ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Alastair Smith Is this you?
  • 62
  • 2
  • 6
  • 2
  • 10

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Bedside Manner
Wait Time
20.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Alastair Smith?


82 Ratings with 16 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2017

luv Dr. Smith....

Dr. Smith was a great DOC....can't say anything bad about him ...I wish I knew if he is still practicing medicine and if so wish I knew where.....I have Cirrhosis...and would like to continue seeing him

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 30th, 2016

One of the finest

Dr. Smith's interest in his patients is deep and sincere.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 15th, 2015

Unfortunately no longer at Duke

I was a big fan of Dr. Smith. He always listened to my concerns and ideas, and was even willing to think and act outside the box a bit with my case. I started seeing him not long before my liver transplant. I was pretty sick before transplant, and he did a great job optimizing my medications which made me as comfortable as possible. After transplant (just under one year ago), I saw Dr. Smith, and I was again impressed by his skill and experience. Unfortunately, on a return visit, I was told he was no longer at Duke. The other doctors who have been involved with my case (Dr. Brady, Dr. Muir, Dr. Berg, and Dr. Choi) are all good too, but there has been no consistency in who I see on each visit.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 10th, 2015

Outstanding

I recently was diagnosed with Auto Immune Hepatitis, I was referred to Dr. Smith by my local GI doctor. Dr. Smith is incredibly knowledgeable, compassionate and listened to me. I felt very blessed to have been under his care.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 28th, 2015

Love Dr. Smith why was I told he was no longer at Duke?

I have been a patient of Dr. Alastair Smith for over 10 yrs. I'm very confused b/c when I went for my appointment around Nov 2014 I was told that Dr. Smith was no longer at Duke and I was reassigned to Dr. Carl Berg. I don't understand why if Dr. Smith is still at Duke that I was told he no longer was and why if he has remained at Duke was I assigned to a different doctor. I love Dr. Smith b/c he is an excellent doctor. He knows me without looking at my chart, knows my history and I trust him. Has anyone else experienced this.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 2nd, 2015

Excellent doctor

Loved Dr Smith! He was very knowledgable about my autoimmune disease. Was not in a rush and seemed very concerned with me being comfortable and having all of my questions answered to my satisfaction. Mould highly recommend him m

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 31st, 2015

PATIENT

EXTREMELY KNOWLEGDED AND EASY GOING DOCTOR. MORE THAN ANYONE I WISH HE WAS STILL TREATING ME. GOD BLESS YOU DOC.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

March 11th, 2015

Excellent physician.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2015

SAVED MY LIFE WHILE ON DUKES TRANSPLANT TEAM

VERY CARING, GOOD TEACHER, ALWAYS SHOWED CONCERN ABOUT MY HEALTH BOTH PHYSICALLY AND HELPED PREPARE ME FOR MY TRANSPLANT. BEST DOCTOR EVER. CONSIDER YOURSELF WELL TAKEN CARE OF WITH DR. SMITH

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 18th, 2015

Extraordinary physician

Intense, intelligent and ingratiating. Totally inspires confidence. Always anxious to discuss treatment alternatives. Couldn't ask for a better doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 19th, 2014

He is a very compassionate doctor and technically very competent.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 9th, 2014

Not very Helpful,saw him for 10 mins and that was it....

I wasn't impressed. He didn't help me..Man of few words and didn't bother to follow up. Appointment was a waste of time.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Alastair Smith is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Durham, NC.

  • Dr. Hans Tillmann

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Durham, NC 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    26
  • Dr. Mahfuzul Haque

    Dr. Mahfuzul Haque

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Durham, NC 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    35
  • Dr. Majed El Zouhairi

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine, Residency

    Durham, NC 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)