ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Alan Axelson Is this you?

Filter Reviews

11 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.9
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Alan Axelson?

Showing 11 of 11 Ratings

Excellent Doctor - Saved my life

Posted on September 3rd, 2013

I strongly disagree with the individual who wrote a negative review. Doc A is an excellent physician and an amazing person. I am so blessed to be under his care. I have been his patient for eight years. He accurately diagnosed me when I was 17 years old. I never thought I would be this successful in life. He has helped me to overcome many obstacles and I can't thank him enough. He truly cares about his patients. I would recommend this doctor to everyone.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 3rd, 2013

Dr. Axelson diagnosed my son with ADHD after spending ten minutes with him. Never talking to my child's teachers or his parents. During our appointment with him, he sat with his back to us and was on his computer the whole time. I'm guessing, looking up notes on my son that he had taken during the precvious appointment. Things only got worse for my son. I was so frustrated and did not know what to do. Dr. axelson's response to me was to find a family member and send my son to live with someone else. That was the last time we met with him. Since then we had my son diagnosed by a neuropsychologist who spent five hours testing him. The conclusion is my son DOES NOT have ADHD which Axelson's so carelessly diagnosed him and medicated him for, but has Adjustment Disorder. I have never on my life had such a bad experience with a doctor before.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Alan Axelson, MD

Posted on April 8th, 2013

READ DOWN PLEASE Dr Alan Axelson, MD, replaced Dr. Stephen Jewell in or around 2007, and I must say that I was so pleased with my treatment of Attention Deficit Disorder and with that of my children's through the years that I actually considered going to Ohio to continue treatment with Dr. Jewell! It was so important to me to get the best possible care as I also have Lupus and several other illnesses since 1986; and being prescribed medications that are not contraindicated with these illnesses is of the utmost importance!!! Please know that I don't have the proper medical terms to describe a physician's abilities, but I will do my best.Having seen between 45-60 doctors over the years; not including the specialists, Dr. Axelson is hands down the brightest doctor I have yet to see. He excels in medications and their side effects,and also has a knack for knowing which will work for each individual. Also I think there should be special recognition for doctors who can quickly diaganose a problem, not just in conjunction with ADD but also with another illness and its medication. Finest doctor I have ever had the priveledge of knowing. (And NO, I am not related LOL) Oh, he gets embarrassed if you point out that he is bright. He is not arrogant at all which may be his best quality...........Naaaaaa

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great doctor; I trust him

Posted on June 10th, 2011

I was impressed with Dr. Axelson; he diagnosed and prescribed effective treatment for my problem on the first visit. He's concerned about helping me and my results have been life-changing. I'm totally satisfied with the care that I receive.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 21st, 2011

terrible experience, dont trust Dr alan Axelson.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 13th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on May 26th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 13th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on June 13th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on September 20th, 2012

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on November 30th, 2011

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Alan Axelson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.