Dr. Andrew Gellens MD Patient Reviews

  • Gynecologic Oncology La Mesa, CA

Overall Rating

2.9
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (+ 0.6)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    25%
  • Great
    19%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    25%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Wait Time 19.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
July 26th, 2016
Not VBAC friendly
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
My only negative comment is that Dr Gellens refuses to do VBACs. He was a good Dr other than that. If I was ok with just scheduling an elective cesarean I would stay with him based on this first visit. But he did tell me there is no reason why I couldn't deliver vaginally just that he wouldn't do it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 14th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gellen's is an awesome, very informative, very caring doctor who took him time with me to review all my records and explain everything to me. I was already 4 months pregnant and got laid off so I had to switch to medi-cal and could not see my current ob-gyn. Although he could not continue my care because I am a high risk pregnancy and a diabetic he made sure to refer me out to a perinatologist and call me within a few hours to confirm with me that he got a hold of them and they are more than willing to assist me. I have never had a doctor call me personally unless it was for a diagnosis so that was an A+ on my end. He also has a great sense of humor. If I was not high risk I would of loved to be under his care. His staff is nice but not too organized and does not have the best conversation skills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 26th, 2015
Safe yourself time, DON'T USE DR GELLENS
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am 29 weeks pregnant tomorrow and I went to my third appointment with Dr Andrew Gellens yesterday afternoon. It was honestly the worst experience of my life!!! He was supposed to be my OB GYN for the last 3 months yet I had NO ultra sound scheduled with him during this whole time! (I ended up using an independent company to get my own ultrasound and paid for them out of pocket cause I really wanted to see my boy and know the sex!) I went to get blood work and urine done and Dr Gellens had missed checking off certain tests which were required to be completed so he had to send me BACK to blood work for MORE blood and MORE urine because of HIS mistake! In our appointments he straight out told me that these "mistakes" (which he has made) were my fault. He made me cry BOTH of my last visits... and I haven't even been emotional this pregnancy! He's just really harsh... I NEVER got eye contact and he NEVER smiled once even when I would try to break the ice and crack a joke or two. I scheduled this last appointment with Dr. Gellens to discuss my ongoing anxiety and panic attacks I've been experiencing and he literally said, "maybe if you took your pregnancy more seriously and were more proactive, you wouldn't have so much anxiety"!!! It has been a rough pregnancy for me this round, but after switching from Dr Gellens to my current OB GYN, I realize that the only reason it has been rough is because I chose the wrong doctor from the start. Safe yourself time, unneeded stress and chose yourself a doctor who actually enjoys his job and making his patients feel comfortable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 25th, 2013
;/
Wait time
5 minutes
Not the best doctor he doesn't take the time to see about your well being I have super bad hemorriods and he couldn't even perscribe me some cream and he basically in and out and you could wait up to an hour too see him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 12th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love this Dr. he was awseome after i began my pregnacy with a midwife and a lot of mad diagnosis I found myself in Dr. Gellens office all the staff was very caring and very helpful throughout my whole pregnacy. So when I got pregnant the second time I didnt hesitate to go back to him. I was so happy with him that when my sister was told she could never have kids I told her to go get a second opinion with him. She did and got pregnant maybe 5 months after starting a treatment with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 4th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Run!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 14th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 14th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 29th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 of 5
December 3rd, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 15th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 29th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Andrew Gellens, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near La Mesa, CA.