Dr. Alan Harmatz MD Patient Reviews

  • Plastic Surgery Lewiston, ME

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 1.3)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    31%
  • Wait Time 15 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hamatz is an excellent Plastic Surgeon. I have been with him a number of years for both elective and non-elective surgery. His skills are excellent and I would highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Misdiagnosis cost me $ and 5 additional surgeries in one year. Now I am left with a mis-shapen, ugly chest. All he said at my last appointment was, "well, they could be bigger, at least they're not smaller" I was never interested in size, just a normal look, which I'll never have. My other doctor's have even remarked on how surprised they were that the results are so uneven, and asked if I wanted a second opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2015
Great doctor and gentle man
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Harmatz is one of the most gentle doctors I've ever had. I experienced a breast implant rupture from a fall. He was very skilled at putting in new implants and I felt really safe with him. One of the new implants leaked and he fought with the company to get me a new one AND made sure that I did not have to pay for the OR, anesthesia and he did not charge me a fee. How often does that happen?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 18th, 2013
BOTCHED SURGERY, SLOPPY SURGEON
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was 36 years old and went to Alan Harmatz for, what I was told by several medical people, was a fairly straight forward procedure. I had a small section of skin that had "tethered" in my neck from a thyroidectomy. He BOTCHED it. Not only is the scar much larger and now very visible (was not before) but it didn't heal right. His response "well this happens." Shortly after my surgery I find out he moved to Lewiston. I would NOT recommend him for any surgery. Sloppy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2011
Excellent result of hand surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had something embedded in an index finger near a joint, a sensitive area. Dr. Harmatz recommended and performed a surgical removal, a nearly painless process. I found Dr. Harmatz to be careful, thorough and pleasant. He kept me informed of options before surgery, and progress during the procedure. I had an excellent outcome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 17th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I found it so hard to meet with him. I was frequently bumped and rescheduled. When I did make it in to see me, he was polite and thorough, but I always felt rushed. He was in and out so quickly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 16th, 2010
Find someone else
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My experience with this Dr. was horrible to say the least! To call him a BUTCHER is nailing it on the head! I was just 21 years old when I had my reduction. Not only do I have scars in places where there should be NOTHING, but it took me a year to heal because the stitches dissolved before I actually healed! I was offered a corrective surgery at MY expence. My breasts completely fell apart! I battled infections, bandages, etc. for a year and couldn't care for my own children. Please....if you know what is god for you, look into other doctors who will care for you properly and not slice and dice for the shear pleasure of it! Thanks to Dr. Allen Harmatz I am ashamed of my body, and have to total distrust in the medical profession!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 4th, 2009
Dr. Alan Harmatz = BUTCHER
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Be very cautious with this Surgeon. He is a butcher. Office staff extremely rood. Called with my emergency with no reponse, winded up in the ER!! Even then, this office didn't care. WATCH OUT!! They will not take reponsibilty or accountability for there mistakes. Staff did not WASH HANDS, or keep to healthy standard sterilization practices. I was LIED TOO, They tried to cover it up, then when they learned I had to go to the ER and another Doctor was outraged by Dr. HARMATZ's BUTCHERING,and this office's irresponsible attitude, they wouldn't even return my calls. Talked to the office Manager, who said, "WRITE US A LETTER!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Alan Harmatz, MD is similar to these 2 Doctors near Lewiston, ME.