Dr. Amy Chen MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

2.8
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 16 reviews

Last 12 months:

no change

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    32%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    10%
  • Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    32%
  • Wait Time 18.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
November 16th, 2015
Angry Patient
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had to recently get my thyroid out because I had a pre-cancerous tumor growing on my thyroid. When I first met her, she seemed very insensitive, but straight to the point. I ended up trusting her with my surgery because she specialized in this type of surgery. Anyways, the surgery went well, but my voice was gone.This is typically normal, but its been three weeks and my voice still hasn't come back. I went in for a post-op and I was told by the NP that my right vocal cord was paralyzed. There is always a risk of this happening with this type of surgery, but she clearly stated it would be a 1% risk. I got a call recently and they told me to go to a vocal specialist. I am furious and frustrated! I am angry with myself for picking her as my surgeon! The moral of the story is, please do your research! Do not go to an unexperienced, novice surgeon. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 17th, 2015
Very bad experience
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
a shot show! Didn't even try to help me
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 21st, 2015
Will not recommend
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was so excited to see Dr. Chen and hoped that she would be able to help me with my ailments. However, after waiting for her for over 30 mins, she came in, gave me her opinion for less than 5 mins and just left. I did not even have time to register what was happening. I would not recommend her at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 13th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Manners are a joke
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 13th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
So so so rude. Significant attitude problem
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2015
Good Experience
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
So far a great experience with Dr. Chen. I went to her to get a second opinion and was so impressed that I decided to move forward with her (versus my normal ENT).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 19th, 2015
Awful
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Gave my mother a wrong diagnosis for her cancer without even testing her and told us she was going to die, my mother lived, and this doctor still scars her memory till this day
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I have never in my life had a doctor speak to me so disrespectful. I wouldn't let this lady do my surgery if she was the last physician on earth. I work with CHOA and I would never speak to my patients the way she spoke to me today. She talked down to me and my mother. I do not recommend anybody going to see her. And I will not be having a follow up appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 1st, 2013
A Great Second Opinion
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am submitting this positive review of Dr. Chen because she did NOT perform surgery on my thyroid! My original endocrinologist referred me to another surgeon after it was found that I had a large benign thyroid nodule. That surgeon recommended that I have my entire thyroid removed. I went to Dr. Chen for a second opinion, prior to taking this major step. After reviewing my ultrasounds, labs, etc. Dr. Chen suggested that I first work with the Emory endocrinologists, and did not recommend immediate surgery. Although I may still need surgery sometime in the future, I respect the fact that she did not automatically agree to the procedure. Thanks to her 'watchful waiting' recommendation, I was able to have a second child, still have an intact thyroid with no change to my nodule, and my thyroid is currently functioning normally.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 11th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No bedside manners
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2012
Top doctor in her fieldop doctor in her field
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Chen since 2001. She has performed several surgeries for recurring parotid tumors, after my initial diagnosis & surgery in 1987 at Piedmont. She is extremely bright, an excellent surgeon, caring and thorough, and answers all of my questions thoroughly. I would highly recommend her on every level.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2012
A great Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chen might not be a Southern kind of person, but she is a great doctor for curing diseases.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Amy Chen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.

Doctor

Dr. Malcolm Graham

3.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jeffery Wadsworth

24 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Brandon Kim

5 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor