Dr. Ammar Alrefai MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.2
  • 42 patient ratings
  • 8 reviews

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.8)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    76%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Wait Time 23.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 9th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 8th, 2015
Dr Alrefai is amazing
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Alrefai is excellent with people and accurately diagnosed me and helped my addiction
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 4th, 2013
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The rudest receptionist I have ever encountered.The doctor told me he did not believe mental disorder was not curable.He filled out my paperwork during my session with him, then tried to charge for it again.I changed to another doctor after the second appointment.I feel he is in this field for the money only.He doesn't really care about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 22nd, 2013
Extremely Compassionate Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor has been the most supportive and compassionate psychiatrist I have encountered. I was diagnosed in 1995 out of state and was stable when I moved here in 2003, The first doctora I had here changed all my medications and held one hour sessions with me, My condition destabilized and the sessions were more about her than about me. Dr. Alrefai got my medicines straight, assigned a therapist to me, and meets with me on a regular basis. My condition has remained under control even through extremely difficult life events and I have never felt rushed or ignored by him or his staff. Paperwork equals man hours and materials. His charges are in line with other providers/organizations for the FLMA documents. He does use his PDA to look up drug interactions, as I have asked him about them in a couple of visits. He has the information right there. I have received only top notch care from him and his staff. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2013
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My daughter who suffers from anxiety and depression was told she was fat and would never get a man. She also has a history of cutting and was told by this doctor that if she didn't stop immediately that she would be so horribly scarred that no man would ever want to look at her. We will be driving over an hour away to get away from this horrible doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2012
Dr. Al is a very skilled psychiatrist.
Wait time
15 minutes
Dr. Alrefai is a great doctor that genuinely cares about his patients. I have been seeing him for about 4 years, initially being treated for bipolar disorder, and more recently, suboxone treatment. When I first started receiving treatment, I wasn't too fond of the receptionist and had to deal with substantial waiting, but these issues were entirely resolved within the first year. In the 4 years of my treatment, Dr. Alrefai has always acted with the utmost professionalism and compassion. He is particularly well-versed in drug addiction and has been a major factor in my recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2011
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr Alreafi for suboxone treatment and he was a horrible doctor. He didn't seem to care about his patients or anything. He never even paid much attention to us. I told him something was wrong he would just do this or that on his phone. He prescribed me ativan and I failed a drug test over a script from him and I was dismissed from practice by mail two weeks later. The wanch who makes appointments wouldn't even give me to the time of day to explain why.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 24th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr Al Refai when my previous psychiatrist closed his practice. On my initial visit he was texting on his Blackberry while I was discussing my case. Ditto on my second visit. He also charged my insurance co. an office visit and me $100 to fill out FMLA papers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Ammar Alrefai, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Madison, AL.

Doctor

Dr. Keith Watts

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Miles Ohanlon

36 years experience

2.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Deborah Hogan

32 years experience

1.0 of 5