ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Alex Spira Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 12 Comments

3.6
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Alex Spira?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on July 25th, 2017

The best !!!!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on November 1st, 2014

Dr Spira seems to know his oncology. But he is extraordinary rude, careless with horrible bed side manner. He seems to care more about enrolling patients to his studies rather than the patient. care. I switched to another oncology group mid treatment and that is the best decision I have ever made.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Brilliant Docotor, No Bedside Manner

Posted on October 30th, 2014

My insurance company forced me to change doctors because they did not include my oncologist within their network - a doctor that recognized my rare condition and likely saved my life on the onset. After accepting the necessity to change, I accepted it and was very optimistic about seeing Dr. Spira. His credentials are superior and I have no doubt that he is brilliant. Unfortunately, he was late with no bedside manner, took a call about another patient and acted like he just didn't have time for me...and keep in mind that I was a new patient. The total time invested was about 7 minutes if that. He is very clinical, which works for some, but likely not for me long term. Again, he is a brilliant doctor, but his bedside manner and caring for his patients is definitely lacking. I think he has so much responsibility that he just does not have the time to really care for each patient. Sad, because his knowledge has to be in the top 5% or so of oncologists. Hope he gets better. If not, likely to change doctors. Thank you.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Stay Away if You Know What's Best For You

Posted on May 9th, 2012

An awful doctor at best, with absolutely no concern whatsoever for his patients.He basically treats his patients as test subjects. His reckless decision making and choice of treatment caused my father to go into septic shock which led to his death. Then he had the nerve to try and blame it on a pre-existing problem.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 13th, 2011

Dr. Spira diagnosed my TTP and through his quick thinking as swift action he saved my life! He was extremely compassionate and caring. He took the time to answer all my questions, making sure I fully understood what was happening to me and what my treatment would entail.

Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Devastated patient

Posted on November 17th, 2010

This Doctor even though gives you the impression that he cares for his patients, please beware as his patients are just another number! His bedside manners are crude and highly uncaring when it really comes down to it, and when it really matters. If you have cancer he is the last doctor you want to see as he provides the basic diagnosis, and if you dont make it then oh well...A very uncaring doctor, who I believe led to my mothers ultimate demise....

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Stay away from Dr. Spira

Posted on November 17th, 2010

Dr. Spira sees his patients as numbers or better yet statistics. He takes away their hope, when that is ALL a cancer patient has. A cancer patient understands the difficulty and severity of their disease, yet rather than helping a patient find alternatives and providing hope, Dr. Spira takes that away, constantly reminding them of their devestating disease leaving them hopeless and alone.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Exemplifies the Best

Posted on November 4th, 2010

Dr. Alex Spira exemplifies the best... his commitment to excellence, thoroughness, competence and compassion as a true healer combined to save my life when I was challenged by acute myelogenous leukemia. A prompt diagnosis, compassionate and attentive patient care, and comprehensive after-care all served to help me navigate this life-threatening condition. My cancer went into remission after the first month of chemotherapy (i.e., the induction phase of treatment), and remained in remission during the consolidation phase of chemotherapy. Now, one year after the diagnosis, I have returned to work and, although still exhibiting myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS), I continue to receive thorough care with Dr. Spira and the superlative nursing staff at his Fairfax practice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 3rd, 2010

Dr. Spira lacks personal skills. He is a negative doctor regarding cancer. He does not give hope to his patients and is very blunt - telling patients they have weeks, days, and even hours for them to live. Horrible experience and my suggestion is for patients to look for positive doctors since more than half the battle with cancer is hope and attitude.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Awsome Doctor!

Posted on August 23rd, 2009

Dr. Spira mad me feel completely comfortable from the very first time I met him. He has shown concern for my treatment and progress, and always ask how he can make things easier for me. I am still in treatment and doing well. I wouldn't reccomend any other doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Smart and caring doctor

Posted on April 4th, 2009

He gave me the latest information about my cancer and alot of information about my options. He is exact what I needed.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very disappointed

Posted on November 19th, 2008

He was professional in the extreme!! He is business-like and matter of fact !! He showed no warmth, no caring or concern. Our family felt hopeless and helpless when he spoke to us.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Alex Spira is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Fairfax, VA.