ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Allison Alcalay Is this you?
  • 11
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
  • 8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
17.6 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Allison Alcalay?


25 Ratings with 14 Comments

1.0 Rating

July 21st, 2016

Patient's husband

My wife had been admitted to the ER Sutter hospital this past Monday at the recommendation of the home health nurse. The doctor and staff at ER were great and took care of her 188+ temperature and dehydration. She was transferred to the hospital unit afterwards for continued care. The doctor on site was Dr. Alcalay. We sat down in my wife's hospital room with my wife on her bed and she started lecturing me that there is ' nothing more we can do for your wife. She had dementia and she is choking on her food and a long list of unpleasant comments that completely frightened and discouraged me. I said 'no, she was fine until 2 days ago because she was coughing and her Doctor even prescribed a cough medicine. She only had this cough a few days ago. Her current Neurologist said she doesn't have dementia but Dr. Alcalay keeps on insisting that she has dementia' and that her cough was due to her system closing down . I told her that she is not my wife's physician and also not her Neurologist. How can she makes 'end of life' conclusion like that. My wife has been great for the past 2 years and is taken good care by her physicians. For someone like Dr. Alcalay to be on one night working a shift can be allowed to diagnose a patient correctly or incorrectly is scary. But she is do adamant and rude. My wife is home the very same afternoon we had that argument. She's finally eating and drinking well. Even smiles often. The coughing is gone and she is making up her lack of sleep. No thanks but harm from Dr. Alcakay.

Easy Appointment
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 10th, 2015

She told me multivitamins were a waste of money. She said if I wanted to waste my money to help the economy I should go ahead and buy multi vitamins. She is antagonistic to complimentary alternative medicine. She is not my choice in a Doctor by far

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 26th, 2015

Intelligent ,humble and a nice personality. Spends quality time with you and actually listens. Follows up with any medications. Five Stars for this doctor, for sure!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

July 31st, 2015

Wow, touchy-Feely MD, not my cup of tea

It was a fight to make myself heard. I have been a patient of Dr. Wong for years, now I have this new doctor. She is very meticulous, there are no "about" "I think". she must have an exact answer with no regard for the personality and intellect of the patient. Way too touchy-Feely, just not my cup of tea.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

July 28th, 2015

Wonderful doctor. She's very knowledgeable and really listens well.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 9th, 2014

I found a different doctor

I had hoped this female doctor would be kind and suppoortive, but Dr. Alcalay argued with me, even about semantics, and completely lacked empathy and compassion. Total lack of support. Wretched bedside manner. Made me feel stupid. She would not try to request my records from a former hmo to help diagnose a serious chronic illness. She would not take my word for it- only accepted her own notes from our 3 meetings- wouldn't trust my insights. She often sighed, which is considered a sign of anger. She acted like working with me was a tremendous hassle, and said there was a "disconnect between myself and specialists. I became very anxious after my last visit, which exacerbated my symptoms, so I found another doctor asap.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 11th, 2014

Dedicated physician

From my experience Dr Alcalay exemplifies the best in MD's. I find her attentive, compassionate and thorough. Her approach is both direct and thoughtful. She addresses me as a person, not only as a patient. The referrals she has made have also been to physicians, therapists equally as proficient and concerned. I consider myself fortunate to be in the care of this competent, dedicated physician and especially appreciate her ability to think "out of the box."

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

March 5th, 2012

Doctor is caring professional with good bedside manner and followup.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 1st, 2012

Truly impressed

I have now seen Dr. Alcalay for two visits. During both she was both attentive, professionaland reassuring. I look forward to establishing a patient/physician relationship.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 20th, 2010

Great PCP

Once Dr. Alcalay is in the room with you, she is entirely focused on you. She takes very thorough notes and listens carefully to everything you say. She thinks critically and is open to input. She knows her limitations and is willing to work with you to achieve your goals. She is very direct, which might put some people off, but I prefer the honesty to a jolly bedside manner.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 13th, 2010

I saw Dr. Alcalay for an irregular heart beat. Since I had to wait a month to see her, I did a little research of my symptoms online. When I told her about it, she rolled her eyes at me and told me there was nothing wrong with me and that everyone has irregularities in their heart beats. But hey, what do I know, it's just my heart and it only feels like it's going to explode a few times a week. I'm sure that's completely normal. Then she freaked out when I told her my boyfriend and I didn't always use condoms so I backtracked and lied to her that we always used condoms. Then she pretty much forced the H1N1 vaccine on me, which gave me a terrible headache for the rest of the day.Awesome doctor. Go see her if you want to die.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 20th, 2010

The other reviews do not reflect my experiences with Dr. Alcalay. She did a better job, with two distinct medical issues, than the specialist that I had previously seen regarding these matters. I have complete confidence in her ability, compassion and general professionalism.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Allison Alcalay is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Davis, CA.

  • Dr. Elliott Wong

    Internal Medicine

    Davis, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    21
  • Dr. Carl Constantine

    Internal Medicine

    Davis, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    26
  • Dr. Powell Jose

    Internal Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease, Cardiology

    Davis, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    10