Dr. Alan Wachtel MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.9
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 9 reviews

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.1)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    58%
  • Satisfied
    16%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Wait Time 14 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

4.0 of 5
April 29th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very knowledgable about ADD. Helped my daughter who was struggling with school. So grateful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 9th, 2013
Definitely Worth It
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Courteous and welcoming office. My kids actually enjoy going here. Dr. Wachtel is an expert in his field. Well worth the money.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 8th, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He has ADD tunnel vision. If you come in with a broken leg, he'll convince you that you (and probably other family members) should all be treated for ADD by him and his therapy staff. He is VERY EXPENSIVE and too busy drumming up new business. He never refers out to another doctor if it isn't his area of expertise, or suggest a consultation.. His assessments are often superficial, and he doesn't properly reassess over time to check if the patient has changed or if he had it wrong. He missed some serious problems, and my relative got much sicker without the critical early interventions and help.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 30th, 2012
Granted this was a long time ago...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
But when I saw Dr. Wachtel in High School he seemed to be a big pill-pusher. Very heavy-handed with the drugs. Also, he's expensive, and sometimes he didn't give me the full appt. time. Felt ripped off when that happened.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 9th, 2011
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
this dr. is only interested in money. he does not care about patients at all. i would rather have my children or myself treated by a dr. that got his degree online
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2009
the BEST of his kind
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Wachtel is the most intelligent, caring and insightful physician of his kind in NYC - we saw multiple in the quest of finding the right doctor for our child. Of everyone, only he listened and appropriately treated our child using multiple different modalities. He is a miracle worker, and has an excellent bedside manner. He knows pharmacology, including the new medications and old, and chooses carefully selected treatment regiments tailored for specific problems (rather than one med for all people/issues). He is dynamic in his management, and truly cares about the health and well being of his patients. Is he cheap, no - but for his level of expertise, experience and results, he shouldn't be. He is worth every penny and then some - no one is better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 4th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I was nervous about putting my son on meds, but this doctor offered such a careful diagnosis. Before prescribing meds he met with us and my child several times and took a total evaluation. We do see him often, and it can be costly but it's because he takes these meds seriously and he closely monitors my son's reactions to them.It is pretty difficult to get him on the phone, but between the 2 offices, I can always get someone to call back, and he returns calls within the day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 21st, 2009
Costly
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
A nice mild-mannered doctor. However, each 15 minute visit costs $200. You have to book a visit in irder to renew your prescription, which seems to occur almost every 6 weeks. I think he abuses this system, and he is very difficult to get on the phone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 18th, 2008
Former Patient :
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Nothing but the most positive things to say about this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Alan Wachtel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near White Plains, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Robert Nagel

36 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lynn Green

18 years experience

3.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Roger Harris

33 years experience

1.7 of 5