Dr. Arshad Sheikh MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Takoma Park, MD

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.1)

23 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    65%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    26%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 19.2 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 13th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I've been a satisfied patient for many years. I've recommended my friends and they agree. I love my doctor. He inspires me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 14th, 2016
Dee
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Caring physician. Excellent surgeon. Could not ask for better care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2016
THE BEST OBGYN
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I LOVE DOCTOR SHEIKH! I WOULD NOT TRUST ANY OTHER DOCTOR WITH MY BODY. HE TAKES HIS TIMES, EDUCATES ME, AND EXPLAINS TO ME IN DETAIL WHATS GOING ON AND ANSWERS ALL OF MY QUESTIONS. ALSO VERY PATIENT WITH ME BECAUSE I AM NOT ONE TO ACCEPT PAIN WELL...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2016
Patient for over 20 years
Dr. Sheikh is a wonderful doctor. He's patient, kind, very knowledgeable GYN. When I call for appts his staff is very professional and helpful. Dr. Sheikh is a man of integrity, and he has the best be side manners I have ever experienced. I am so blessed to have a doctor like him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 4th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best Dr. I have ever seen... be blessed always
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
January 23rd, 2015
Good doctor and have time to take care of is patients and doing good job for csection
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 16th, 2013
Couldn't recommend with a clean conscience
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wish I had heeded negative reviews before seeing Dr. Sheikh. Condescending and disrespectful. Even tried to pass judgment on me for my taking an antidepressant, although I've gone from 100 mg to 37 mg with only the health of my unborn baby in mind. Rude much? Also, apparently I should avoid sweets and only be gaining 2 lbs a month. I weigh 140 lbs at 3 months pregnant and 5'5" tall. My sugar intake consists of an overindulgence in mandarin oranges. And really, 18 lbs heavier at 9 months would be a dream, but a medical urgency it is not. What a joke! The only really "doctoring" he did was check for the baby's heartbeat *reluctantly* as "it's probably too early." I'm not 3 weeks, I'm 3 MONTHS. Lazy and incompetent. Office staff was rude, not only to me but to every patient who called in. If I wasn't getting mean-mugged I was completely ignored. I should have left as soon as the doc make his introduction: You live in ***. Why don't you find someone closer? When you're in labor you won't make it in time. I live 15 miles away. My previous OBGYN referred me to Dr. Sheikh as he himself no longer delivers. They must be drinking buddies or something.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2013
Great Doctor recommended by a nurse.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was looking for a doctor when my husband and I were trying to have a baby. I was referred to anothor doctor, whom I could not get an appointment with for over a month. That nurse recmmeneded Dr. Sheikh. He is very knowledgeable. Once pregnant, he was very attentive and on point with all my questions and body changes. He calls in my prescriptions, do I do not have to wait when I need to pick one up. Great doctor.

5.0 of 5
November 14th, 2012
I Love Dr. Sheikh!
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Sheikh for many years, well before I had children. He was the one who delivered both of my children. He was great throughout both pregnancies and deliveries. He has always treated me kindly, and explained diagnoses, procedures, etc. He always returns my calls. He is gentle, understanding and so easy to talk to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 25th, 2012
I was really upset
Wait time
20.0 minutes
This doctor told me that I wasn't going to last with my pregnancy past five months, and that I should transfer to another doctor. He told me this because of my past history. I asked him why he thought this and he couldn't tell me why.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 8th, 2011
Best GYN in town
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've known Dr. Shiekh for many years. He has an open door policy --of course with an appointment or you can call his office and leave a message. He excellent with diagnosing any problems. His prescriptions always work, he honest and sincere. I love him and if you are looking for an excellent GYN you will not have any regrets choosing him as your primary Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 1st, 2011
Never visit Dr Sheihk
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I will never recommend Dr. Sheikh. I choose him for my pregnancy, after seeing him for 2 months I switched as well!I had lab work done, results showed bacteria, however; Dr. Sheikh nor his employees contact me about the negative results. I was never told until I returned for my next month visit! Thats right 1 month later!He claims he is not able to be available for his patients 365 days a year (not that I asked him too, whos pregnant 365 days?)I had an emergency during my pregnancy; he was NO WHERE TO BE FOUND OR REACHED! His so-called covering physician was very unprofessional, and rude. My husband and I both called over 5 times and she NEVER returned our call.Dr. Sheikh finally called back about 12 hours later, basically he told me to expect to be seen by his partners that his practice does not have a one on one policy. As a matter of a fact he told me to find a doctor I liked because chances are high he will not be available in the future for emergency calls and there was a HIGH chance of him not even being able to deliver my baby but one of his partners would. I stressed to Dr. Sheikh that my preference was to deal with my doctor and not his partner who was completely unaware of my medical history as well as the fact that there were previous negative lab results (which I was still awaiting results.) His response: find another doctor you like and one that can be available for me 365 days a year! I asked about my results, he had no idea what they were, he was also unaware if he even called in my pre-natal vitamins after the third month of my pregnancy, and 2 months worth of visit.What a horrible experience. Pick another docor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Arshad Sheikh, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Takoma Park, MD.