The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ann Gessner Is this you?
  • 19
  • 1
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ann Gessner?


25 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 14th, 2017

Outstanding Care

Dr. Gessner is an extremely thoughtful, caring and thorough Patient advocate. She goes above and beyond to meet the needs of the women she treats. I travel from her previous town to continue my care and friendship!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 14th, 2017

Excellent doctor and good person!

I have been a patient of Dr. Gessner's for almost 15 years. When she left the Marshalltown Clinic to move to Ames with her family, I followed. She is an excellent doctor who cares about her patients well being and takes the time to listen to your concerns. I feel she discusses with you the best treatment options and plans for the future with you as a woman. I trust her and after many years I feel I have a friend. She is passionate about her work, her patients and also her family. I would and I do recommend her to everyone I know.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 20th, 2017

Highly Dissatisfied

Although I did not see her throughout my pregnancy, she was the doctor on call who delivered my baby. She has horrible beside manner. The epidural did not work, and she was completely unsympathetic to the pain I was in. She barely checked in, and the whole time she acted irrated and inconvenienced. During delivery, I was giving it my all but she would only say I wasn't trying. She didn't seem to care about me or my baby as patients, just another number. I would never recommend her to anyone.

Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 4th, 2011

Love Her!!

Dr. Gessner was an amazing doctor while I was pregnant and did an amazing job helping me deliver my first child. I felt that she expressed her concerns and opinions with me and what she felt was best (she suggested a c-section, as I was having a large baby) but let me make the final decision and fully supported me in having my baby naturally. She is the only doctor I will have to deliver my babies!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 10th, 2009

Best Doctor

Dr. Gessner delivered both of my children and it was the most amazing experience of my life. I was thrilled when she was able to deliver my second child after the wonderful care she took of me during the birth of my first. I also had a minor surgery performed by Dr. Gessner and again, she was amazing. Wonderful bedside manor, gentle and caring. I have recently learned that she is leaving Marshalltown to move to Des Moines and I am very sad about that, but excited for her and the new patients that will get to experience her excellent care. I would recommend her to anyone having a baby or having problems, she is so great!!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 21st, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 14th, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 12th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 20th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

June 19th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 3rd, 2016

5.0 Rating

November 9th, 2015

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ann Gessner is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Ames, IA.

  • Dr. Joyce Lines

    Dr. Joyce Lines

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Ames, IA 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    26
  • Dr. Afshin Malaki

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Ames, IA 0 mi

    4.8
    (19)
    19
  • Dr. James Downard

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Ames, IA 0 mi

    3.7
    (5)
    29