Dr. Bassam Shamma MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.5)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    72%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 8.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 7th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr shamma is by far the worst
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2015
Excellent physician
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is the best. I wouldn't go to anyone else. He is confident, very professional and trustful. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2013
Awesome doctor!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would absolutely recommend him to anyone!! I had complications during the end of my pregnancy and had to deliver 3.5 weeks early, he and his staff were incredible!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2013
Fantastic, very impressive
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shamma is great. His office is in Thomas Memorial. For those who have negative comments, I'm guessing you are referring to the other Dr. Shamma who is also an OB GYN. Our first visit he spent an hour and a half with us. You always see him, not someone else. He does his own ultrasounds and is extremely thorough. He was very in tune to our needs, and cared about our questions and concerns. My husband really likes him also.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 20th, 2013
He is awesome !!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There wasn't anything I disliked about Dr. Shamma's office. He is awesome along with the nurse & receptionist. I never had to wait & really liked that I seen Dr. Shamma every single appointment. He is very thorough & knows exactly what he is doing. I would recommend him to everyone. He was great delivering our big baby boy as well. I will not use another doctor besides him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 1st, 2011
Wonderful doctor!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Shamma by another wonderful doctor, Dr.Betty Goad when I became pregnant. My husband and I couldn't be happier with the quality of care that he is providing. He listens and adresses our concerns and shows excitement for my pregnancy. My husband and I are blessed to have such an amazing doctor! I would recommend Dr. Shamma to anyone! I dont understand the negative comments on this page. There has to be more to the story than what is being posted. It's terrible to write negative things about a professional without sharing the whole story. People should attempt to destroy others reputations without fairly stating all facts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2011
Great OB/GYN
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Shamma now for over 5 years. I was referred to him from my previous OB/GYN who was no longer delivering. I had a very hard time with pregnancy. I have had several problems conceiving. Dr. Shamma was very helpful when it came to my previous conceiving issues. He was always available whenever I needed him. I have never waited more than 5 minutes to be brought back to the examining room. He takes his time with me and does not make me feel rushed. I would recommend him to anyone is need of an excellent OB/GYN.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2011
Thorough and timely examination, testing, surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Shamma by another OBGYN for a diVinci type surgery. I found Dr. Shamma to be very thorough and timely in determining what was going on in my situation. He did the ultra sounds himself and not a PA. I was pleased with the tests ordered to further determine the status of my situation. He explained clearly to my husband and myself my situation, his finding, our options, surgery plans and no pressure. My condition was as he had suspected and was corrected. He doesnt overbook patients and than is very much appreicated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 12th, 2011
Haven't given birth yet and very nervous!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
was recommended Dr. Shamma from Thomas Hospital after finding out I was pregnant. We chose him, because we could not get ahold of the doctor recommended from family. First visit went great, but second I waited in the lobby longer than he had me in the back. I felt rushed. then third visit it was like he ignored me. The only thing I can ever remember him commenting to me about was my weight. "Apparently I needed to stop eating gravy!" Although I haven't gained weight and lost some he still tells me I should lose more. I always have these questions I want to ask, but every visit is so rushed that I forget. I will admit since I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes, he has been more attentive. I hear some people say he is great, but I don't know. The only reason why I haven't changed yet is because my husband says he thinks he just don't have people skills and push comes to shove in the end will prove to be a good doctor. I hope he is correct!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 20th, 2009
Hes a poor doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He lies after sergury saying everything was easy and smooth then tells me 2 days later he had problums removing everythig. i was the hardest people hes had removing linning ect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 9th, 2009
Great Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Know His Job, and Works Well In Emergencies.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Bassam Shamma, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near South Charleston, WV.

Doctor

Dr. Kiran Patel

29 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michaela Kessler

14 years experience

4.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Andrea Hill

18 years experience

4.6 of 5