Dr. Arthur Balin MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology Media, PA

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 1.6)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    46%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    42%
  • Wait Time 55.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 10th, 2016
You will wait 4-5hrs
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Initial apptm I waited 4 hours to be seen. Took 5 hrs for total apptm. Next apptm waited 3 hrs in wait room. Then another 45 min in the Doctor office for 15 min apptm. When I got in the office I could see the previous patients pictures of his head (I assume where he'd had areas looked at). It made me wonder if my pictures (full body -yikes!) were left up for the next patient to see. The nurses/secretaries were very nice & apologetic. Dr. Balin has no personality. Other people in the waiting room said they often wait 3-5hrs for their apptm. I was told he has strange hours. One person in the waiting room said they left the office at 4am after a procedure. Seems like this is somewhat normal.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 7th, 2015
Just Don't Do It - I've never seen anything like this man
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went to Dr. Balin about 5 times one year. EVERY time was left sitting in the waiting room for over 3-4 hours past my appointment time before being seen. EVERY mole was "suspicious" - that part didn't bother me, better safe than sorry. However, when a Dr. comes right out and says "Do you want to use MY GOOD lab, or the questionable lab your insurance covers?" -- My guard goes up immediately. I truly believe he is getting a kick back from his GOOD LAB. Who would say - "No, I'll use the bad lab" when it comes to our health? Rude, no bedside manner, outright demeaning attitude. I would never go to this man again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 9th, 2013
Unsettling Experience
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Like others before me, I found my experience with Dr Balin to be odd: unbearable waits (3-4hrs) before being seen; surgery at strange hours 8p-12a, accurate diagnosis but horrible/excessive scars and overly conservative diagnoses (i.e., a 2nd & 3rd opinion regarding need for follow-up on moles resulted in 2 "no action required" whereas Dr. Balin wanted to remove the moles plus assess 2-3 afterwards). I have since sought care elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 5th, 2012
Worth waiting for!!!
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Balin is totally committed to providing the best care, and because of that, you must be willing to wait extended periods of time for his service. He is worth every minute, every hour of time you sacrifice!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 19th, 2012
Waitime
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First visit waited 2.5 hours be before seeing Dr Balin.Second visit waited 2 hours before seeing Dr Balin.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 29th, 2012
Absolute Horror
Wait time
60 minutes
I was told by his very endearing staff to block 4 hours for the visit. I wasn't seen until 4 1/2 hours, when I explained this to the extremely rude Dr. Balin he was silent. He offered no apology, no consideration for the amount of time I had spent waiting. He is a horror of a man and I ended up walking out without an exam because I would not allow his inexcusable self to lay a hand on me!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 16th, 2012
Horrible experience!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Do NOT waste your time making an apt here. You will wait over 3 hrs! Save the time and see someone else!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 24th, 2012
He should be investigated...
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I can't believe that Dr. Balin has any return patients. Wait time is outrageous. Waited until 12 midnight for surgery, leaving building at 5 AM!! My scar is horrible but can't afford "elective" plastic surgery. Won't close wound after MOHS on same day like other derm Drs. There is an awesome Derm Dr. in the same complex, go to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 12th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's a total butcher, and everything he sees is "precancer" and must be removed to the point of needing stitches. He scars up your entire body, rather than refer you to a plastic surgeon. His staff schedules appointments then you sit for 4+ hours waiting to be called. He needs to have his license revoked.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 11th, 2012
Worth the Wait
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Balin is very knowledgeabel about his specialty. He is meticulous and explains everything well and answers all questions. I was very satisfied with the quality of care and will continue to see him for annual check ups. It takes him a while to warm up to.There is usually a long wait for an appt; call ahead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 25th, 2011
best MOHS surgeon
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
skin cancer on my face - Dr. Balin removed it using the MOHS technique. Hardly any scarring - wouldn't trust anyone else with my skin!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2011
Attorney
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office visits take a long time. However he does fantastic work. I've had multiple MOHS surgeries on my face and the scars have healed such that they are hardly noticeable. If I have to have facial surgeries my exclusive concern is how it will look when it heals. I could not be happier with the results. Dr. Balin takes a long time, but to me its worth wht wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Arthur Balin, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Media, PA.