Dr. Adam Ashton MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.1
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 0.7)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    70%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    18%
  • Wait Time 17.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 19th, 2015
Felt Like He Instantly Disliked Me
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I may have caught him on a bad day, and I WAS late for my appointment (my GPS led me to the wrong location) so he may just have been a little annoyed. First and only appointment with him. I was sent to him for appraisal for disability retirement. I found him to be brusque and slightly rude. At one point, he cut me off, and basically told me that he was not my doctor; he was merely evaluating me for the state (translation: Please shut up about your problems and just answer my questions). I left there feeling stupid and dismissed. Maybe he's different with his "real" patients, but I left there feeling like a complete jerk. He may be great if he's your regular doctor, but he behaved like he was with me the entire time.Made me feel worse about myself than I was already feeling. (And if he reads this, he will probably recommend that I be denied disability retirement)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 14th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I LOVE THIS MAN SO COMPASSIONATE
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 11th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was very impressed and was treated with respect and dignity. Was very hard for me to realize I needed help and he was there to guide me. Would recommend highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2014
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
He has been my psychiatrist since 1992 and I have a highly favorable opinion of him. As a patient you should be aware that his primary expertise is in the field of pharmacology,that is prescribing the correct combination of medications and dosages. A typical office visit lasts ten minutes. If you need intensive counseling he will refer you to a psychologist or LCSW employed by SPA. He is an excellent choice for a patient who requires long term medicinal stabilization, and minimal talk therapy. I have found him to be quite receptive to patient input regarding the meds, and not hesitant to prescribe newer ones. His receptionists are excellent, instead of calling out a patients name from across the large waiting room, so everyone in the place hears it, after the initial checking in, they will walk to where you are sitting and direct you to the doctors office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 6th, 2013
appalling psychiatrist
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Takes absolutely no interest in patient, is defensive, and rude. I am a pretty easy going person and am pretty tolerant, yet with Dr. Ashton's indifferent attitude, I would never go back. I had been recommended this psychiatrist, and I regret this now. No wonder he is still accepting patients. If he was any good, he would not need to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2013
Avoid at all costs
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ashton prescribed medication that made me so depressed, I would have jumped off a bridge, though I realized I needed help and went to the emergency room. He is aloof, and seems to care more about his reputation among colleagues rather than the wellfare of his patients. I am grateful that I have found a much better psychiatrist elsewhere whom I have a better rapport with, and who cares about my well-being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 27th, 2012
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Awful doctor, don't go to him if you value your mental health.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 14th, 2011
Stellar!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As far as I'm concerned, Dr. Ashton IS my primary care physician. All MDs could learn from his example (compassion & professionalism).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 8th, 2011
Over medicated
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Patient was diagnosed with anxiety, Ashton prescribed antidepressant medication. Within 1 week, 75 milligrams + valium. Patient was completely incapacitated. Patient was weaned for 3 days off the antidepressant and dramatically improved.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 30th, 2009
wonderful doctor!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of dr ashton's for about 16 years. He got me back on track in no time and has helped me maintain my peace of mind for all these years! I don't know what i would have done if i had never found him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 19th, 2009
Bravo, Dr. Ashton!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had some problems and Dr. Ashton cured me. It's as simple as that! He listens,really listens--and explains all the medications he presribes. It's wonderful to be in the hands of such a caring, competent physician. He's worth every penny, and then some. Go to him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I truly don't know where I would be today if it wasn't for his expertise and caring enough to work until he found a combination of medications that work for me. I would recommend him to anyone needing a psychiatrist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Adam Ashton, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Buffalo, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Maria Nickolova

2.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Hallett

26 years experience

2.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Rebecca Phillips

11 years experience

3.4 of 5