The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mason Kates Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mason Kates?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    3
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    3
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Friendly Staff
Wait Time
37 min
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2016

Rude and Condescending

Not a good ER experience at St. Francis

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 28th, 2016

Terrible bedside manner

When you are truly suffering at the ER, hope to God this man doesn't walk into the room. I would not trust my life in this mans hands.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 27th, 2016

Who? Who are you? Why a huge bill for 4 minutes?

I received wonderful medical care at Penrose Hospital from the nurses and other doctors on call - but NOR Dr. Kates. Yet, his bill was bigger than those doctors who actually administered professional medical care. Dr. Kates, I got your bill and wondered who are you? Oh yeah, the guy who walked into my ER cubicle, glanced at my chart and said hello - and left. Dr. Kates, your bill is outrageous. You must be good at something, but you did nothing for me.

Promptness
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

March 9th, 2015

Barely adequate

Had ER visit for chest discomfort and pain, indigestion and shoulder pain. All test came back normal, Dr. Came in told me that, never listened to my heart, etc... Just said it was probably GERD, after giving me nitro to see how I would react, them Zofran for nausea, made me drink Milk a magnesium with litacane and tol me to follow up with my dr.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2011

XLNT

Dr. Kates sat quietly in a chair making notes before I noticed him in the ER. When I saw him he gave me a big smile. He seemed to be waiting for the nurses surrounding my bed to finish up. He was unassuming & put me at ease while at the same time he instilled confidence!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2009

in his defense

Well, I wouldn't totally agree w/ all these negative comments. As a former co-worker for several years, I have experienced first hand how Dr Kates practices in the ER. And while he's not perfect (as no one is), I wouldn't characterize him as being completely rude, arrogant, etc. Working in the ER is very stressful and many times patients have no idea what else is going on outside their little room/bed area. While some patients are understanding most believe that only their problem is the most urgent "emergency". Also have to remember that we ER people deal w/ many, many, many "rude, arrogant, hostile, violent, condescending folks w/ horrible manners." Dr Kates does care about his patients, he is conscientious of how he does his job and is compassionate but I also believe that he doesn't tolerate those who are unreasonably demanding or those who have belligerent tendencies, and I hope he doesn't.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 26th, 2009

Perfect diagnosis- Caring

Dr Kates was able to diagnosis the illness and the best course of action 6 months ahead of the experts. He was caring and able to give us the straight facts. He is not quick to use antibiotics and gave me all the reasons why. He was right.

Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 3rd, 2016

1.0 Rating

May 12th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

May 5th, 2016

1.0 Rating

September 18th, 2015

1.0 Rating

July 21st, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mason Kates is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Colorado Springs, CO.

  • Dr. Constant Platz

    Emergency Medicine

    Colorado Springs, CO 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    40
  • Dr. Jack Sharon

    Dr. Jack Sharon

    Emergency Medicine

    Colorado Springs, CO 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    26
  • Dr. Nicole Carbonell

    Emergency Medicine

    Colorado Springs, CO 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    16