The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Alan Karme Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.3
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
39.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Alan Karme?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on October 14th, 2015

Extremely unpleasant appointment secretary. Treats patients with contempt and disrespect. She makes decisions for the doctor and decide who and when a patient can see him. The doctor himself is cordial and casual.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Terrible man!

Posted on August 23rd, 2015

He's not a nice man. I think he spent too much time running the mental hospital, and doesn't realize in private practice he can't use force and intimidation to get his point across. He was rude and mean and yelled at me liking an abuser to get his point across, and unprofessionally stormed out the door about an issue to which he was completely wrong. I turned around and took 12 hours of psychological testing which proved his diagnosis was incorrect. The first 3 sessions, he just talked about his life as a kid and I didn't say a word. I know all about who he dated when he was young, his family dynamic and his journey developing a career. He knows nothing about me, because he barely listened. Horrible person and horrible doctor. I hope he retires soon, because he should not be in private practice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Our family does not recommend

Posted on April 15th, 2013

My elderly father (86 at the time), suffering from Alzheimer's, was sent to a facility under Dr. Karme's "care" for almost three weeks for “meds management” a couple years ago. He had acted out at a living facility (no one was hurt). In order for him to move to a new assisted living home, I was told I had no choice but to admit him to the DMC at Huntington Hospital under Dr. Karme’s “care.” The result was tragic. My dad walked into Huntington full of life and was incredibly patient and cooperative for about a 10+-hour admission process. Under Dr. Karme’s “care,” he was severely overmedicated. I visited daily, I was so worried for his well-being. *I was not able to change doctors, I was told. He had to be released first and Karme was not about to do that until he was ready. At the end of the "treatment" my father never walked again on his own, nor could he feed himself or speak normally. His spirit had been broken. We lost him; he was never more than a shell of his former self. If there were any ONE thing I do over for my Dad (and for me), it would be to question, question, question the "authorities" about this type of treatment ~ and I would never allow Dr. Karme to treat anyone in my family.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great

Posted on October 31st, 2012

I would recommend Dr Karme to anyone. I guess that says it all.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

wonderful doctor!

Posted on January 30th, 2011

I definitely recommend Dr. Karme, he is very thorough and caring. Knows when to stop you from rambling, but lets you talk about yourself so that he can see what your mood/mental health is like just by listening. Excellent story teller. Very up to date with medical knowledge, taught at USC, makes sure you have the perfect med combo and will work with you until you do. Highly recommend, one caveat it is extremely hard to get an appointment, I believe the only reason it was easy for me was because he had just come out of retirement. good luck!

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Took the time to listen to me

Posted on October 23rd, 2009

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Hi, Dr. Karme!

Posted on September 25th, 2008

Interested and compassionate. Good sense of humor. Careful and sensible with medication.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 21st, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on October 7th, 2015

One Star

Posted on March 11th, 2015

Two Stars

Posted on March 1st, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on July 3rd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Alan Karme is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pasadena, CA.