Dr. Alan Hirahara MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Sacramento, CA

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.2)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    52%
  • Great
    12%
  • Good
    12%
  • Poor
    12%
  • Bad
    12%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 17.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
April 1st, 2016
Dr. Hirahara great ortho doc
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I like Dr. H a lot, he knows his stuff. Unfortunately he doesn't do knee replacement. No nonsense kind of doctor. Only problem I've found is he thinks and talks so fast sometimes you feel left out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
January 26th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I like the doctor just fine, but my beef is that every time I make an appointment, I'm asked to change it for the doctor. Why is that the doctor thinks his time is more important than mine?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 26th, 2013
Shoulder Surgery
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is very quick minded so I suppose some people would find it difficult to communicate with him, as the conversation will leave you in the dust if you are unable to process information as fast as he does. I found him to be very willing to listen to you as long as you have something relevant to say. I like that he is straight forward, tells it like it is, runs down the list of options available and then let's you decide what is going to work best for you. He is also connected to the rehab and makes sure you have a good plan in place. He repaired my shoulder and I have full strength and flexibility. It should say a lot that I'm going back to him for a meniscus repair.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 1st, 2012
Return to baseball
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor. Listened well and quickly got tests and information to get diagnosis. Had guided PRP injection into shoulder and after rehab returned to playing varsity baeball and college scholarship pain free. After months of pain,and unsuccessful treatments with negative effect on sport and activities, was thrilled to get to Dr Hirahara with his knowledge and understanding of throwing athletes. Would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
February 8th, 2011
Fabulous Technical Skills
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Have received PRP injections for one shoulder and arthroscopic surgery on the other shoulder. I would regard both procedures to be hugely successful. I agree that bedside manner is sometimes a bit lacking, however, his surgical skills are excellent. I am willing to tolerate a little coldness in favor of a phenomenal outcome. I would highly recommend this surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 2nd, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Does not care at all about his patients. Has too many to give them the care they deserve. Missed a critical diagnosis of a Sac State Athlete that may have cost her her last year and could care less. Should not be in medicine at all. No bedside manner or feelings at all and not able to hold himself accountable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2009
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Hirahara has done and ACL for my son, shoulder for my Dad and just did a menicus for me. All great results. He does not sugar coat anything. Great doctor

5.0 of 5
January 31st, 2009
dr.hirahara is great
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 7th, 2008
Good Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 5th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 13th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Alan Hirahara, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Sacramento, CA.