Dr. Alastair Smith MD, MBBS Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Durham, NC

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 81 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.7)

81 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    77%
  • Great
    2%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    1%
  • Bad
    12%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Bedside Manner
  • Wait Time 20.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 6th, 2017
luv Dr. Smith....
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smith was a great DOC....can't say anything bad about him ...I wish I knew if he is still practicing medicine and if so wish I knew where.....I have Cirrhosis...and would like to continue seeing him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 30th, 2016
One of the finest
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smith's interest in his patients is deep and sincere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 15th, 2015
Unfortunately no longer at Duke
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was a big fan of Dr. Smith. He always listened to my concerns and ideas, and was even willing to think and act outside the box a bit with my case. I started seeing him not long before my liver transplant. I was pretty sick before transplant, and he did a great job optimizing my medications which made me as comfortable as possible. After transplant (just under one year ago), I saw Dr. Smith, and I was again impressed by his skill and experience. Unfortunately, on a return visit, I was told he was no longer at Duke. The other doctors who have been involved with my case (Dr. Brady, Dr. Muir, Dr. Berg, and Dr. Choi) are all good too, but there has been no consistency in who I see on each visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 10th, 2015
Outstanding
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I recently was diagnosed with Auto Immune Hepatitis, I was referred to Dr. Smith by my local GI doctor. Dr. Smith is incredibly knowledgeable, compassionate and listened to me. I felt very blessed to have been under his care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2015
Love Dr. Smith why was I told he was no longer at Duke?
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Alastair Smith for over 10 yrs. I'm very confused b/c when I went for my appointment around Nov 2014 I was told that Dr. Smith was no longer at Duke and I was reassigned to Dr. Carl Berg. I don't understand why if Dr. Smith is still at Duke that I was told he no longer was and why if he has remained at Duke was I assigned to a different doctor. I love Dr. Smith b/c he is an excellent doctor. He knows me without looking at my chart, knows my history and I trust him. Has anyone else experienced this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2015
Excellent doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Loved Dr Smith! He was very knowledgable about my autoimmune disease. Was not in a rush and seemed very concerned with me being comfortable and having all of my questions answered to my satisfaction. Mould highly recommend him m
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 31st, 2015
PATIENT
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
EXTREMELY KNOWLEGDED AND EASY GOING DOCTOR. MORE THAN ANYONE I WISH HE WAS STILL TREATING ME. GOD BLESS YOU DOC.

4.0 of 5
March 11th, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2015
SAVED MY LIFE WHILE ON DUKES TRANSPLANT TEAM
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
VERY CARING, GOOD TEACHER, ALWAYS SHOWED CONCERN ABOUT MY HEALTH BOTH PHYSICALLY AND HELPED PREPARE ME FOR MY TRANSPLANT. BEST DOCTOR EVER. CONSIDER YOURSELF WELL TAKEN CARE OF WITH DR. SMITH

5.0 of 5
January 18th, 2015
Extraordinary physician
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Intense, intelligent and ingratiating. Totally inspires confidence. Always anxious to discuss treatment alternatives. Couldn't ask for a better doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 19th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is a very compassionate doctor and technically very competent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 9th, 2014
Not very Helpful,saw him for 10 mins and that was it....
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wasn't impressed. He didn't help me..Man of few words and didn't bother to follow up. Appointment was a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Alastair Smith, MD, MBBS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Durham, NC.