Dr. Andrew Youkilis MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Chesterfield, MO

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 0.1)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    62%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Wait Time 19.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
December 13th, 2016
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very arrogant physician. Talks down to patients.... very humiliating
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 31st, 2016
Patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Youkilis know exactly what my problem was he was very professional he didn't try to rush me through he fixed the problem I had a hernia disc pushing up against my spine he came and talked to me everyday that I was in the hospital he explained all the procedures and what to expect and I appreciate Dr. Youkilis I recommend him him and his staff did a awesome job
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 18th, 2016
Great
Amazing Doctor all the way around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Youkilis is the Best. He performed surgery on my lower back two different times. I went to him with pain in my legs that I could no longer live with. After surgery, in both cases, my pain totally went away and I was back to work in 4 to 5 days. I recommend him to everyone I know with back pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 4th, 2015
Dr Youkilis Is Awesome!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Youkilis is competent, compassionate and went above and beyond for me. He's a gift!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 19th, 2015
Ego Issues, doesn't know how to read well.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Staff is great, but he has ego issues. A million blind monkeys beating on keyboard into webmd could have come up with better diagnoses. Doesn't know how to read a MRI well, because he missed the disc issue, even though it was in the report from another place. He kept reading the wrong one from the wrong date.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2014
What A Joke
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff at St Lukes were wonderful but Dr Andrew S Youkilis was was a huge let down. The only thing he seemed to listen to was the sound of his own voice. I didn't have the pleasure of meeting any of the other Neurosurgens but I wouldn't even recommend him to an enemy. Ego Ego Ego
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 27th, 2011
Professional, Efficient and Friendly
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My spouse had a herniated disc and we not only got an appointment quickly but the surgery was done the following week. He explained my wife's MRI to us very thoroughly and we both felt confident about the upcoming operation. The little woman has shown great improvement in just 2 weeks and we have high hopes this trend will continue! Kudos!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 9th, 2011
accurate but cold and short-tempered
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He diagnosed me correctly (which one other respected doctor had not been able to do)even though he took 2 personal cell phone calls during the exam, and left the room once for several minutes. Although he apologized for leaving, he did not want to answer all my questions--gave me 3 minutes or less to make a life-changing surgical decision, and VERY little 2-way discussion of pros/cons, or long-term prognosis. When I tried to make a follow-up appointment to ask for more info, I was told my diagnosis and surgery plan have been offered; take it or leave it. I have heard he is not always this way, especially to men and important public figures, but that's how it was with me. I know he is considered (by nurses who have worked with him; I met one who told me this)quite competent, and in general just a somewhat distant or cool bedside manner, but not abusive or mean. Guess I got lucky (not), or you have to be the type of patient he prefers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 7th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great before surgery. Great night of surgery. Partner awful morning after. Follow up fair. Months later felt blown off when complained of continuing pain. Office staff great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 13th, 2010
Impressive
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Youkalis performed brain surgery on my mother on two different occasions. He was very thorough both times. He shared information and made sure we had a good understanding of the situation. We never felt rushed or persuaded. He made sure all of our questions were answered. I feel he was always honest with us and made sure surgery was the best option. Follow up calls were made to check on my mothers status and how she was healing. He is an incredibly kind and gentle man; no inflated ego here. I would highly recommend him and his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 27th, 2010
bedside manner needs an overhaul
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
impatient and preoccupied. gave the patient (my mother) about 13 minutes, interrupted twice, once for personal reasons, yet was curt when I asked too many questions about the proposed surgery for my Mom. (I'm a Physical Therapist, so I go with my Mom to some medical appointments.)exam was thorough and his diagnosis was later confirmed by another doctor, but exam was very hurried, too, and tended to dismiss or interrupt anything said that he did not ask about himself. i felt the odds were high he'd be this way throughout my mother's care, and that made us move on, even though he appeared well-recommended and competent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Andrew Youkilis, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chesterfield, MO.

Doctor

Dr. Sarah Fouke

17 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Boland

31 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Polinsky

20 years experience

4.5 of 5