Dr. Alison Sawyer MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.3)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    32%
  • Wait Time 17.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 27th, 2016
Happy customer
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sawyer has been my doctor for several years. I have always found her to be informed, insightful and interested in my comments. She is head and shoulders above any other Endocrinologist I have been to see in the past 20 years. She has always displayed a professional, pleasant attitude when answering my questions. She spends as much time as is necessary to be thorough.Her staff is pleasant and experienced having worked for her for a long time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 18th, 2015
For easy, textbook cases only.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor seems to function on automatic pilot. Does not take time to get facts from patient. Only reads bloodwork without getting further insight from patient, and bases a cookie-cutter treatment on paperwork only, not patient's complex history. Difficult personality, poorly informed. Disbelieves crucial parts of patient's history, tries to argue with patient! This doctor is a train wreck, unless you fit into a very narrow textbook-defined mold.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 24th, 2015
Stay Away!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I substantiate Ann patient and Angry patients comments. Dr. Sawyer just read the medical record and made decisions based upon it without listening intently to the patient's experience. Her HRT knowledge is abysmal. She does not seem to look very deep in issues. She accepts the Quest laboratory diagnosis without investigation into the metric. Unless it is a textbook diagnosis, she offers little insight or interest into problems. She does not respond to messages/inquiries, rarely makes eye contact, and seems generally dis-interested in the patients well-being. To be fair, all people have their strengths and weaknesses. If your problem is black/white she may be fine, but if your problem is undiagnosed or not clear then stay away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 5th, 2014
Thorough, current knowledge of endocrine system
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went to see Dr Sawyer due to thyroid issues. I found her knowledgable, respectful - and respectable. Wonderful manner, patient and willing to spend whatever time necessary to answer my questions. She did a great job with in-office ultrasound and biopsy. Recommend her highly as top notch Doc in a city that could use many more like her! She even responded to my email questions comprehensively and quickly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 20th, 2013
Disappointed
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I was astonished as to the gaps in Dr. Sawyer's knowledge on key subjects in her area of specialization. Although diabetes is one of her specialties, she has a poor understanding of how certain dietary elements affect blood sugar and related hormones, and made recommendations for a diet strategy that is known to destabilize blood sugar. She also lacks expertise with certain details in the administering of HRT. Her approach with a new patient is to get all her information from the patient's chart, without taking time to ask the patient about their history and experience pertaining to the issues at hand. The result of such a myopic approach is that she prescribes strategies that are inappropriate, ineffective, and that the patient has already tried and found counterproductive. If the patient speaks up to present important patient history, the doctor becomes flustered or angry, and even accuses the patient of contradicting the doctor. She seems to operate from a basis of theory (however incomplete or flawed her knowledge) rather than patient's reality. This is a recipe for medical error and failure. Doctor seems impatient and high-strung, even when not pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very professional and thorough. Clearly knows her stuff. Is definitely a 'mainstream' endocrinologist, so if you want alternative or more holistic approach, maybe not a perfect match. But she is a very competent and knowledgeableprofessional, and especially if you need help with managing your diabetes, I'd recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 6th, 2011
Great Experience
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Sawyer was very friendly and smart! She explained things to me about diabetes that no one ever has before and helped me to understand it better, now I'm under control and feel great. I don't know about these other reviews that are negative Dr Sawyer and her staff have been nothing but wonderful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 12th, 2010
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor ids very rude and unprofessional. She asked me "how long have you been having these problems". I responded ever since I had my last child, her response was, "maybe you should of never had him". I was completly shocked. I will never go see her again. How dare she make such a comment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2010
Very good experience
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr Sawyer to be caring and thoughtful. She is very knowledgeable and clearly keeps up to date on her specialty. I strongly recommend her to friends with similar health problems as mine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 30th, 2010
Avoid this doctor!
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you want a doctor who will not return your phone calls, keep you waiting 40+ minutes, overcharge, fail to make eye contact, search the Internet to diagnose, and then mis-prescribe, then this doctor for you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Alison Sawyer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Santa Fe, NM.

Doctor

Dr. Kathleen Colleran

25 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Elisabeth Barkey

33 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Erin Wray

8 years experience

5.0 of 5