The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Alamelu Murugappan Is this you?
  • 35
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
  • 14

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Alamelu Murugappan?


57 Ratings with 31 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 18th, 2017

Great thorough Dr. who loves what she does!

This is the second time I have seen Dr. Muru and my migraines have decreased with the regimen she started me on last month. Don't be surprised if you are waiting a little longer than your appt. time. It's well worth it! She takes time with her patients and she provides a thorough assessment. She is very helpful, knowledgeable, understanding, and provides the utmost care. She gives you a chance to ask any questions and she does not rush you. I love the fact that she remembered me since my last visit. Most Drs that I have went to treat me like a new pt every visit. One thing that I admire about her is she is also a teacher. I love that she has a willingness to show other residents the ropes. Being in the medical field, I love to see someone learn and succeed behind such a great doctor! Well done Dr. Muru! See you soon!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 17th, 2017

I am very grateful to Dr. Murugappan & her office staff (Yulu, Lisa and the others) for the level of care & compassion they have for their patients, for always taking the time to answer health related questions & concerns, promptly completing refills & scheduling appointments & in general for the overall quality of service received by Dr. Murugappan & her staff. Dr. Murugappan is an awesome neurologist, she is direct & truly cares about her patients welfare and wellbeing; will gladly recommend.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 25th, 2016

Rude

Awful experience every time we have seen this doctor. Patient has new onset seizures, multiple seizures every day. At the first doctor's visit she came in & was very rude, asked how we got the appointment because she was too busy & didn't have time to see another patient. Felt rushed through the appointment. When checking out, the doctor then came out & started scolding her staff right in front of me for squeezing in an appointment when she was too busy. Have had multiple tests run & have seen the doctor 3 times now (the last 2 doctor's visits were just as unpleasant as the first) & still no answers. The doctor is extremely vague & will not tell us anything or give any advice. She speaks in a very condescending manor & acts as if the patient is an inconvenience. Once the last test that she ordered has been done we will be going to a new neuro. I would NEVER recommend this lady to anyone who wants serious care & solutions.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 27th, 2016

Don't Do it!

Doctor wait time is 2 hours. When you finally do see her for a consultation (I was referred for Botox Protocol for Migraine Mgmt), she rushed through without even looking at my medical history, then told me my insurance doesn't cover the procedure (it does), & insisted I pay out of pocket. After that, I would never trust her to stick needles in me! Find someone else who isn't in practice for just the money.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

April 19th, 2016

new patient appt

Very friendly, but didn't really look at me while I was talking to her. Very fast, my biggest issue is that I needed an extra script for a blood test, I called 4 days in a row one week and 5 times the following day prior to one test, still no response. I ended up cancelling all appts, and will find another doctor.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 10th, 2016

Dr. Marugappan is very professional, went straight to the point and told me exactly what I had. She is taking a conservative approach to treat my health issue and not prescribe meds unless I wont get better which I really like........ I will recommend this Dr. to anyone. My wife also had seen her before after going to 2 other neurologist that could not pin point her medical issue; Dr. Muru diagnosed her on her first visit and treat her, my wife has never gotten pain again.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

December 15th, 2015

Finally found relief from severe migraine headaches. Be patient and follow Dr. Muru's medical plan and hopefully you will experience the same excellent care and positive outcomes .

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 8th, 2015

Very nice doctor

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 6th, 2015

Best Headache Dr in the world

After over 50 years of daily headaches and migraines, and numerous doctors. I am finally able to live a normal life with out the daily headaches. She was able to help me by my second visit. If you have headaches please don't hesitate any longer. Just go see Dr Muru. trust in her and her staff. I know you won't be disappointed. I can't say enough about her. Finally a doctor that listens and can diagnose in such a short time. Thank you so much Dr Murur

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 6th, 2014

Excellent Neurologist!!!

Dr Murugappan is not only very thorough, but she is very kind too. She listens well and spends ample time with me when I am with her. I don't think I have ever been to a "specialist" physician that was as easy to communicate with. I highly recommend her!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2014

Fantastic Dr!

I would definitely recommend Dr. Muru and will be going back to her! She and her staff were very compassionate, genuine, and professional. I did not feel like a number at this Dr.'s office. She took her time and explained everything and answered all my questions. A thorough doctor with expertise!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 30th, 2013

Amazing
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Alamelu Murugappan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Brandon, FL.

  • Stacie Lauro-Berlowitz

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Brandon, FL 0.07 mi

    4.6
    (3)
    20
  • Dr. Adrianus De Ruitjer

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Brandon, FL 0.07 mi

    4.4
    (25)
    37
  • Dr. Rahul Mehra

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Brandon, FL 0.09 mi

    2.7
    (3)
    27