listened to all my concerns. I found the staff very approachable, organized and friendly. Dr. Rao is more than competent!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2012

Neglectful doctor, abusive staff

The doctor himself is horrible, even worse nursing assistant Tina is horribly abusive and hostile. She became angry that I showed up at the office after being ignored for a week and a half regarding a dental consult due to a immunity issue with a bone marrow abnormality. She said she had "tooken" care of it and I should have waited for their call even though I had already been waiting a week and a half in extreme pain with a tooth partially broken off below the bone line. Her attitude was "how dare I show up and make sure they do there job". She slammed down her clipboard and and irrately said she would talk to the doctor. She then made me feel like a drug seeker when I asked for pain medication since I wasn't able to see my low income dentist until after the Thanksgiving holiday break due their office's negligence. They refused to prescribe any pain meds but said they would call in a antibiotic right then. It was another 2 days and another series of repeated calls before I got that.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 26th, 2012

No professionalizm.

1). Office staff SUCKS! big time. The fat little secretary probably kicks her cat & dog when she gets home every day.2). Dr Abhay relays everthing to the patient through his office staff which gets lost in the translation. 3). His staff is not friendly. Basically your a number there. Rao should stick to being a professor at the medical schools and not posing as a health care provider in the real world. Take the confusion out of daily life.4). Avoid at all cost, unless your on a budget and your health insurance cost is astronimically low.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2012

Great caring Dr. He has been my Dr. for 20 years

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2011

I20 years patient

Dr.Rao is agreat family doctor. He listens to you..He explains why,and he refers to special Doctor if and when needed.My late husband and Myself have been patients for 20 years. Some of our children and friends are also patients.He is compassionate and his diganosis are good. I trust him,he cares!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 30th, 2009

Kudos to Dr. Rao

I began seeing Dr. Rao a couple of months ago because of several different medical issues. He immediately referred me to the appropriate specialist, ordered preliminary tests, and has followed up with everything. Yes, his office is very busy and you have to sometimes wait an extended period before being taken to an exam room, but it's because he's a great physician and takes his time to examine you and explain the next steps or diagnosis. I have already recommended Dr. Rao to several of my family and friends.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 15th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Abhay Rao is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Mesa, AZ.

  • Dr. Firas Marayati

    Dr. Firas Marayati

    Nephrology, Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Internal Medicine

    Mesa, AZ 0.05 mi

    5.0
    (7)
    23
  • Dr. Bindu Jayavelu

    Dr. Bindu Jayavelu

    Nephrology, Internal Medicine

    Mesa, AZ 0.05 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    16
  • Dr. Fredrick Osorio

    Nephrology, Internal Medicine

    Mesa, AZ 0.05 mi

    4.8
    (12)
    26