Dr. Alison Amsterdam MD Patient Reviews

  • Internal Medicine New York, NY

Overall Rating

2.4
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (+ 0.6)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    32%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    59%
  • Wait Time 17.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 14th, 2016
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The worst doctor in nyc, Alison Amsterdam, works here- no joke- I don't know who is writing these glowing reviews-maybe she asked her friends & family to submit these lies-
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 27th, 2015
Regrettable
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Advisable to avoid this doctor at all costs. Sloppy, rude and arrogant, a truly regrettable combination for a physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 17th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr. Amsterdam to be absolutely rude, impatient and insensitive. Dr. Knoepflmacher is a fine doctor and quite respectable, but the addition of Dr. Amsterdam to the practice has degraded the overall desireability to go to this practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2012
AVOID THIS DOCTOR
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst doctor, worst office staff. She is as rude as her staff and also a terriblke diagnostician. I went in with stomach pain, she did not even get me undressed and told me it was nothing. I ended up with a rupture appendix and nearly died. AVOID THIS "DOCTOR"
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 9th, 2010
someone not afraid to speak up
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
completely incompetent, possible even dangerous. misdiagnosed my pneumonia. gave me advair (probably getting paid by the company), told me to stay on ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 30th, 2010
completely incompetent
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the absolute worst-- she barely examined me, gave me advair(probably getting paid by the company). told me i didn't have pneumonia, and instructed me to use advair for two weeks. well, after one week, my shortness of breath got worse as did all my symptoms, so i called a pulmonary specialist, who actually examined me, told me i had severe pneumonia and put me in the hospital for three days, where i got the care i needed. if i had listened to "doctor" amsterdam and stayed on that s**t she prescribed, god knows what shape i'd be in now. oh and she never caled to see how i was doing! I would sue, but i'm not that kind of person. i figure i'll let the internet and my big mouth do the work. so, if this is the type of care you like go to this incompetent thing. if you need a really good pulmonary doctor, i highly recommend dr. patrick chae or dr. louis depalo.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 16th, 2010
She tells it like it is
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Amsterdam doesn't sugar coat things. She gives you the facts and explains your options thoroughly. After my appointment, she contacted me to make sure I was ok and to see if I had any questions. She calls me herself with results to my blood work and her office staff is amazing. Brenda is the best woman every to have taken my blood.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 29th, 2008
HORRIBLE PERSONALITY
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She has the WORST bedside manner I've ever seen! She is RUDE, and has no understanding of compassion, courtesy and is completely arrogant!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Alison Amsterdam, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Paul Knoepflmacher

21 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Arthur Kennish

40 years experience

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jane Levitt

40 years experience

4.0 of 5