Dr. Anthony Castrovinci MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology Mentor, OH

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 0.1)

24 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    17%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    17%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 8.2 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
May 31st, 2017
GOOD DOCTOR FOR SKIN PROBLEMS
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
VERY NICE DOCTOR. TOOK TIME WITH ME AND DID NOT SEEM RUSHED. HIS CONCERN FOR ME WAS GREAT. WILL SEE HIM IN 2 WEEKS
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 9th, 2017
I think he is terrific!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been his patient since he opened his practice in Mentor in the 70s. Many times I thought I had something suspicious but he would tell me it's this or that and nothing to worry about. He never made me feel like I was wasting his time. When I found another suspicious area recently he thought it wasn't normal...did a biopsy...It was squamous cell carcinoma. Long story short, this man is a master in his field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 10th, 2015
False diagnosis very traumatic
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not recommend Dr. Castrovinci. My husband went to see him for a biopsy of a small mole on the back of his shoulder. We were called back in for the results, urgently, and informed by the doctor that it was a STAGE 4 Melanoma. I questioned the doctor several times to make sure he meant to say "STAGE 4". I couldn't understand how it could be classified as STAGE 4 from a small shave biopsy and no other tests. He continued to insist it was STAGE 4. After a horribly traumatic 10 days waiting to get in to the world renowned cancer center near us, we learned it was not STAGE 4. It was an aggressive cancer and he had surgery and lymph node biopsies immediately. The lymph nodes were negative and, although he will continued to be monitored and tested every 3 months visually and 6 months for blood work, etc., he is currently cancer-free. Dr. Castrovinci put us through 10 days of immense pain and worry for no reason. Even the nurse at the cancer center read the pathology report that the doctor had given us and would not classify the melanoma as STAGE 4. We should NEVER have been told that it was. Staging of cancer requires several steps - not just a pathology report from a shave biopsy. I am considering filing a report with the AMA. And, Dr. Castrovinci is lucky I'm not litigious. Most of the population probably would have sued him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 31st, 2013
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I called to make an appointment, I told them I had a small sebaceous gland growth on my head and wanted it removed. I asked if the doctor could perform this removal. They said yes and made the appointment to see the doctor. When I came to the office, the doctor looked at it, and said that removing this bump required stitches and his office was not equipped to do it. He told me to go to a plastic surgeon. WOW !!! to remove a small cyst I need to see plastic surgeon !!! YET THEY CHARGE ME the co pay and bill the insurance. By the way they do not take credit card or debit! . So, do yourself a favor, save yourself time and money - do not go to his office."
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2013
Old School--Great Dr.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Three generations of people in our family have seen Dr Castrovinci. The wait times are short. He gets right to the issue and offers his solution. He has helped us in every case. He is definitely not one of those Doctors who will perscribe something just because you saw it in TV.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 12th, 2013
Patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The other reviewers hit the nail on the head. If you are just looking for a prescription and know precisely what you want, he will write it. If you are looking for healthcare- or any care at all, this is not your doc. Very gruff, doesn't listen to concerns and flipped the switch to autopilot a long time ago.

1.0 of 5
February 27th, 2013
Waste of my time and money
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man called me to come back from the hall way, couldn't even walk into the waiting room to introduce himself. He came off as an ornery old man who just needs to retire already. As we walke into the treatment room, patient before had not yet left and the room had not been wiped down. He ripped off the chair paper as we went in. He did not talk in a respectful manner and said the word "d**n". Very unprofessional. I was scheduled to do two things and only one was done, when I asked if we can check my moles if they are precanceerous, he rushed me out and didnt care to look because there were other patients waiting. I was suggested to make another appointment and I didn't. Ill never go back. Next time I will be more cautious when choosing a doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2012
Great Dr., He has been my skin Dr. for over 20 years.
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 6th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
July 6th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
July 1st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Anthony Castrovinci, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mentor, OH.