ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Anupama Mathew Is this you?
  • 31
  • 0
  • 2
  • 2
  • 8

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Wait Time
18.8 min
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Anupama Mathew?


43 Ratings with 14 Comments

1.0 Rating

July 11th, 2017

NO BEDSIDE MANNER

Dr Mathew has ZERO bedside manner- she is abrupt and pompous. Has an attitude which I do not appreciate. Her policies are ridiculous. Never had posted what schools she went to. Avoid this doctor- her negative attitude proceeds her!

Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 3rd, 2017

Great Experience

I had a wonderful experience with Dr Mathew. I was able to get my appointment and procedure scheduled within the same week. She was very detailed, and caring. I recommend her highly.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 26th, 2016

find another doctor

I scheduled an appointment with this doctor. I followed all instructions as prescribed to prepare for the colonoscopy procedure. I had a severe reaction to the medication, extremely painful, some people have no problems with this medication, Suprep, but I had severe abdominal pains that lasted over 10 hours. I was forced to cancel my colonoscopy due to my level of pain and discomfort. I called the office the morning of the procedure to speak with the doctor to explain the severe, painful reaction. The receptionist told me that the doctor would not call me and that I would be billed a $100.00 cancelation fee. They have a very explicit cancelation fee, however I was told that there is not an exception if you have a reaction to the medication. I was told that this is a common side effect and would be billed the cancelation fee anyway. Be cautious and find a doctor who is actually concerned about your health.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 5th, 2016

My Care

I just spent about 45 minutes with Dr. Mathew. I highly recommend her: her care, her ability to explain what the test means in laypersons terms, her ability as a doctor to do the tests that are needed and why I needed that particular test, her friendliness and kindness, her staff are warm and welcoming.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 14th, 2016

Good listener and communicator. I really like the anesthesiologist that she works with.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 7th, 2016

I was recommended to dr. mathew by pcp doctor and I wasn't disappointed. The wait time for my appointment was on time and my consult with dr. Mathew was amazing. She had great bedside manner. She listened to everything I had to say, she gave me a lot of advise and even wrote down what my future plans were for me to take home. Staff was wonderful. I highly recommend Dr. Mathew.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 4th, 2015

very bad doctor

Very poor doctor that I would not recommend to anyone.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

August 29th, 2015

no

Can't recommend. Authoritarian. Overtly hostile. Makes negative judgements about patient based on her own personal issues. Followed her instructions anyway because she was highly recommended and we were told that she is one of only two that can perform the procedure needed. Stopped Rx I need to stay alive because it interferes with the procedure. She never scheduled procedure. Don't know what her issues are but considered racism. She managed to be extremely offensive 3X in one appointment but we would have stuck with her anyway because we thought we had no other choice. But when she failed to schedule procedure after taking me off Rx she risked my life for nothing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 11th, 2015

A wonderful physician

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 12th, 2014

Incompetent. Poor language skills and usage. Much too familiar. Appeared clueless to me regarding my diagnosis. Went to another GI, and I again regained my faith. Don't waste your time. I think she believes doing business the Indian way in the U.S. is acceptable; it isn't!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 15th, 2014

horrible!!

I read the other reviews, and they sound like they're writing about someone else. Her bedside manner is horrendous! She's either Indian or Filippino; stood right by my bed and spoke much too closely to me. She told me: "you're not listening to me." which is far too familiar, and then diagnosed me with Functional Pain Disorder, which afterwards, I discovered that that means a psychological, behavioral or emotional pain syndrome. I have a recent history of having major pancreatic surgery. I have seen another GI doctor from the mayo clinic, and they are very confident that they are on track to determine what has been causing my pancreatic problems. I'm sure that either she, herself, or staff and friends wrote her reviews on this site. She is horrible at communicating in English, and diagnosing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2013

ER visit

My colonoscopy was the result of an ER visit and subsequent admittance to the hospital. I was assigned a GI doctor who, in turn, assigned the procedure to the doctor on call for that following Saturday. The on-call doctor turned out to be Dr. Anu Mathew who was not only very caring, gentle manner, attentive, but who was the first doctor ever to perform the procedure successfully on me due to my extremely kinked insides. (She used a pediatric scope, which apparently made the difference.) I've definitely found my new GI doctor!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Anupama Mathew is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Phoenix, AZ.

  • Dr. Kevan Pickrel

    Internal Medicine

    Phoenix, AZ 0.04 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    19
  • Dr. Stephen Nathan

    Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine

    Phoenix, AZ 0.04 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    43
  • Dr. Erik Maskin

    Internal Medicine

    Phoenix, AZ 0.04 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    13