The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Arnold Smith Is this you?

Filter Reviews

15 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.0
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
42.2 min
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Arnold Smith?

Showing 12 of 15 Ratings

Excellent doctor and surgeon

Posted on August 6th, 2016

Regardless of any negative reviews....since everyone has differing views on personality, etc....this doctor is the most experienced and qualified spine surgeon in this area. Many of the new doctors refuse to treat the entire patient, focusing only on the test result reports, which can sometimes be interpreted incorrectly. This doctor looks at the patient as a whole person and listens to what you explain regrding your pain. So even if a test result is inconclusive, but you are living a life of complete pain, he doesn't write you off and continues to investigate the cause of your pain. He has since retired from performing surgery, but continues to see and evaluate patients for spine issues. If a patient requires surgery, he will refer the patient to another collegue who he trusts, not just any surgeon available. Some reviews complained about the wait time....sometimes you might have to wait a little to be seen, but Dr. Smith will never cut your appointment short just because he is behind schedule. He will spend whatever time you need and answer any questions you have. He is one of the rare few doctors who still treats each person as a whole, not just a "file number" with a scheduled appointment to read your test result.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

FORMER & PRESENT PATIENT OF DR. GRAHAM-SMITH

Posted on March 9th, 2013

I want to say first that Dr. Arnold Graham-Smith is one of the greatest Spine Physicians around. You might as well say he "saved my life" in 1992 when he performed a 7 1/2 hour L5-S1 Spinal Fusion on my back. He is very concerned about his patients, does everything possible to get them the help they need. He tells you like it is, which I love. Wouldn't you rather have a Physician like that? Dr. Graham-Smith isn't operating anymore, but will make sure you get to a reputable, conscientious, professional Dr who can help you. I thought he was fantastic 20 years ago, and he still is.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Life Changing

Posted on November 18th, 2012

I was refered to Dr. G. Smith, because me spine Dr. did not treat SI Joints. From my first visit through surgery, follow-up until my last visit, I loved this Dr. The staff was great, Dr.spent over an hour with me. Exlained everything about the surgery. My life has been changed, I can sleep, sit, walk without pain. Thank you.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

STAY AWAY FROM THIS RUDE, DOCTOR

Posted on May 19th, 2012

Bedside manner is every bit as important as being a good doctor. This man is rude, demeaning, hateful and just plain MEAN. I called early one evening to tell him that a new med he put me on was causing serious side effects - his ans. was "KEEP TAKING IT - AND HE HUNG UP ON ME". I cried. After 4 days of this - he refused to talk to me - I called poison control information and was told to get to the ER immediately - I had EVERY possible side effect listed for this drug. I arrived to learn that my potassium level was low enough it could have caused my death at any moment, I was hallucinating, dropping things, could not hear (fluid buildup in ears) - just extremely sick. Very dehydrated. I spent 24 hours in ER getting 6 bags of Potassium and fluids. The nurse told me that I could have died within a matter of hours. I refused to allow him to see me again - nurses are afraid of him, his own staff is afraid of him - so stay away from this ego maniac. He thinks he's God and NO ONE can tell him anything. When I think he nealry cost me my life - I just shake with fear. DON'T USE THIS MAN. WHO NEEDS TO PAY SOMEONE TO BE MEAN AND RUDE TO YOU??? Anytime I mention him, doctors and nurses tell me he has not changed at all. I wouldn't allow him to doctor my DOG! This is NOT out of revenge, it's to save someone else the suffering I went through.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Ego.. . . Run, don't walk!

Posted on August 5th, 2011

This individual is not there to fix you, he is there to induldge his EGO. What a crying shame to take a suffering person down a path of confusion, belittlement(he is God), and stuck in a corner because he is supposedly the only Surgeon to perform a certain SI joint proceedure. Mentally seemed confused and should retire, but again ego won't let him. . . . Very Scary. One of the worst experiences ever; loss of money and time.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Shoddy Person, but Great Surgeon

Posted on June 21st, 2011

I would trust him to operate on me but would never give someone the expectation that he was a nice man, he's not...ever. A true Dr. Jekyll Mr. Hyde. Won't treat me properly or respectfully but expects me to pay him. Instead- I see his wife for physical therapy and go to a pain mgmnt for the rest. I'd allow him to operate on me again, but I would never speak to him beyond that event.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Worst doctor ever

Posted on August 23rd, 2010

do your homework, he lied to me, has horrible statements about patients, wait is hours long, he thinks he is God, heard he is responsible for the death of one patient and has seriously harmed many others, thank goodness my husband learned this before his surgery and cancelled

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 7th, 2016

One Star

Posted on February 17th, 2013

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on September 12th, 2012

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on June 15th, 2012

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on August 28th, 2011

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Arnold Smith is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Jacksonville, FL.