Dr. Barbara Walsh MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Saint Louis, MO

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

16 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    56%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Wait Time 36.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
April 13th, 2016
Long wait times, rude staff, Dr is always interrupted, etc etc etc
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I respect Dr. Walsh's knowledge and expertise, but she has lost her way. I have gone to her for over 15 years and she delivered my daughter of which it was by a matter of seconds that she almost missed being in the delivery room. However I felt that when Dr. Walsh was present that she did everything to properly deliver and protect the safety of both me and my baby. For that I am grateful. Fast fwd Five years later, I can no longer tolerate her rude support staff, medical assistant, and over scheduling of appointments. There is no respect for patients' time and to expect your patients to just and wait for Dr. Walsh indefinitely with no communication to the waiting patients, tells me money must trump everything. I showed up this week for my appointment to a waiting room full of patients. Only after insisting on an estimated wait time, was I advised there were 9 appointments ahead of me still to be seen!! This isn't the first time this has happened either, but it is the last time. Best of luck Dr. Walsh.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
January 20th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Barbara Walsh and NP Nancy Arnold are wonderful. The staff (reception, and check-in) are certainly not. I will lose my patience and seek another doctor soon if this does not improve.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2015
May I have a few minutes of your time. Vitals.com is the only forum I have for telling as many women as possible that the Board Certified OB/GYNs of Mercy actually allow residents (not fully trained and definitely not Board Certified doctors) to perform complete surgical procedures on their purposely neglected to be told, totally unsuspecting, anesthetized patients.. For your procedure it may only be part, but whichever is the case, if your doctor has not told you specifically what part of a surgical procedure the resident is doing then your doctor has perpetrated something called "ghost surgery". "Ghost surgery" is the act of substituting one surgeon for another surgeon, supervised residents included, for any or part of a surgical procedure without the express consent of a patient who has essentially hired a specific doctor to treat them. "Ghost surgery" is considered fraud and battery of a patient (U.S. Supreme Court, 1983). Something else to seriously consider is that risks/rates of complications definitely go up when residents are involved in surgery. Perfectly logical really when you consider that many aspects of a gyno procedure can be completely blind: critical bladder dissection, vault suspension, a d&c ,etc. So, how on earth can your doctor supervise that? My little bit of research also led me to the ugly discovery that residents will be allowed to do invasive bi-manual pelvic exams on you while you're in a lithotomy position and anesthetized. The Mercy doctors' thinking is you will be perfectly relaxed and excellent practice for the residents. These pelvic exams without your express consent are against the law in 4 states. HI, for example, found numerous incidences of bruised cervices, torn and abraded tissue, and countless infections. While these pelvic exams aren't against the law in MO, I found this practice to be so grossly unethical, I could scarcely believe it. Shouldn't the well being of a patient always come first? Then there is #4 on your consent form. Your "certified provider" (aka your Board Certified OB/GYN of Mercy) thinks it's okay to tell you a resident may be involved, or maybe a resident will walk in minutes before your surgery and say, Hi, I'm the resident". The doctors of Mercy think this covers their responsibility to you. It doesn't. Hopefully, I have added some info and good luck with your decision.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 4th, 2013
No frills.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Walsh is a down to earth physician. No fancy office, no unecessary testing, no hype. She spends as much time with you as needed. No more, no less. I feel well taken care of when I leave.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2010
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Walsh is a wonderful doctor. When your looking for a doctor who will treat you like a person and not a file - she is it. She's awesome!I've been going to her for over ten years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 16th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 20th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 30th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 15th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 5th, 2014

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Barbara Walsh, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Saint Louis, MO.