Dr. Anton Plakseychuk MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 72 patient ratings
  • 26 reviews

Last 12 months:

3.6 (+ 0.1)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    51%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    25%
  • Wait Time 30.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2017
Superb results
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Have had a very satisfactory experience so far with total hip replacement performed on January 10, 2017. Recovery has been exceptional with outpatient PT
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 28th, 2016
A true Expert
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Frankly, I am nothing less than grateful that this man did my surgery. Initially I was apprehensive about undergoing a hip resurfacing knowing full well that to undergo surgery is to literally put your life in someone's hands. Not only just your life on the table, but the quality of your life for a very long time thereafter. I had done medical malpractice cases during my legal career, and had seen the consequences of procedures gone bad. After doing all of my online research, I decided to trust Anton. He was up front with me on my initial consults. He didn't sugar-coat my situation. He answered all of my questions directly via email and gave me recommendations that were direct and professional. When I came out of surgery, I knew that I had undergone something major. It is now three months since my discharge from the hospital, and I can honestly say that not only am I glad I had the procedure, but I would go back to no-one other than this doctor should develop a similar problem in my other hip. In fact, if he relocated out of my city I would travel great distances for his service. I never post comments on websites, but Dr. Plakseychuk deserves this comment from me. I would unequivocally recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 22nd, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Plaksechuk explained things thoroughly, took his time to answer any questions and concerns that I had before and after surgery. Surgery went well and I made a quick recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 28th, 2016
this doctor has a nonchalant attitude about pain
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor ruined my health and my leg alignment. My leg has never been the same and is completely crooked and now doesn't straighten. No one has worked on it since and he left years of pain for me. I told him something was wrong after surgery and he wouldn't intervene the entire care after his initial work, he said he didn't want to go back and just let it heal. He brought me back to the O.R. 9 times for minor things but missed the major problem the leg was crooked (the doctors since have said the leg is out of the normal range by 15 degrees, which is a lot in orthopedics) and every doctor I saw after was a gasp at how he left me. This man should be fired. Right before my first surgery, and before being wheeled into O.R., he put a piece of paper in front of me and said I want you to write in your your own hand writing the risks and sign it and he read the risks to me in doctor language and I wrote them down and signed it. But in hind-site, he should have discussed this at the pre-op appointment days before and gone over it earlier so I could make sure this was the right choice for myself, not moments before just being wheeled into the operating room. Apparently he wasn't confident, wanted to perform the surgery but interested more in insuring his protection than mine. When he told me to do this, I was already on the table, underneath my hospital gown I was naked with an IV in my arm, I had little time to think about it. Had he presented this paper in the pre-op appointment, I would have had more time to think and maybe it would have dawned on me, something was wrong with the way he was handling it or maybe I needed to wait or get a different doctor all together who was confident in the procedure. UPMC is a teaching hospital, so what I have come to understand was they use you to experiment on and learn from. Also, while I was in the hospital recovering at UPMC, some patient walked off the roof and did not make it. Doesn't seem that anyone was watching this patient like they should have been and why was there access to rooftop? I don't know anymore details, but what a terrible story and experience. As for this doctor, when a patient complains of severe pain, that is a signal something is wrong and those details go right over his head. Scary. Please do not get involved with this surgeon. Travel if you have to. I wish I had never involved myself with this surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 16th, 2016
Rude
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was dismissive about my husband's pain. Told him to move on. I would never go back there.All of the other staff were nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 15th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was a total JERK. Would give negative stars if available. Very rude. Very poor bedside manor. Just noticed where he was working before shut down. Now I know why. What an ignorant Rude person!!!! Had to give 5 stars for ease of appointment - got right in to see him. Guess I can see why now-- no one must like his attitude!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 18th, 2016
Hip replacement
My mother had a total hip replacement in May. The surgery went well as far as I can tell. Unfortunately she died suddenly one week later of a pulmonary embolism which is common after these types of surgery. Its heartbreaking to know that a surgery that was supposed to make her life better, ultimately took her life. I think more time needs spent explaining the signs and symptoms of blood clots and pulmonary emboli. Also, do research about the medication they put you on for DVT prevention. My mom was only on aspirin after the surgery. I understand that is now an acceptable practice among orthopedics, but from my research the American college of chest surgeons do not promote that, presumably because they do not feel it provides enough protection against pulmonary embolus. There are several new drugs out that can be used post-operatively for DVT/PE prevention, but they are costly and can be difficult for insurance to cover. Coumadin is an option, but requires monitoring. Aspirin is cheap and no monitoring, so I'm sure hospitals and doctors are pushed to use it more than other drugs, unfortunately it did nothing for my mom. I can do nothing to bring her back, but I can hopefully let others know there are serious risks involved and clots are much more common and dangerous than patients may be told. I assumed she was getting the best care at a UPMC hospital. I just wish she had been given options about different medications instead of just being told - take aspirin and go home. As for the surgery and surgeon himself, I believe she felt comfortable with him and confident in him. I hope in time more family member of other patients come forward and the aspirin regimen post-op is re-evaluated, particularly in patients who are higher risk - over 65, overweight, limited mobility etc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 11th, 2016
Good experience
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I liked how he spoke to me, was kind and friendly, answered all my questions. I had total knee replacement (going for 2nd one later this year). The scar is healing nicely (therapy people said it's one of the best they've seen). Only complaint is that in general, no one really explains what a difficult surgery and recovery this is. I don't know if they minimize it because it's routine to them, but it was a shock to me. I wasn't impressed with the unit at Magee and the care I got there, but as far as the surgery team and the doctor, I was happy with that part.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 14th, 2015
Tremendous surgoen and hospital
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Plakseychuck performed a hip resurfacing on my right hip. The results and overall experience could not have been better. My recovery has been rapid and with minimal discomfort. The entire staff on the 4th floor at Magee was professional, competent, observant, caring and kind. The nurses were responsive to my every need and the physical therapists were tremendous. I was in the hospital for two days and while I only saw Dr. Plakseychuk three times for about five minutes each, I was satisfied that he was on top of my recovery. The morning after surgery he told me to expect a pretty rough day (which it was, especially early) and that each day would show improvement. Those few minutes put me in the right frame of mind for my two PT sessions that day. I highly recommend this fine surgeon and this outstanding hospital. If I have the need for another surgery (likely will require one for my left hip in 5 years), I would not hesitate to return to Magee and Dr. Plakseychuk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 30th, 2015
Mr
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Anton is a very humble man as well as a great surgeon
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was wonderful and did a great job, I was blessed to find him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 11th, 2015
Do not advance. Do not press Go.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had deformity correction surgery. What a waste. I had to have surgery again to correct this doctor's surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Anton Plakseychuk, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.

Doctor

Dr. Brian Hamlin

23 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kenneth Urish

8 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Anthony Digioia III

30 years experience

3.9 of 5