Physiatrist, Pain Management


Accepting new patients
407 W Highland Blvd Ste A
Inverness, FL 34452
352-433-0085
Locations and availability (3)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
3.0
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

73

Total Reviews

50

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 3.2857142857143 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 3.2545454545455 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 3.2857142857143 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 3.2962962962963 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 3.2592592592593 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.2545454545455 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 3.1851851851852 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 22 minutes
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Well respected doctor  |  show details
by Happy Patient on May 24th, 2014

Dr Sharma is one of the most well respected doctor's in his field. I totally trust his opinion. His staff is skilled and well trained. I have always rescieved great service from them. His medical skill are second to none. If he gives you what you need to do, you should do it, and you will be benefited. If you dont, its your own fault.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  ok for me  |  show details
by me on May 16th, 2014

good

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Superb Physician and superb office staff  |  show details
May 7th, 2014

I give my highest honors to Dr Sharma and his staff as they are able to navigate and treat difficult cases and difficult patients with extreme skill and expertise.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great for Stroke Rehab  |  show details
by Great for Stroke Rehab on Apr 4th, 2014

Dr Sharma and his team did a great job helping my mom to recover from her stroke. She should not walk or talk when he started treating her. Now she is fully independent.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doctors office  |  show details
Apr 1st, 2014

This Doctor and his staff are great. Very caring and knowledgable. I appreciated his no nonsence approach to patient care

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 13th, 2014

NOT QUALIFIED!!!!! doesn't even rate a one star, but site made me! "He is not qualified" if you have serious medical pain, 2 other highly qualified Doctors in area. One of which dislike me but is an awesome pain mgmt Dr. I have serious medical pain problems & he neglected my care to the point of thought I was having nervous breakdown. Thank God I was sent to Neuro by primary for other issues and after much test I was given not only much needed relief one section, many needed med attention, If finally was given information on why severe pain. I am currently looking through med bills MAY be a question of "padding", fraud. NATIONAL PAIN INSTITUE few blocks away ARE GREAT!!!!!! No I am not given pain meds from them

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Quality Provider  |  show details
by Frank Turner on Feb 11th, 2014

I received great quality and compassionate care despite having very poor health insurance. Dr and staff are outstanding

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  His Injections are great  |  show details
Sep 17th, 2013

Dr was able to eliminate by pain by a series of nerve block injections.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Awesome doctor  |  show details
Jun 23rd, 2013

Dr was able to accurately find the right diagnosis and treatment to my condition that other doctors could not find.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  This is a quack!  |  show details
by Frank fazeano on Mar 20th, 2013

This Dr. is a complete and utter quack! Do not see him ! He is one of those Doctors that just has no reason to be in the pain management field! Be worned he is not the dr. TO GO TO!

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Would not see me, my orginal appt. my sister would not see me my sister had to have by-pass surgery  |  show details
by Lynda Swaim on Mar 9th, 2013

I then reschduled my appt, Monday the 4th, I could not find the office and got the answering, couild not get anyone on phone. The staff was rudeI do not reccomed anyone to see this doctor.How can somone get to their appt. if no onen answers then phone. I will be reporting Dr. Shaman to the Better business bureua. i called 6 times Monday for directions

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doctor  |  show details
Feb 22nd, 2013

Excellent knowlegde base, very easy to understand, with caring staff

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  TOTALLY UNPROFESSIONAL, UNCOMPASSIONATE, DISRESPECTFUL  |  show details
Jan 29th, 2013

I have several medically (legally) documented chronic diagnoses that are excruciatingly painful and very often debilitating without a LOW dose of a pain med. I have one condition that is potentially fatal if my blood pressure rises too high for too long, and my bp does rise when I have pain and of course when I am upset.* I was referred to Dr. Sharma for pain meds., to whom I told the TRUTH, gave a random urine, and offered as much proof as I had available, including an xray film. However, since his staff did NOT tell me to bring a certain film with me (which my surgeon has for my up-coming surgery), AND because my primary's office did not fax my records to Dr. Sharma, HE BLAMED ME for those circumstances! I told him that I would obtain what he requested; but meatime, he was already making derogatory statements to me, he falsely accused me, and ultimately he became HOSTILE in word and action because I was firmly objecting to his UNSUBSTANTIATED, belittling remarks to me! I was not prescribed medication for my pain. And I was sent away upset* and crying! NO professional doctor would treat anyone that way! NO compassionate doctor would talk to anyone that way! NO one should be talked to and be treated that way!

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 18th, 2013

Think about things like... What was most memorable? What did you like or dislike? What would you tell a friend? Would you choose this doctor again?

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  this doctor will drop you for no reason just to cover his own self  |  show details
Nov 21st, 2012

this doctor just quite seeing me after being a patient of his for years without giving me time to set up to see a new doctor. and also lied to me and told me it was medicaid giving him a hard time and then his office made up some srupid thing about there being a law he couldn't see me because i moved to another county which I found out was not true

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Highest Rating  |  show details
Nov 17th, 2012

I give my highest rating to this doctor and his staff for their care and concern for my medical conditions. they go above and beyond for what you would expect in todays heathcare system.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Premier medical care  |  show details
Sep 14th, 2012

I would highly advise anyone to seek solid medical care with this doctor. His advise is right on the money. Staff is also very good

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Excellence in medical service  |  show details
Sep 9th, 2012

The professionalism of both the doctor and staff is second to none. I would recommend without hesitation to anyone

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  New patient/dr Referral  |  show details
Aug 30th, 2012

I was overall impressed with my visit. Upon walking in the door I thought, ok, not as fancy as I expected. The Institute threw me off!! But when I was attended to I felt like they were in control and I was right.. The office staff handled me dilligantly and accurately. I was very comfortable with the assistant in the back who introduced himself and spoke to me as he got acquainted with me, meanwhile taking my bp's and doing the other procedural things.. Dr Sharma was equally impressive and introduced himself as well.. He commended me on following instructions as I brought some test results from the referring drs. office. The time spent with the dr was easy going and he was very methodical and caring while performing and asking me all the relevant questions to get to know my medical situation.. I am very pleased and won't dread coming back for my future appointments with Dr. Sharma and staff.. Thank you.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Super Team Effort  |  show details
Jul 26th, 2012

The entire team at Dr Sharma's office was easy to understand, efficient, caring, and courteous. The staff goes the extra mile to aid in my healthcare.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Wonderful Dr. with Wonderful staff  |  show details
Jul 23rd, 2012

I got Compassionate care from the entire team at the Sharma Institute. They follow thru with all guidelines in a professional manner.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Excellent physician and staff  |  show details
Jul 19th, 2012

Doctor and staff do a great job with patient care, education, and courtesy.I appreciated that he uses alternative approaches to help with pain

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Horrible  |  show details
May 31st, 2012

dr sharma has no consideration for the younger patients . He is very rude . I waited for a total of 1 hr 30 minutes to be seen . Mind you I had my 8 month old son . I've been taking tramadol for 6 years now 26 years old have 3 bulging lower discs asked him for something stronger he told me no I'm to young . he kept me on tramadol 50 mg . If I am obligated to take a drug test which I did came up clean then why is it because of my age you can't give me a stronger medicine . Dr leal Tampa is a great doctor .

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Why you should use Dr.sharma  |  show details
Apr 27th, 2012

Michael Keoleian8219 S.W. 108th st Pl rdOcala, FL 344814/27/12I just wanted everybody to know what a professional Pain management doctor Sharma is. There staff consists of Sarah, Linda, Kayla and Dr.Sharma assistant Elkin. The office is fast paced and everyone handles the pressure like professional they are. From my first introductions with Dr.Sharma office, Sarah introduce herself to me, I find this to be the bench mark of a true professional. The office is always busy from open to close but you could not tell that from the way they staff operates because when they speak to you in person or on the phone they have a Smile on their face or a smile in there voice. You are treated like youre the only one there when they interact with you this goes from Sarah all the way to Dr. Sharma himself!! I recommend Dr.Sharma office for pain management one hundred percent because you are treated for both mentally and physical pain. Sincerely: Michael Keoleian

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Wonderful, Caring physician and office staff  |  show details
Mar 11th, 2012

He is a highly skilled physician. He takes the appropiate time to get to know me. He is looking out for your long term sucess. We are very blessed to have him in our community

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Talented Physician with great bedside manner  |  show details
Feb 22nd, 2012

Very easy to communicate and talk too. Listens very well. Cares about me and my condition.

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Personal  |  show details
Feb 20th, 2012

Great Doctor,is all I am going to say. But wished he would do follow up calls to his patients homes and discuss any questions a patient may have,I think that is important.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Exceptional Doctor  |  show details
Feb 14th, 2012

Exceptional physician, skilled practioner, easy to understand and contact.I will stick with him thru thick and thin

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Staff is great and empathic  |  show details
Jan 12th, 2012

Dr Sharma and his staff are awesom. They return call same day or within 24hrs. They do not put up with bad behavior and they should have too. Dr Sharma is an awesom doctot and his staff is equally as good

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Ignorant front office staff  |  show details
Jan 5th, 2012

Dr Sharma himself is a very kind, caring, knowledgeable, and professional physician. I have been a patient of his for several years. However, his front office staff is a whole other story. They are badly in need of some education of the specialty they are working in, so as they may develope the needed empathy and insight to properly care for and communicate with patients in need of that specialty. That staff is not professional or courteous in the least. Whenever I call with a problem between appointments, (and this is very infrequent), I am treated very coldly, they are very dismissive to my concerns, and I seldom recieve a call back when they assure me I will. I have also been called a liar, treated with the utmost disrespect and hostility, and as if I were a junkie from of the street, rather than a long time patient with legitimate longterm pain issues. The front desk seems to be jaded with the thought that all people on pain medication must be drug addicts and junkies as this is how they treat the patients. I have seen others treated in the same fashion I have described during my long waits to see the Dr. I already have to deal with my chronic pain daily and the knowledge that due to my disability I cannot run and play sports with my boys, along with the inability to do several other "normal" daily activities. The last thing I need is for the office staff of the doctor that prescribes me medication so I can at least control the pain enough to walk, to treat me as though I am a lower level human being. I have thought of leaving the practice several times.... however, as I said before, Dr Sharma is a great doctor. But, he really must consider either educating or replacing the front office staff for the sake of the patients and himself. Their bad attitude and lack of professionalism reflects poorly on him as well.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  STAFF  |  show details
Dec 9th, 2011

DR. SHARMA IS A GREAT DOCTOR....BUT HIS STAFF SHOULD BE FIRED...I WAS BELITTLED..INSULTED...DEGRADED...CALLED A LYER...ACCUSED OF BEING A DRUG ADDICT AND THE THEATENED WITH JAIL IF I GOT MEDS FROM ANOTHER DOCTOR...I AM AN OLD LADY WITH 6 DOCTORS AND MAJOR SURGERY..DON,T TALK TO ME LIKE I AM A TEENAGER DRUG ADDICT...SHAME ON YOU ALL

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 8th, 2011

Superior level of care and servicei would highly reccomend to you

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Not Good  |  show details
Oct 22nd, 2011

I would not recommend this pain management clinic to anyone. The clinic seems to be run with volume of patients as the main goal and very little time is actually spent with the doctor.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doctor  |  show details
Oct 6th, 2011

My experience with Dr. Sharma has been excellent. He listens and takes his time to try to treat my conditions. His staff is knowledgable and I am treated with respect when entering the office. I would recommend him to any patient.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Sep 23rd, 2011

Outstanding office, Outstanding staff.I am very pleased with the results. He explores all options of care and comes up the the best individual plan of care.I am pain free now after seeing him.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Sep 17th, 2011

Excellent staff, Excellent service,He got rid of my pain and im pain free now

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  The Patient!  |  show details
Jul 27th, 2011

Dr Sharma is a great Doctor. He takes the time to get to know his patients and understand them individually. He's the most kind, caring & respectful physician I have ever had. Unfortunately I moved far away. Thanks Dr Sharma for all your help.Sincerely, K Edwards (South Florida)

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Mar 27th, 2011

corteous staff, friendly atmosphere, easy to understand, easy to talk to, eassy to contact, very caring, would highly reccomend to you

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 19th, 2011

He is a very caring physician who is very easy to talk and communicate with. The service ive experienced at his new office makes my day each time I see him. I would highly reccomend his new office to anyone.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  great doctor  |  show details
Jan 20th, 2011

i was with doctor sharma 6 years he was always polite,caring,and generally concerned for my health. I would recommend him for pain management he is awesome, and caring manGary Reed

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 20th, 2010

new office is wonderful

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Sep 20th, 2010

Great care and expertise in his field.Very comprehensive in his examination and treatment plan. He delivered great care in treating my chronic pain condition.He used a holisitic approach to optimize my function.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Aug 2nd, 2010

he possesses an excellent knowledge base and he was able to relay complex medical information to me, in a clear and understandable way. he was courteous and compassionate with the care he provides.he offers a comprehensive approach to managing his patients care. i would recommend without a hesitation

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jul 16th, 2010

took the extra time and effort to get me thru my chronic pain conditionvery skilled in electrdiagnostic testinghighly recomend to anyone in pain

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jul 12th, 2010

superior care given

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  not impressed  |  show details
May 5th, 2010

I had histoplasmosis and still do, but it is in remision sort of right now. I had pain that wasn't treated and the hosto was not treated for 3 years, but finally I had to have a chest surgery that paralyzed my right diaphragm and left me w/ horible back and chest pain. My first visit was hopeful. I had been treated by a gp in Iowa who learned that I had always been spot on in my diagnosis of myself and had never lied to her. We had built that relationship over 5 years. It took 5 years to get that from her. I moved to FL and found dr Sharma and, like I said the first visit was hopeful.He and his assistant talked about my options and physical therapy and promised to make me feel better. I was on 5mg of percacet 2 times a day at that point and explained I tried to take half a pill not a whole pill, but even a whole pill didn't get rid of the pain. They were supportive and gave me back x rays saying to me I was sway backed and were suprised I didn't have lower back pain, but upper mid back pain instead.If you do research you learn that pain in that area is common in ppl w/ one or no diaphrames that work due to the extra muscles which pull on the back to expand the chest wall rather than using the diaphram itself. Plus, up to 80% of patients have residual pain for life and most of those are women.Well, x rays showed nothing as I knew they would since x rays show no muscle or tendon involvement. I have been round the block and my mom does research for her job so I am not stupid. Plus, I have had pet scans, bone scans, ct scans and mri's. They showed nothing. Anyway, he then became rude. His assistant was great. She was kind, even saying we made need to rais my pain meds. Pain meds taken a year become 25% less effective w/ in the first year so this would make sense. However, I then got Sharma again.I asked to switch to vicodin, I wont say why, but it was a lower fda classed drug and 1.5 times less strong than percecet. He proceded to tell me it was twice the dose of percacet and was telling me that I'd been on half a pill when I came in. Yes, and I told him I took one pill several times a day at times too and that it only dulled the pain, but I wanted to try vicadin. More research reveals that each effects brain receptors in different ways so even if percacet is stronger vicadin can work better if your receptors are set up that way. He then gave me the look of death and began treating me like an addict. Of course w/ these meds there is always some addiction to them when you are on them 2 plus years. Duh, but I have real pain and bad pain and I wanted to try something new to see if it would be better and being a lower class drug than percacet I thought he would be happy not get out right mad and accusatory and give me inaccurate drug information on the differences of the two.I left almost in tears. He not only gave me to few pills then what I was needing. He threatened me w/ random drug tests, which I was told on my first visit were monthly tests not random. He then went on to threatened to stop them all together (I could understand why he had t do this do to the reason I wanted to try vicadin, but not in the vicious way he did, I could have lied, addicts lie, they don't tell the truth and not hide stuff), despite me being suicidal just two months ago before he changed my depression dose on my first visit.Since each time I have seen him every visit w/ him got worse. His assistant is so kind and understanding. Still, nothing has come further of physical therapy or other treatment options since the first visit. In fact, Sharma himself had to ask me if he had given me an xray of my back. Um, isn't that in the file?Not to mention I asked and signed for my dr notes and several months later have not gotten them. I am afraid to switch because I don't want to be a dr shopper or labeled as such. I wish I could get his assistant all the time. Do not get started w/ this man.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Mar 29th, 2010

cured my back pain without surgery

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Mar 23rd, 2010

exceptional care is given

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Mar 22nd, 2010

caring, easy to understand, knowledgable

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 10th, 2009

He was mean, told me that I didnt have anything wrong w/ me.. would not except my test results and then called me a drug addict / i wouldnt send anyone to this man... his assistant has more manners then he does.. he is a very arrogant man....

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse