The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Alan Wachtel Is this you?
  • 18
  • 1
  • 4
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Alan Wachtel?


32 Ratings with 9 Comments

4.0 Rating

April 30th, 2015

Very knowledgable about ADD. Helped my daughter who was struggling with school. So grateful.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 9th, 2013

Definitely Worth It

Courteous and welcoming office. My kids actually enjoy going here. Dr. Wachtel is an expert in his field. Well worth the money.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 8th, 2013

He has ADD tunnel vision. If you come in with a broken leg, he'll convince you that you (and probably other family members) should all be treated for ADD by him and his therapy staff. He is VERY EXPENSIVE and too busy drumming up new business. He never refers out to another doctor if it isn't his area of expertise, or suggest a consultation.. His assessments are often superficial, and he doesn't properly reassess over time to check if the patient has changed or if he had it wrong. He missed some serious problems, and my relative got much sicker without the critical early interventions and help.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

April 30th, 2012

Granted this was a long time ago...

But when I saw Dr. Wachtel in High School he seemed to be a big pill-pusher. Very heavy-handed with the drugs. Also, he's expensive, and sometimes he didn't give me the full appt. time. Felt ripped off when that happened.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 9th, 2011

this dr. is only interested in money. he does not care about patients at all. i would rather have my children or myself treated by a dr. that got his degree online

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 24th, 2009

the BEST of his kind

Dr. Wachtel is the most intelligent, caring and insightful physician of his kind in NYC - we saw multiple in the quest of finding the right doctor for our child. Of everyone, only he listened and appropriately treated our child using multiple different modalities. He is a miracle worker, and has an excellent bedside manner. He knows pharmacology, including the new medications and old, and chooses carefully selected treatment regiments tailored for specific problems (rather than one med for all people/issues). He is dynamic in his management, and truly cares about the health and well being of his patients. Is he cheap, no - but for his level of expertise, experience and results, he shouldn't be. He is worth every penny and then some - no one is better.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

May 4th, 2009

I was nervous about putting my son on meds, but this doctor offered such a careful diagnosis. Before prescribing meds he met with us and my child several times and took a total evaluation. We do see him often, and it can be costly but it's because he takes these meds seriously and he closely monitors my son's reactions to them.It is pretty difficult to get him on the phone, but between the 2 offices, I can always get someone to call back, and he returns calls within the day.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

April 21st, 2009

Costly

A nice mild-mannered doctor. However, each 15 minute visit costs $200. You have to book a visit in irder to renew your prescription, which seems to occur almost every 6 weeks. I think he abuses this system, and he is very difficult to get on the phone.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 18th, 2008

Former Patient :

Nothing but the most positive things to say about this doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 13th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2016

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Alan Wachtel is similar to the following 3 Doctors near White Plains, NY.

  • Dr. Naomi Chevalier

    Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    White Plains, NY 0 mi

    4.2
    (15)
    11
  • Dr. Robert Nagel

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    White Plains, NY 0 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    36
  • Dr. Lynn Green

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    White Plains, NY 0 mi

    3.7
    (2)
    18