The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Alan Solway Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Alan Solway?

Diabetic Macular Edema

Get the facts about diabetic macular edema, including the different types and the doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Alan Solway?

Ratings and Reviews

13 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    7
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    7
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
33.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 13 Ratings with 8 Comments

1.0 Rating

November 23rd, 2016

My patient experience with Dr. Solway was not acceptable. I found him to be very dismissive, impatient, arrogant, and adverse to clearly answering a question that I had concerning a diagnosis and procedure that he advised having done during a recent office visit. Subsequently, I called the office manager to discuss this unacceptable experience, and told her that if Dr. Solway were, in fact, tired of seeing patients, perhaps he should consider discontinuing the practice of medicine.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 18th, 2016

Dr. Solway was extremely curt and told me that he didn't have time to explain a question I had about a surgical procedure. His staff was much more courteous than he.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 26th, 2015

Great Physician - a patient for over 20 years

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 6th, 2015

RN

Great doctor!! I'm so thankful a colleague referred me to Dr. Solway, I wouldn't take my family anywhere else!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 20th, 2015

Dr. Solway is just great and his staff is outstanding also.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 17th, 2012

Horrible doctor. Egotistical gerk. Do not see him!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 30th, 2012

Very experienced and knowledgable

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 29th, 2011

Less than Professional

I and some elderly family members have gone to him for about 10 years. I will not go to him anymore and one family member has requested that I take her elsewhere. His waits are always at least 30 mins. and, when you are on time, he will make you wait and take patients who have appts. after yours but got to the office and signed in much earlier-sometimes as much as 30 mins. earlier. Not hard to do as the majority of his clientele is elderly with not much to do. He spends only about 5 mins. with you and acts as if he's doing you a favor by seeing you. I quit going because I made an appt. when I got his reminder card. He examined me, asked me about any problems and when I told him one recurring complaint, he berated me for coming in and always having the same problem! He said:"What are you doing here? You always come in with the same problem. Why do you bother coming in?" When I tried to explain that I had gotten my annual card, he dismissed it and angrily walked out of the room. Now, when I take my elderly relatives, he turns his back to me and ignores me, even though under HIPPA I can be in the room and I'm taking notes in case the person later doesn't understand something. He's very unprofessional and I get the impression is only out to see how much money he can get by seeing as many patients as possible in a day. By the way, my new ophthamolgist told me that one eye had been over-corrected...the one that had been giving me problems for so many years! And gave me a much more thorough exam for my age (59). No problems with my eyesight now!

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 29th, 2017

5.0 Rating

October 21st, 2016

4.0 Rating

October 21st, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Alan Solway is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Livonia, MI.

  • Dr. Michael Rasansky

    Dr. Michael Rasansky

    Ophthalmology

    Livonia, MI 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    10
  • Dr. Mahmoud El-Yassir

    Ophthalmology

    Livonia, MI 1.14 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    1
  • Dr. Gerald Burke

    Ophthalmology

    Livonia, MI 1.14 mi

    4.9
    (7)
    41