Dr. Alfred Liu MD Patient Reviews

  • Otolaryngology Honolulu, HI

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.3)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    41%
  • Great
    29%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    18%
  • Wait Time 20.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
November 25th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Good ENT
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015
Ugh!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
While knowledgeable, this man seems to have a Jekyll/Hyde personality. I was impressed by his patience and willingness to explain things to me during my first visit. However, on my second visit, I was shocked at his condescending and supercilious manner. I was made to feel stupid from the moment he walked into the room. It was not pleasant; I should have said something to him right then and there, but didn't want a confrontation. I attributed his attitude to "getting up on the wrong side of the bed" that morning, but was later told by friends that his bedside manner leaves a lot to be desired. Had I known that, I would not have gone to him. There are other ENTs in this town just as knowledgable as he who know the value of a good doctor/patient relationship.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 27th, 2014
A GOOD HUMANBEING!..DR. ALFRED LIU!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
ONE OF THE BEST HUMAN BEING! EXCELLENT DOCTOR! DR. LIU! THANKS A LOT FOR SPARING THE LIFE OF CHRIST, EVEN UNDER PRESSURE! BLESS YOU! .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 10th, 2014
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I will never go to this doctor again. He kept me waiting 45 past my scheduled appointment (I got there an hour early, so the total wait was almost 2 hours. He was very abrupt and patronizing when he finally saw me, and examined me for the wrong problem. He was supposed to call me back to explain my diagnosis and treatment after he finally figured out what I thought was wrong. But he never did. I had to call him. He might be good at surgery because he doesn't need communication skills when the patient is out. But he has no bedside manner, and his lack of interest in finding out what ailed this non-anesthetized patient was inexcusable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 29th, 2013
He saved my life
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I first went to see Dr. Liu after two very disappointing visits with another ENT doctor. My previous ENT wouldn't take my symptoms seriously and kept telling me that I had nothing to worry about - even after numerous test. As my condition worsened I requested for a second opinion with Dr. Liu. Thank God because he immediately identified my problem and was able to catch my cancer early enough so that I could have a fighting chance. Dr. Liu is very knowledgeable, professional and will tell it how it is - which is something you should expect from any doctor, but rare in today's medical arena. I have and will continue to send him referrals. Truly one of the best in his field of medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 6th, 2011
Highly Recommended
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw several doctors who could not help me with an ear problem, and several of them mentioned Dr. Liu was the best person to see. He knows his stuff. What the other doctors could not diagnose/fix, was very basic for Dr. Liu. I'm very thankful he is my doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2011
Huge Ego, the worst attitude of any MD here :(
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love the office staff but this doctor has no patience, is intolerant and projects such an air of disdain for patents it is a shame as he is a very skilled doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 18th, 2010
Removed cancer
Wait time
10 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Removed a cancerous tumor from my neck! Thanks Dr. Liu!

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2010
does his job
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No real frills or perks, very professional and does his job well. I was referred to him by my other doctor and I am very pleased with my treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 5th, 2009
High pain tollerance necessary!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After my surgery, which left me with an 8 inch incision on my neck, I was only given one week of pain medicine. When I requested more, I was denied. Please beware, must have a high pain tollerance to choose this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Alfred Liu, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Honolulu, HI.