Dr. Barry Schaitkin MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    50%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    27%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 27.8 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 14th, 2015
Very competent, fast, effective and a very good listener: I feel very lucky to have found him
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Schaitkin by my PC to address an urgent condition. He saw me right away, took care of the problem rapidly and efficiently, and found the time to give me very helpful information and advice about the condition. I enjoyed the conversation and learned from it: it was an excellent experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 17th, 2015
Stay away.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Stay away. Can't diagnose. Removed turbinates which ought to be a crime. Refuses to refer to another doc when he can' figure out root cause.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did everything right! He even sent me to someone else, who he knew, would have the answers! Thank You
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 17th, 2014
great bedside manner
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
would send my grandma to him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2014
very satisfied
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was sent to see him from florida and it was worth the trip. he was the first doctor to completely understand my problem. wish he would move south
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2013
Great
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He diagnosed and then removed a stone from my saliva system, solved a problem bothered me for many years. Based on my experience, everything is good. He seems to be busy and does not talk too much, but as a patient, we need doctors' skills, not sweet words. I like and thus recommend this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor was extremely knowledgable about my condition. He explained everything and seemed to listen well. I have no doubt that he is the only doctor in my region could have accomplished this difficult procedure on me. I would send my mother and grandmother to him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 21st, 2012
less than expected
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor Schaitkin spent approximately 3-4 min with me..In the first three seconds of me talking, he said, Ahhh, we are not going to treat it..the rest of the time he spent writing on how much he did for me, so that he charged me $400.00 for the visit. Dr. repeated advice, which Oprah gave us on TV for free, with only difference that he charged $400.00 for this...All my attempts to call the office to discuss the charge of $400.00 were blocked by his money hungry, insensitive staff... No wonder, that I never come to this dr. again...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 16th, 2012
One of the worst Dr experiences..
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It took about 2 weeks for them to see me.The wait time was unbelievably long.After two seperate waiting rooms, I finally got to wait in a private waiting room which took another 25 mins for the 'doctor' to come in. Lol I swear he literally googled it on the computer while I sat there and read off some website which I had already read. That was pretty much it.Even though I am insured they somehow filed me in a way which I had to pay for the visit out of my pocket which I am still dealing with at the moment because they said their Revenue manager says they are unable to change it.. Does that sound fair to you?? Maybe your experiences with this doctor will be a little better but mine was a waste of money and time
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 18th, 2011
Secretary
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After seeing both of the reviews, I was hessitant on going to the appt but after my own experience I can tell you that both of the previous reviews I disagree with. He was very polite, answered all of my questions (I was prepared with my paper list)he explained the surgery and the after effects and what I should expect. His staff was just as nice and friendly, so for anyone who needs to see and ENT doctor I recommend you seeing Dr.Schaitkin( pronounced ShakeN)!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 16th, 2011
After surgery, made it worse.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He said that removal of the stone of the parotid gland was going to be easy. Afterwards, he actually said he ran out of time, left the stone in and made it worse. No follow up, nothing. However, our insurance company did get the bill for about $40,000.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 9th, 2009
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Obnoxious, cocky, rude and a terrible bedside manner. Find another MD
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Barry Schaitkin, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.

Doctor

Dr. Grant Gillman

28 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Ferris

20 years experience

3.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Shelly Mcquone

26 years experience

4.3 of 5