Dr. Benjamin Domb MD Patient Reviews

  • Sports Medicine Westmont, IL

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 119 patient ratings
  • 38 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

119 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    66%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 20.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 8th, 2017
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am very happy since having the surgery. The pain in my hip is gone! I would recommend the surgery to anyone no matter their age!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 18th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Domb did an outstanding job replacing my hip and repairing my gluteus medius tear. I would highly recommend him and his team and had a good experience. Very grateful to be pain free and back to my life again. Thanks Dr. Domb! You are the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 17th, 2016
Financial nightmare
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This has been a two year process for me, wish I'd have taken my business elsewhere. After being diagnosed with a labrum tear I was scheduled for surgery. One person at the office told me to start PT prior to surgery and another told me to not waste time and money on pre op PT so stopped. Less than a week before my scheduled surgery insurance denied me because I had not completed the PT. when I finally became elegible again the office scheduled me for surgery in Indiana in an out of network and told me if I wanted an in network site I'd have to wait 6 months for an appointment. And don't get me started on the $5000 deposit! Never ever sign a waiver or give a deposit until you speak to your insurance! I learned this lesson the hard way. He's trying to bill me almost $2500 now because that was the part not covered by insurance and i gave him the deposit. But he makes it sound like this deposit is for your benefit. I went to him because my mother in law had a fine experience with him and spoke highly. But the more people I talk to with similar injuries have nothing good to say. He has tried to spread himself too thin with so many offices and high volume, this should have been a big red flag to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2016
Hip Surgery, Excellent experience and outcome! Talented and compassionate doctor!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Recently had hip surgery by Dr Domb. Excellent experience from start to finish! I have been suffering from hip pain for years now, and after many inaccurate diagnoses by multiple specialists, I was referred to Dr Domb by a colleague who also had hip surgery by him, and had an equally excellent experience and outcome. His staff was helpful and thorough and guided me through the process, and Dr Domb's experience, reputation, education and bedside manner were top notch. He is not only a very skilled surgeon, but a compassionate physician. I am now 3 months post surgery and feel better than I have in years! I am finally able to return to my active lifestyle and get back to doing the activities I love, pain free! Many, many thanks Dr Domb!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 7th, 2016
Not good
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Absolutely regret having surgery with him. Never explained anything, just said he would fix me. After the surgery, when I still had pain and problems, I was advised to no longer see him. Went to another doctor who eventually gave me my life back after having to do 4 more surgeries (2 on each hip).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I didn't meet him until after my surgery, but my hip feels as good as new! If you're looking for someone to fix your hip, Dr. Domb's your guy.

3.0 of 5
March 20th, 2016
Beware of the $5000.00 Deposit and massive over charges.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Domb as Hip scope patient. I chose him as he seemed the only OS close to me other than going to NY who had the experience necessary. Only time will tell whether it has been worth the extensive repair vs. a THR. I will post back on that later and revise my post on the outcome. One thing you need to be aware of is the $5000 deposit. This is required for all patients no matter what your insurance carrier you have. You are supposed to get that refunded once your insurance has paid out but,thus far nothing has been returned and its been over 3 months. I keep getting the same response from his billing service which is not located here but, in Florida. They keep saying it's being reviewed and they have sent the correct backup information requested from the insurance company. I have dealt with insurance companies a long time and usually you have some answer from them after 3 months. Also he billed over $300,000.00 for a 2 hour surgery which includes his awful care surgery center bill more expensive than any hospital I have ever been in over $100,000. I have had many surgeries including very serious ones and no one has ever billed that much. It would seem that if you billed out that much you would never get paid by any Insurance company nor, would the patient receive a refund on their deposit??? Something is wrong with this picture. So if he collects $5000.per patient and he performs surgery on 12 patients per day or even 10 or 5 which is supposedly what his staff indicated you can do the math and he would never receive payment from an insurance company only the patient. He seems like a great surgeon only time will tell not that one but, I don't expect to ever receive my deposit back. I suppose $5000. is a cheaper way to pay but, not when your already paying a $6000. deductible and premiums over $500.per month. I just hope the surgery was worth it?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Domb requires $5000.00 as a deposit before he will operate. It takes many months to get your money back even if your insurance has paid in full.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 13th, 2016
Lack of Information - Surgery Mill
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am sure that Dr. Domb is an excellent surgeon but the whole processes is rushed.. For the first appt., I saw Domb for maybe 3 minutes and was told that surgery was needed. No explanation about the surgery process, how to prepare, etc.. Then you only get a call to explain the MRI and a call to schedule. No where along this line of communication was the 5k deposit mentioned and if not agreed upon, no surgery for you!! I just found the whole process sad as you are nothing more than a number as I had to go back to my original ortho for explanations.. Seeking someone else who will treat me like a person..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 19th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Disgruntled. After the required $5000.00 deposit before they would agree to perform the surgery. I still receive collection notices from groups I have never heard of. No-one seems to know how to return my "deposit" even after the insurance has long since paid out the claims.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 1st, 2015
Rush, felt like a car going to a shop for repair
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor domb didnt spend time with me to explain me about The Surgery he recommended. When i asked him what was going to be done he explain very briefly and he gave me a print paper with a website and told me i could read more about it There. When he left i was rushed By The assistance Who try to enter The room twice while changing my clothes. I left very dissapointed and sad since i really though i could trust him for my Surgery
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Just wish I saw him more than his assistant.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Benjamin Domb, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Westmont, IL.