Dr. Andrew Wong MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Tallahassee, FL

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.2)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    60%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    12%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 25.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 27th, 2016
Avoid
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2014
AVOID
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After two years of severe shoulder pain, 4 surgeries, two of which were performed by Dr. Wong, a simple x-ray done by another surgeon revealed the real problem. Acromial spurs and impingement was the real cause of my pain, yet Dr. Wong took out the bursa in both shoulders. These spurs were "years" old and could have been found with an x-ray. I believe the bursa surgeries were unnecessary and very unethical. Shame on you Dr. Wong.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2014
Dr. Wong
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Andrew Wong is a great doctor and surgeon. He is highly experienced in several areas. He "fixed" both of my knees, one because of an automobile injury, the other from a running injury. He mostly recently operated on my hand for carpal tunnel and trigger finger. All of these procedures were a huge success. Most of all, Dr. Wong has a very good bedside manner and has spent much time with me explaining my situations and trying alternate things before performing surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 18th, 2013
Find a different doctor
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wish I had listened to my instincts when I first came in for my consultation with this doctor for a knee replacement. He dismissed my need for surgery and in a roundabout way called me a liar stating there was no way I could have worn a brace for two months. I later found out that there were other kinds of injections I could have gotten in order to avoid the knee replacement or at least prolong the need for one. The office workers are rude and seemingly do not care about patients. Getting answers to questions and trying to get refills on pain meds is an exercise in frustration. I dreaded having to call this office for whatever reason because either no one calls you back or you are transferred all over the place because it seems no one really knows what they are doing. The surgery had complications which at first I did not blame the doctor for. I had a pulmonary embolism and I am lucky I am alive. Now having more information, I have found out that there were precautions that could have been taken to prevent blood clots. Precautions that were NOT taken, such as the foot pumps on my feet during surgery. The way I was treated when I had to be readmitted to the hospital after 4 days was an abomination. I was in horrific pain and my knee swelled up while I was at home beyond recognition. The first thing Dr. Wong said to me was “I have never had a patient come back to the hospital before.” Well, I am terribly sorry I ruined your record. From then on I was treated as an inconvenience. I never got an answer as to why this had happened to me. No diagnostic tests were performed to see what could be wrong. I had to beg for pain medication and was continually treated as though I was medication seeking. This doctor's bedside manner is atrocious. He had the audacity to tell me that "it was in my head," and I was called a "wuss" by another member of his team. All someone had to do was explain that the blood thinners caused me to bleed into the surgical site and caused the swelling and pain. This doctor then dropped the ball on the physical therapy. This whole ordeal has been a travesty. I will never refer anyone to this office. AVOID THIS DOCTOR at all costs. A second opinion revealed two choices, to either live with it or have it redone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 30th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
horrible bedside manners. treated me like i was a patient with no insurance, when in fact i have a ppo. never told me what was going on. very rude, very quick, non caring, and rude to my family in waiting area. i will never refer him to anyone and i am in the midst of changing him as my doctor. horribly disgraceful.

5.0 of 5
June 18th, 2012
Surgery following ankle dislocation/broken ankle/broken leg
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My injury actually happened 7yrs ago, but I was looking up Dr Wong's name for a friend and came across this rating system. Dr Wong did an absolutely awesome job on my ankle...I have never had any difficulty with it after it healed. He's cordial, he cared and you could tell. His staff always got back with me no matter how small the question. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2012
Arthroplasty of the Hip
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a total arthroplasty of the hip. I had a minimal amount of bleeding. Was walking with and without assistance the next day. (Without assistance means no use of walker, crutches, etc but was with a Physical Therapist.) Dr. Wong has an exceptional bedside manner and even though I was doing so well he did not want to rush anything.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 9th, 2012
Saved my arm
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was in a car wreck in 2002 ,85 mph in a tree that didn't move. He saved my arm from being taken ,it was my left arm and all i can say is thank you from me and my family .I was sent to Shands Hospital and after 14 surgery's and 2 months i am back where i belong . Thank you DR Wong for my life . God bless you for your talented hands .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2010
This guy really cares
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In addition to being skillful & knowledgeable, Dr. Wong explains things clearly and is very willing to spend the time necessary to make sure all of your questions are answered. I was surprised at the number of times he visited me in the hospital after surgery. His excellent reputation for good outcomes is well-deserved.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
July 10th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 31st, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Andrew Wong, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Tallahassee, FL.