The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Babak Lami Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Babak Lami?

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren’s contracture is a thickening of the tissue beneath the skin of the palm of your hand

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Babak Lami?

Ratings and Reviews

37 Ratings with 12 Comments

  • Excellent
    27
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    27
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 37 Ratings with 12 Comments

1.0 Rating

May 19th, 2017

Worst Decision I Have Ever Made!

I was referred to Dr. Lami by another doctor. It turned out to be a big mistake. I now am struggling in recovery and I believe some of it has to do with Dr. Lami. He would not perform surgery on me after over a year of having symptoms. So I went to a second opinion and after 5 minutes they said I needed surgery.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 16th, 2017

Highly Recommend

Dr. Lami has come through for me big time. With the knowledge he gained from my MRI, he performed a successful out-patient laminectomy at L4-L5. He involved my wife in how to help me recover and provided 100% professionalism with great bedside manner. Along with his staff, especially physical therapist Dave Bragg, I have had tremendous results recovering from my injury. I couldn't be happier. I would recommend Dr. Lami and Illinois Spine Institute to anyone!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 14th, 2016

Dr Lami is a very conservative surgeon- I was offered sugery by another surgeon. I saw Dr Lami for a 2nd opinion- he also offered other options for me.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 7th, 2016

Great doctor!

Tremendous doctor who did my neck surgery. I'm very happy with the results.My arm pain and numbness are gone. Highly recommend. Thank you Dr.Lami

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 7th, 2016

Kind and skilled

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 19th, 2016

Nope. Pick anyone else.

I was referred to Dr. L. by an orthopedic surgeon who did not address spinal issues. I followed my GP's instructions and his staff's instruction and showed up with an MRI. Unfortunately, I live in a rural area and had my MRI done on a mobile truck. Dr. Lami threw a temper tantrum at me because the films weren't clear enough. Exactly how does a non medical person know beforehand that MRI's done on a truck are inferior? After his hissy fit I tried to explain my symptoms and he treated me as though I was a complete idiot. He would not listen and gave me the bum's rush out of there. He didn't even write an Rx for another, clearer MRI! It was imperative that I saw a spine surgeon (according to my GP and two other ortho docs) due to two factors: a) I was in extreme pain and b) I am an orchestral conductor and was unable to continue to work. I did find a doc who performed surgery (I did get new MRI films) and healed just fine. His attitude was alarming. I'm not sure someone with such anger issues should be wielding a scalpel.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 6th, 2016

ms
Wait time
5 minutes

5.0 Rating

April 15th, 2015

Dr.LAMI IS FANTASTIC SURGEON

Dr. Lami is a fantastic Physician and provides excellent diagnosis and care. He really cares about his patients takes the time to listen. He has performed back and neck surgery on me and i'm very satisfied with the results. I would highly recommend him!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 27th, 2014

Rushed, didn't listen, poor advice

Very disappointed in first appt with him. He told me I should consider a career change, said my pain "isn't that bad" because u wasn't doubled over in pain, didn't let me talk or explain my concerns, and exam was minimal, at best. I received better care from the ER docs. Will NEVER return, nor recommend to anyone.

Doctor's Response

The patient was evaluated thoroughly-- He was not a surgical candidate and was told so-- The patient is dissatisfied because there was no surgical solution

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 9th, 2011

Kind and skilled physician and surgeon

I saw a few physicians before I saw Dr. Lami. He took the time to actually show me my the MRI and explain it to me in simple language. We tried physical therapy and shots first but they did not work for me. He did my surgery using the arthoscopic technique. I was out the hospital a few hours later with no sciatic pain. Dr. Lami is sofe spoken and speaks in simple terms and is very frank about the outcomes of any treatment. The staff were also super friendy

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 6th, 2011

Very caring doctor, excellent with minimally invasive surgeries, worked with me on payment.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2011

He listens and answers questions

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Babak Lami is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Schaumburg, IL.

  • Dr. Hasham Alvi

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Schaumburg, IL 0.55 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    7
  • Dr. Russell Benuck

    Dr. Russell Benuck

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Schaumburg, IL 0.55 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    7
  • Dr. Paul Nourbash

    Dr. Paul Nourbash

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Schaumburg, IL 0.55 mi

    4.8
    (106)
    25