Dr. Anthony Smartnick MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

2.1
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

1.8 (-0.3)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    17%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    7%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    60%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 11.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 27th, 2015
Does not understand me
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was a real jerk he did not listen too me or try to understand me no compassion
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2015
Anthony Smartnick R MD
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Smartnick spends no more than ten minutes with me in the appt and usually less than five. He will not let you speak and tells you what is wrong with you and how you feel. I have severe clinical depression and his medical advice was that I should just think happy thoughts. He didn't remember I had been hospitalized just two weeks before even though he had seen me there twice. His treatment is erratic and his "advice" is inconsistent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor will never return a phone call to you and will not listen to any problem you have. He is simply interested in managing your medications, which he does poorly if he doesn't listen to you long enough to know what the problem is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2015
Caring Dr with exceptional experience in his field
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Smartnick for about 3 years and he has always been professional and understanding. He has been there for me throughout my most difficult times. He is very knowledgable in regards to medications and I trust him completely. He has never missed an appointment with me and always makes sure I have my meds. I would and have recommend him to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 18th, 2015
Worst. Psychiatrist. Ever.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I read a lot of reviews of Dr. Smartnik online and almost all of them were extremely negative. I took that with a grain of salt, however, thinking that only the complainers go online to write reviews in the first place. When I actually met Dr. Smartnick he was rude, often interrupting me and speaking in a condescending tone of voice when I would try to describe my symptoms to him. I decided that it really didn't matter if the guy had a bad personality as long as he provided me with the service I needed. From that point on, however, Dr. Smartnik kept cancelling appointments with me so that I was constantly running out of my meds. Yesterday I drove all the way to Hudson, where the receptionist told me that he "just didn't show up to the office today." Apparently, he didn't even bother to call and cancel. The receptionist said that clients were coming in all day and getting angry that he wasn't there as scheduled (again). Dr. Smartnick missed 5 of the 8 appointments he had scheduled with me. So, when the receptionist offered to schedule another one, I declined. I didn't see any point in scheduling an appointment that he wasn't going to keep anyway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2013
Horrible Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is awful. He makes it very obvious that he has no interest in what the patient has to say nor does he do any type of assessment. I tried to discuss troublesome side effects with him but he didn't want to hear it and just told me to keep taking the medicine. I needed my prescriptions through mail order because of my insurance and could not get him to send the prescription.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 1st, 2013
Horrible
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had been tested for ADHD by a woman in the very same office. She went over my results with him and I was supposed to follow up with him to get a prescription. On the day of my appointment he didn't remember ever speaking to her, and when I told him the medications she had recommended he said "I don't think that's indicated here," as he was hustling me out the door after my 30 second appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 26th, 2013
Awful Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Doctor is only interested in the money. He shows no concern for the patient. Would not recommend this guy to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2013
Run run run!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Talks mostly himself! Interrupts you while your talking! Refuses to give notes for work or school stating "your running away from your problem". Never remembers who you are or what he has done for you unless he looks at his notes! Does not give refills on Rx instead has you call when you need one and will only give one refill at a time. Basically does all the talking himself than gets up and opens his door when he is finished. Spends barely any time with you! Basically a useless doctor who doesn't seem to care!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2013
Caring dr
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great bedside manor easy to talk to takes the time to listen Easy going
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 19th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My first impression of Dr. Smartnick was that he was very matter of fact and not overly compassionate. I guess that is why I have a therapist if I want compassion. I saw Dr. several times before I really saw the true side of him. I was admitted to the Partial Hospitalization Program at Akron General Hospital at my lowest point and he was so compassionate and caring to me. He sat and spent time with me and I am very happy that I go to him now, At first I felt he was putting me on too many meds but he told me to be patient that they would help me. He is correct. Therapy, medication, and my willingness plus Dr. Smartnick's care has me on the road to recovery within 2 months. I would recommend him but you need to give it time and work hard at recovery!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 5th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnosis correct BUT I had to"interview" with his secretary before he "agreed" to take me on as a patient? would start my session in the hallway on walk back to his office - what about privacy laws? I don't mean just small talk, either. Doesn't appear to like having to see patients. I went elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Anthony Smartnick, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Akron, OH.

Doctor

Dr. Hazel Fishel

6 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Charles Brown

8 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lori Pittinger

28 years experience

4.9 of 5