The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Anthony Vernava Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Anthony Vernava?

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Anthony Vernava?

Ratings and Reviews

28 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 28 Ratings with 11 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 31st, 2016

30th of July 2016 . Date of birth 8/24/1937

I recommend Dr. Vernava as a good colorectal surgeon. He removed a Rectal cancer on me and performed an Ileostomy. He did a great job. After 5 months he reversed the Ileostomy. Both surgeries and the follow up was successful. I couldn't be more pleased. His staff was great

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 27th, 2016

Terrible

Careless and overpriced doctor. If you want to be given a painful and abrupt exam and given little to no information then go see this guy.

Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

June 7th, 2016

Review for my deceased husband Robert.

I would recommend Dr. Vernava as a colo-rectal surgeon only. He saved my husband's life in 2008 by removing his cancerous rectum. In 2014 he had to do a resection because of a blockage. At that time, he said my husband should have no more surgeries. However, my husband developed an incisional hernia that was extremely huge. In 2015 Dr. Vernava said he could fix that. Without any warnings to us about possible outcomes he operated and 3 days later operated again because of a blockage. When my daughter called the doctor, he lied to her about what happened and I called him on it. All he said was "I'm sorry". My husband's body got so weak he could not continue with the cancer treatments. Another hernia appeared in 2015, even bigger than the last and Dr. Vernava incorporated another doctor to perform even another surgery to clear a blockage and tie up the hernia. The cancer proceeded to spread to his lung and he died this year 2016. I maintain Dr. Vernava should never have said he could fix the hernia in the first place.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2016

so glad I knew him!

I suffer from hemorrhoids for years after have my son. Finally someone recommended me Dr. Vernava and I visit him to heard I need surgery as the only option. He did the procedure and I believe I should have done this before because I am suffering any more, he did a great job and a follow up too. I highly recommend this doctor and his crew.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

March 28th, 2015

First visit and it went well. He seems very through and clearly explained options. Plan on using him for follow on surgery.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 24th, 2012

Mr. B.B.

Dr. Vernava saw my grandson who was having problems with his stomach. My grandson did not want surgery and saw the doctor for a different approach. Dr. Vernava spent the time to explain what my grandson had to do if he didn't have surgery. Needless to say, my grandson is doing well.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2010

excellent doctor poor hospital __

He is excellent but as a physician whose father was a patient I can't say much good except for anesthesia, intensivist and nurse Sarah. Cardiologist was worst.My father sat in his own feces until I cleaned it. Hospital staff for most part uncaring and unfriendly. Hard to believe that doctor of this caliber is associated with that "hospital ".

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 15th, 2010

Colon Surgery

Dr. Vernava did the surgery at the end of October. Everything went fantastically well. I would recommend the Doctor to anyone needing this type of service. I couldn't be more pleased. His staff was very good. As a nurse I feel I had the best.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2009

He provided life saving emergency surgery at 2 AM with excellence

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 18th, 2009

very caring and thoughtful. included my family in diagnosis and treatment procedure. communicated very well with the other doctors and caregivers in treatment of my cancer. all other doctors were very complimentary and instilled a great confidence in doctor vernava. everything went smoothly and satisfactory.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 5th, 2009

Very Satisfied

I was very pleased the service and care I received by Dr. Vernava, his office staff and the staff at the endoscopy center.They made a potentially stressful situation as comfortable and as easy as possible.Thank you.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 25th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Anthony Vernava is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Naples, FL.

  • Dr. Jonas Mansson

    General Surgery

    Naples, FL 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (17)
    9
  • Dr. Argyrios Tzilinis

    Vascular Surgery, General Surgery

    Naples, FL 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (9)
    19
  • Dr. Robert Tomsick

    Dr. Robert Tomsick

    Dermatology, General Surgery

    Naples, FL 0.01 mi

    4.5
    (17)
    41