Dr. Andrew Berchuck MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (+ 0.2)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    53%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    32%
  • Wait Time 29.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 8th, 2016
Run run run
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Any doctor other then Dr. Berchuck would be a better choice. He has no manners at all. I am so mad at myself for letting him do my surgery. Just ran away from him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2014
bad experience
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Terrible experience. You would think the man was mute and burned out taking care of patients. missing the biggest element of care-human contact. Does not communicate as cancer phases progress. Limited support for progressive cancer. Does not believe in ct scans. Just another cancer number to get thru his day
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 18th, 2013
Would not recommend him
He may have a high up position in Duke, but I would never recommend him to anybody close. His diagnosis was okay and his patient care was terrible. Treated me like just a number. Never going to him again. I cannot understand how Duke put a man like him as Director of Oncology.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 5th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr, Berchuck is an excellent gyn oncologist. His skills in handling complex cases are exceptional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 16th, 2013
Dr. Berchuck
Wait time
5 minutes
He has no bedside manner, has a God like attitude . Does not elaborate on things. But I do trust his medical judgement, knowledge and surgical skills. His staff makes up for his short comings .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2013
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. Berchuck. He is the BEST!! He is the reason I am alive today. I am a 3 1/2 year, stage IIIC Ovarian Cancer survivor. After having tests in my local town that indicated Ovarian Cancer, I was told it would be several weeks before I could see the local GYN Oncologist. Not satisfied with that, I called Dr. Berchuck's office at Duke on Wednesday. By that Friday I had an appt. with him and after looking at my test results, he already had me scheduled for surgery on Tuesday. I then went through chemo and continue to have 3 month checkups. I feel Dr. Berchuck is VERY competent and has been very honest and forthright in our many discussions we have had. I couldn't be happier with the treatment and care I have received from Dr. Berchuck, Kim, Charlotte and the rest of his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2013
My experience
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Highest ranked program in NC for GYN cancers in my research. I do not think he is at all arrogant, I do think he is a little shy and very busy. He does tend to give yes and no answers. In my visits (now going on two years), I have rarely, if ever, had to wait more than 30 minutes before seeing him. He is very timely. At times the wait for treatment in the infusion center can be really long. This is a top notch doctor and quality care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2013
Awesome
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I owe my life to Dr Berchuck he went above and beyond. I am very impressed with his knowledge and desire to work with cancer, I have read some of the not so nice reviews and I do believe that if I wanted someone to be a buddy I would not want cancer to find that person if I want an extremely good Dr then I want him to be a focused Dr with knowledge on my cancer and that is what I found. It has been six years since my stage 3 diagnosis and all is great. He really does care but he is also someone with extreme intelligence and they are always thinking so maybe not so chatty I have chatty people in my life but they are not who I look to to save my like. Thank you for all you have done for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 31st, 2012
Not what you think he is based on his accreditations
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His opinion of himself is that if he can't cur you, no one can. His staff is horrific, atrocious and pathetic....andvthat's on a good day...go to anyone but him for gyn oncology. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING, especially based on his accreditations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 8th, 2012
Outstanding team.
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am grateful for my affiliation with Dr. Berchuck and his team, I trust them with my cancer care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2012
Horrible. Would NEVER recommend him
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Terrible doctor. Cannot believe Duke hired him. Would never recommend him to anybody. Could tell he saw me as just another number than a patient. Went to him once and never came back. Spent 10 minutes max with me. Didn't care much, no compassion. Would recommend anyone to see another doctor rather than Dr. Berchuck. Horrible experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 27th, 2011
One Patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love Dr. Berchuck. I was fortunate to get in to see him quickly when I called with a biopsy and diagnosis and I was also fortunate that he was able to schedule my surgery very quickly. He may not be very "chatty" but he is very good at what he does and has a very strong treatment team to work with. There are not all that many Oncologic Gynecologists out there in general, let alone of this caliber, so sometimes you have to wait in line, but I could not be happier with anyone else or more confident that I had the best surgeon for optimal results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Andrew Berchuck, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Durham, NC.

Doctor

Dr. Angeles Secord

21 years experience

3.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Fidel Valea

31 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Craig Sobolewski

23 years experience

4.6 of 5