The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Anton Lotman Is this you?

Filter Reviews

36 Ratings • 18 Comments

3.8
  • 23
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
  • 8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11.7 min
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Anton Lotman?

Showing 12 of 36 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on March 2nd, 2015

Excellent neurologist, very knowledgeable and took time to listen to my concerns

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Pompous, and not forthcoming

Posted on September 15th, 2014

I did have to wait a few weeks, but he is the only neuro in the area, so I understood that. Everyone in the office was nice enough, and professional. Dr. Lotman was not rude to me, nor did he say anything out of the way or untoward. I rather liked his manner, to be honest. However, when it came to discussing my actual condition, Dr. Lotman did not listen to me, did not take into serious consideration my symptoms, and already had his mind made up about my condition before he ever even ordered the brain MRI. He refused to look at my research, and perhaps most distressingly, he was not honest with me about his diagnosis of my condition, which I was shocked to have learned of through the Patient Portal. On his records of my office visits, there are several inaccurate statements about my medical history and recent treatments, which I have pointed out and yet were never corrected. I cannot even get him to respond to a simple question about my brain scan- a question the radiation department tells me only the neurologist is allowed to answer. I have called and asked, yet have never got a return call back. I am left to order a CD of my MRI images, and compare them to a reference book at the library, in order to get the answer to my question, which is simply "Exactly what areas in my brain are the lesions located?" Though one would think this is the kind of info a neurologist would happily provide. Due to insurance changes, I had to change PCP's and needed another referral from my new PCP to see him again, which I do not want. I am instead working toward a referral for a second opinion from another neurologist. Sadly, Lotman is the only neurologist in this area, but I'd rather go out of my way to see another neuro than to see Dr. Lotman again.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Self Righteous

Posted on May 27th, 2014

The first thing he said was "I didn't read that thing you brought in, or I wouldn't have time to see you". That "thing" was a 1-page synopsis of medical history & current symptoms! Does not listen, or care. Rude and inconsiderate, not the least bit empathetic. Wrong diagnosis. Did not offer the tests I wanted, then says in his report that I refused them! Total waste of my time & energy! I will not go back. Will go out of town instead.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 26th, 2014

He was fast at getting my spinal and Mri Ordered and done.Everything I needed done was always taking care of,Even to letting me know when support group meetings for my illness was in the area.I miss living in another state not having him as me nero,

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Never see

Posted on October 9th, 2013

Poor diagnosis, poor listening skills, keeps vague inaccurate records, does not read other doctors evaluations and suggestions, and poor bedside manner. I take the bus to Eugene and Portland rather than subjecting myself to this guy. He talked down to me, made me feel stupid. I have a similar educational background to this guy. He must need to feel superior for some reason. Anyway, for quality care I go elsewhere.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 16th, 2013

I wish I could give him less than a one star rating. He did not listen to me, did not help me. In his report about me he simply made up things he says I said about my condition, in other words he lied. I felt very put down by this guy. He just made me feel bad and in the end did not help me.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Worst Doctor Ever!

Posted on July 5th, 2013

I went to see this guy. I hesitate to call him Doctor. He minimized my situation and treated me like an idiot. He made me feel stupid. When I said there were certain things I could not do he said, " oh yes you can". I should know what I can and cannot do. I'm the expert on me. I broke down and started crying in front of him and he said I suffered from no depression, which made me cry harder because I know I do. He made me feel horrible. I will never go back to him. He asked me three times why I was not married, "oh such a pretty girl, why aren't you married?" He asked me three times why I did not have children. What does my marital status and whether I have children or not have to do with my medical condition? Then he told me after never having read my file that I did not have a particular condition, which was diagnosed and being treated for by a well-known Rhuemotologist. What does Lotman, a supposed neurologist have to do with that diagnosis? He never read my file from my previous doctor so I could not get refills on medication. The med"s weren't barbituates either, they actually make my hair fall out, but save my life. He was a complete jerk and he lied to me. He also asked me to make a detailed list why I thought I was depressed, as if to imply he did not believe I was or could be depressed. It is not his place to ask me why I was depressed, but I started telling him and he minimized that too! I thought doctors were supposed to help people. Not here in Coos Bay, Oregon. TOTAL JERK!

Wait time
20 minutes
Friendly Staff
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Doctor was quite informative after asking lots of questions regarding my anxieties and concerns. Actually got down on the floor to demonstrate some exercise methods for my cbronic back injuries Spent quite a long time with me, allowing all the time I needed. Subcribed a med which, taken with one other, has worked well for the experiences I was suffering. Overall a very satisfying experience.

Posted on February 1st, 2013

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown

extremely rushed like a race horse ran thru the office

Posted on July 12th, 2012

I have been subjected to poor medical care because I do not have good insurance. If I complain about it I am accused of "hating doctors". Lotman thought I was there to be screened for sleep apnea when I already had been diagnosed. He spent almost no time with me and then wrote a report making it sound like he spent hours. When I complained about this or rather pointed it out I was accused of "hating doctors"

Wait time
15 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

callous....

Posted on December 23rd, 2011

I didn't feel that Dr. Lotman listened to us when we tried to explain my concerns regarding my mother. Without any knowledge of our family situation, he proceeded to chastise me for not doing enough to help my mom's current husband with the care of my mom. When I tried to explain our situation, he just left the room and said how sad the situation was. Also, he simply referred us back to our old doctor with whom we had trouble seeing because of distance and infrequent appointments.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Doctor

Posted on January 28th, 2011

Dr Lotman is extremely knowledgeable, a true expert, and can always explain complicated concepts in easy to grasp terms. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend him at any moment.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible

Posted on December 28th, 2010

Said that US Schools don't teach very well and that my lack of knowledge is making me stress about my job, which was causing my chronic migraine. I've been in my field for 15 years I know what I'm doing.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Anton Lotman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Coos Bay, OR.