Neurologist & Sleep Medicine Specialist
5 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients
523 E 72nd St
Fl 8
New York, NY 10021
212-717-0231
Locations and availability (1)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
3.0
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

18

Total Reviews

8

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 3.5384615384615 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 3.3846153846154 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 3.3846153846154 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 3.0769230769231 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 3.0769230769231 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.1538461538462 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 3.0769230769231 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 8 minutes
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Good neurologist but NOT an expert in Perkisnon Treatemen  |  show details
Feb 1st, 2014

Dr. Towfigh seems to be a reasonable neurologist to start with...but if you think and/or are diagnosed with Parkinson disease stay away from him. He is not an expert on the disease, is not up to the latest treatments and side effects, nor is he tied to any clinical trials going on. He will try to treat you, but does not have the expertise. Go see a neurologist with a Movement Disorder sub-specialty ...not one with a subspecialty of Sleep Disorders

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Les silver on Apr 17th, 2013

Very professional and most caring doctor. He made a very hard diagnosis of a dissection

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best Neurologist  |  show details
Jan 18th, 2013

Dr. Towfigh is a very knowledgeable doctor. He spent a great deal of time explaining my condition and answering all my questions and he even called my family doctor to discuss my case and review my treatment plan. He has a pleasant bedside manner as well. I highly recommend him.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best Doctor  |  show details
Jan 18th, 2013

Dr. Towfigh was very patient and answered all of my questions. He is very knowledgeable and has a warm bedside manner.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Likes a lot of tests  |  show details
Aug 25th, 2012

Dr. Towfigh, seems to like a lot of radiological tests...so he seems very complete in doing tests to get to bottom of potential problem. After it's all said and done however, nothing changes in the treatment plan for the patient. Dr. Towfigh took over Dr. John A. Schaefer's practice. Dr. Schaefer was a fabulous neurologist with a lot of experience...and if you've been a patient of Dr. Schaefer the tendency will be to compare the two doctors which is probably unfair. I do find however that Dr. Towfigh does tests, which essentailly confirm what Dr. Scaefer had already diagnosed, and after spending quiet a bit of money on tests nothing is changed in the patient's treatment plan.So don't know if he's unsure of himself or likes to over test.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Highly recommended!  |  show details
May 3rd, 2012

I am extremely pleased with Dr. Towfigh and his practice! His staff is courteous and he spends time listening to me. He even calls and speaks with my internist to find out more about my complaint and he always calls me back if I ever leave him a message.I highly recommend Dr. Towfigh to anyone who needs a neurologist or sleep specialist.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Apr 12th, 2011

He's great! Very fun and down to earth as well as serious with what he does. recommend him to anyone who mentions anything to do with sleep or Neurology.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by DANIELLLE ELLE on Feb 18th, 2011

MY EXPERIENCE WAS FANTASTIC. I AM USUALLY A BASKETCASE WHEN IT COMES TO DOCTORS BUT DR. TOWFIGH PUT ME RIGHT AT EASE. HE HAS A GREAT PERSONALITY AND ACTUALLY LISTENS WHEN YOU ARE TALKING TO HIM. HE DOESN'T BRUSH YOU OFF AS OTHER DOCTORS SEEM TO DO. I AM EXCITED TO HAVE BEEN RECOMMENDED TO HIM AND WOULD RECOMMEND HIM ON AN EXTREMELY HIGH SCALE!!!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse