ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ben Cohen Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ben Cohen?

Chronic Dry Eye

Get the facts about chronic dry eye, including the causes, symptoms and doctors who treat this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ben Cohen?

Ratings and Reviews

27 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
49.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 27 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2016

Dr. Cohen has been my doctor for the past 8 1/2 years. Yes I've waited in his office for hours at times, but I wouldn't trust anyone else with my eye. He is professional, respectful and truly cares for his patients. I've called him at all hours day and night and he's always answered me. He has come in on off hours to see me and I believe would do this for any of his patients. If I need him to spend time with me during my visit, he sits there and listens to my concerns. I'm never rushed.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2016

After reading all these glowing reviews, it occurred to me that if all you sheep left because your time is just as important as Emperor Cohen's time, maybe he would realize he would have to change his behavior- judging by the packed waiting room, all this guy cares about( like most doctors) is the almighty dollar- he is a disgrace to the medical profession-

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 14th, 2016

CAN'T FIND BETTER!

He is an extremely dedicated doctor. He opened his office at 6PM Saturday night of a 4 day holiday weekend and again 9AM on Sunday because of me. I had a retina detachment and the attention and care he gave me was nothing short of spectacular. I had the successful surgery to re-attach the retina a few days later and have had the same experience through the post op time. The wait in his office for regular visits may be long but it is because many have discovered there is no one better to see. Incidentally post op patients are given priority. His staff is as good as he is.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 11th, 2016

Never got to see the doctor- after waiting 11/2 hours- was told the appt would take 2--3 hours! No one mentioned this when the appt was made- office staff couldn't be less interested in anything- who is this guy? If you have all day to wait, go ahead- the place is run like a third world clinic-

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 30th, 2013

Superb Retinal Specialist

Dr. Cohen is one of the most eminent retina specialists in the country-it's all he does. I had an emergency condition and was immediately referred to him by my regular opthalmologist and seen within a day. He perfectly cured my retinal tear and associated problems and allayed my fears because of the post-surgical (in office) floaters/debris I was seeing which did in time disappear as he predicted. Yes, there truly are LONG waits in his office-it is because he is so good and is very careful in his vital work that he has so many patients. He is a nice guy and THE MAN if you have retinal problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 25th, 2013

Run to another office

Run do not walk away from this office. It is run by a young woman who is the rudest, most abrasive person I have ever come into contact with. She sneered at my questions, laughed at my frustration, and refused to provide her name despite saying she was the manager (I later learned her name is Nicole). She had me wait for 45 minutes after the start of my appointment time without any word on why there was a delay. She said she could not interrupt the doctors, but then she put a call through to him! Everyone has a bad day, but this was so far beyond that I had to let people know to stay away.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 11th, 2012

He's good, but my time is valuable, too.

The choices for wait time only went up to one hour, BUT I waited 2 hours, not counting the time I waited for my eyes to dilate completely. This is overbooking to an extreme that severely disrespects patients' time. Dr. Cohen seems particularly good, and he was obviously working hard, but I was there from 3:00 to 6:30. Bring lots of quarters: one only gets you 15 minutes.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 27th, 2011

Assembly line
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

March 15th, 2011

Come with plenty of reading material

I have visited dr. Cohen several times with my mother and have yet to spend less than 3 hrs at the office. The sad part of my spending 3hrs at his office is that he is only with her maximum 7 minutes. This is extremely unprofessional !!! There should be a hotline to report this type of behavior especially when elderly people have medication to take or start to become agitated because of their dementia.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2010

A Superior and Caring Retinologist

Dr. Cohen is a well trained medical specialist in the field of retinal conditions. He demonstrates great expertise in the diagnosis and treatment of these diseases.He exudes a sense of optimism regarding treatment outcomes. While he conducts his patient examinations with a great deal of efficiency, he is very thorough while being caring and concerned. He deserves a 5-star rating and can be considered to be a doctor's doctor.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

August 2nd, 2017

1.0 Rating

April 12th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ben Cohen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Joseph Tseng

    Ophthalmology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    10
  • Dr. Niel Squillante

    Ophthalmology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    48
  • Dr. Naomi Goldberg

    Ophthalmology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.9
    (8)
    10