The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Barbara Walsh Is this you?
  • 10
  • 0
  • 3
  • 1
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
40.2 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Barbara Walsh?


18 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

January 31st, 2017

Dr. Walsh delivered me and my mother was her 5th patient. I have been going to Dr Walsh since I was 13. She also delivered my miracle baby. I have also seen Dr Allison Walsh. Wonderful bedside manners and very caring. I love the staff as well.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

April 14th, 2016

Long wait times, rude staff, Dr is always interrupted, etc etc etc

I respect Dr. Walsh's knowledge and expertise, but she has lost her way. I have gone to her for over 15 years and she delivered my daughter of which it was by a matter of seconds that she almost missed being in the delivery room. However I felt that when Dr. Walsh was present that she did everything to properly deliver and protect the safety of both me and my baby. For that I am grateful. Fast fwd Five years later, I can no longer tolerate her rude support staff, medical assistant, and over scheduling of appointments. There is no respect for patients' time and to expect your patients to just and wait for Dr. Walsh indefinitely with no communication to the waiting patients, tells me money must trump everything. I showed up this week for my appointment to a waiting room full of patients. Only after insisting on an estimated wait time, was I advised there were 9 appointments ahead of me still to be seen!! This isn't the first time this has happened either, but it is the last time. Best of luck Dr. Walsh.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

January 20th, 2016

Dr Barbara Walsh and NP Nancy Arnold are wonderful. The staff (reception, and check-in) are certainly not. I will lose my patience and seek another doctor soon if this does not improve.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 23rd, 2015

May I have a few minutes of your time. Vitals.com is the only forum I have for telling as many women as possible that the Board Certified OB/GYNs of Mercy actually allow residents (not fully trained and definitely not Board Certified doctors) to perform complete surgical procedures on their purposely neglected to be told, totally unsuspecting, anesthetized patients.. For your procedure it may only be part, but whichever is the case, if your doctor has not told you specifically what part of a surgical procedure the resident is doing then your doctor has perpetrated something called "ghost surgery". "Ghost surgery" is the act of substituting one surgeon for another surgeon, supervised residents included, for any or part of a surgical procedure without the express consent of a patient who has essentially hired a specific doctor to treat them. "Ghost surgery" is considered fraud and battery of a patient (U.S. Supreme Court, 1983). Something else to seriously consider is that risks/rates of complications definitely go up when residents are involved in surgery. Perfectly logical really when you consider that many aspects of a gyno procedure can be completely blind: critical bladder dissection, vault suspension, a d&c ,etc. So, how on earth can your doctor supervise that? My little bit of research also led me to the ugly discovery that residents will be allowed to do invasive bi-manual pelvic exams on you while you're in a lithotomy position and anesthetized. The Mercy doctors' thinking is you will be perfectly relaxed and excellent practice for the residents. These pelvic exams without your express consent are against the law in 4 states. HI, for example, found numerous incidences of bruised cervices, torn and abraded tissue, and countless infections. While these pelvic exams aren't against the law in MO, I found this practice to be so grossly unethical, I could scarcely believe it. Shouldn't the well being of a patient always come first? Then there is #4 on your consent form. Your "certified provider" (aka your Board Certified OB/GYN of Mercy) thinks it's okay to tell you a resident may be involved, or maybe a resident will walk in minutes before your surgery and say, Hi, I'm the resident". The doctors of Mercy think this covers their responsibility to you. It doesn't. Hopefully, I have added some info and good luck with your decision.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

November 4th, 2013

No frills.

Dr. Walsh is a down to earth physician. No fancy office, no unecessary testing, no hype. She spends as much time with you as needed. No more, no less. I feel well taken care of when I leave.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2010

Dr. Walsh is a wonderful doctor. When your looking for a doctor who will treat you like a person and not a file - she is it. She's awesome!I've been going to her for over ten years.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 10th, 2017

5.0 Rating

November 16th, 2015

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2015

3.7 Rating

January 21st, 2015

5.0 Rating

December 30th, 2014

5.0 Rating

October 16th, 2014

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Barbara Walsh is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Saint Louis, MO.

  • Dr. Corey Wagner

    Dr. Corey Wagner

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Gynecology

    Saint Louis, MO 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    9
  • Dr. Carolyn Martin

    Dr. Carolyn Martin

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Saint Louis, MO 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    41
  • Dr. Laura Pignotti

    Dr. Laura Pignotti

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Obstetrics

    Saint Louis, MO 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (8)
    8