The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Bakul Roy Is this you?

Filter Reviews

18 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.3
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
  • 3
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bakul Roy?

Showing 12 of 18 Ratings

0 Out of 5

Posted on February 1st, 2017

I DON'T RECOMMEND HIM.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Half Knowledge Guy

Posted on February 1st, 2017

Never recommend anyone.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent MD! Great at diagnosing hard to define illnesses.

Posted on March 25th, 2015

I first met Dr. Roy when my wife had a mysterious blood infection and she was hospitalized while several tests were run. No other dr could figure out exactly what was wrong, but Dr. Roy did right away and literally saved her life. I liked his bedside manner and was so impressed with his knowledge, I decided to make him my primary care physician as well. Dr. Roy tells you exactly like it is. He doesn't play games, he goes directly for what the issue is at hand even if its not what you WANT to hear. If an illness is beyond his scope of expertise, he has no qualms about referring a patient to an appropriate physician to take over care of said illness. I have never had to wait more than 5 minutes to be called back to a room and then not more than 5 minutes after that before I see Dr. Roy in the room. He is thorough. He explains everything at a level I can understand and even states his belief of why he believes something is happening prior to ordering testing to confirm his diagnosis. I have moved all over the Bay Area, but I will not stop seeing Dr. Roy as my primary care doctor as long as he is in practice in the SF Bay area!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 11th, 2012

Wonderful doctor and staff. Can't say enough good things about him ad his practice.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on November 26th, 2011

His style is different than Dr. Kleinman's, but not worse just different. He is thorough and he takes following up seriously. He is kind, listens and answers questions. His staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. My wait time was so short I barely had time to open my magazine before I was called in.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Previous Patient (He's not Kleinman)

Posted on January 8th, 2011

He sticks to a regimented schedule and does not offer additional time once your 15 minutes are up. His ego cannot handle patients researching symptoms and quickly discredits findings. In my case I brought in a 5 year history of symptoms and family history for my spouse (because he was new to the practice and would not have know it) he bluntly said he has time to address 2 questions only. I said I thought my spouse had Hashimoto's Thyoroiditis because... He sai autoimmune in men is rare and was not following CURRENT TSA ranges for findings. He said, your husband is morbidly obese ( I brought a pic 6 months earlier to show not true) if he loses weight he will be fine. After a shouting match insued when I demanded a referral to a Endocrinologist I got one and was right, Hashimoto's Thyoritis!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Superb Family Physician

Posted on September 29th, 2010

Dr. Roy is compassionate and extremely competent. He is a doctor who puts a premium on his patients care and communicates very well with patients. We are confident that as our PCP he will make the best decisions for the health of our family as he does with all of his patients. We feel very lucky to be patients of Dr. Bakul Roy.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 21st, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on April 9th, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on August 3rd, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on May 18th, 2015

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on December 3rd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Bakul Roy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Ramon, CA.