Dr. Alfred De Maria MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Wilmington, NC

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

2.8 (-0.6)

34 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    44%
  • Great
    12%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    9%
  • Bad
    26%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 14.3 minutes
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
April 25th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My first visit with him went well. 2nd visit, he seemed agitated, didn't look at my MRI and dismissed the major head injury that included 12 staples in my head, whiplash, concussion and debilitating headaches that has been causing terrible headaches. Gave me a shot of toradol and spent a total of 5 minutes with me. Completely different guy than the first appt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 4th, 2016
sleeping disorder
Wait time
20 minutes
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Did not like him. Do not feel he was thorough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 6th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
best doctor in wilmington!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
one of best dr's I have beento
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 18th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very nice man. Good sense of humor and is very caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 12th, 2014
Would not recommend
In my opinion, Dr. DeMaria did more harm than good. Medication prescribed by him was very dangerous and his attitude was at best, flippant.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2013
Excellent Neurologist with an actual sense of humor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not all neurologists have a sense of humor. In fact, many don't. He is sharp, witty, and compassionate. He is able to establish treatment plans quickly and is focused without being dismissive. He uses his interaction time with patients well. He has been my neurologist for many years and I think he is great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 17th, 2013
Positive Experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I saw Dr. DeMaria for the first time today and was positively impressed with his knowledge and ability to get to the heart of the issue quickly and professionally. His wit and manner made me very comfortable and lessened my anxiety. I left his office with some positive information and a plan to follow. I'm feeling relieved and hopeful. Excellent first impression! (Staff could use a bit of his wit and charm, however. They are a bit off-putting.)

5.0 of 5
September 14th, 2012
Excellent for Our Son with Special Needs
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. DeMaria was prompt in meeting with my wife and our son. He asked many questions and proceeded with a sound and conservative approach, which is what we had hoped to receive for our son. Our son has responded well and is doing well with his seizures and daily activity.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 4th, 2012
Not Recommended
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr continuously joked, unprofessional. Did not even look at CT, MRI or MRA results on this consult. Prescribed Aleve for a 3 month long headache with a 2 month follow-up, simply unacceptable. Very disappointed.

5.0 of 5
July 27th, 2011
Treats me for my seizures
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have court ordered custodty of both my boys from two different, been in Wilmington since 93' & have no family here so I was VERY pleased at how quick he had the seizures under control. I went to several before him but with no results. I think his "Quick & to the piont" attitude may be causeing some of the neg. reviews on here. If it wernt for him... no telling where my son's & I may be. Thank you Doc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 31st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Alfred De Maria, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Wilmington, NC.