Dr. Athanasius George MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Germantown, MD

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.4 (-0.1)

32 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    78%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    6%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 26.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 9th, 2017
Doesn't honor appointments
Wait time
60 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
I don't know if Dr George is good at medicine, but he's terrible at customer service. Sat in his office for 81 minutes without explanation of or concern for the delay. Never saw him. Gave up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 9th, 2017
Great, Caring Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He helped me. Dr. George was professional, courteous, and kind while explaining what was happening with my eyes. I was referred to him from the ER after a contact lens ripped and left me in a lot of pain. Fortunately, there was no major scratch or damage done. I did find out I had an eye condition which was causing me to have dry eyes and probably shouldn't wear contacts any more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. George besides being superb -I owe my eyesight to him! - he is not a..'modern day' doctor who wants you in and out fast to get the next patient. He SPENDS time with you and explains everything. Honestly, he is THE doctor for me and my family!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Very professional and thoroughly attentive consultation which I highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2014
Best eye doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. George is extremely meticulous during his exams. My husband, our two children and I are all patients of Dr. George. He is the most thorough opthamologist I have ever visited. His staff are very accommodating, too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 13th, 2012
I recommend this doctor
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I called his office because I was seeing floaters. The staff told me that that was urgent and asked me to get to the office right away. They squeezed me in between other appointments. Dr. George spent a lot of time checking my eyes, and he again spent all the time needed and answered all my questions during the follow-ups. His staff is also very friendly and I like to chat with them while I'm in the waiting room. Since I am his patient, I recommended him to other people who were looking for a good eye doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2012
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor spent time listening to my concerns and giving the right diagnosis. This doctor is worth visiting. You may spend a little extra time in the office, but that is because this doctor care about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
September 30th, 2011
Great doctor terrible office!
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor himself is great- the office staff on the other hand is terrible. I had issues filing a claim because they were out of network. The office manager refused to provide me with information making me play phone tag with another staff member. Like the doctor- but the inconvenience is not worth it.

1.0 of 5
March 15th, 2010
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
did not spend enough time to do a thorough exam and test to get the prescription right. needed to get the eye retested after an expensive faulty pair of eyeglasses were made. had to pay for the second pair again.

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
He is one of the nicest and most talented doctors that i have ever gotten treatment from. His work is so profound, yet at the same time he is modest. Anyone that has a problem with their eye should definetly see Dr. George.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 13th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Athanasius George, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Germantown, MD.