Dr. Benjamin Huffard MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Portland, ME

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (-0.4)

24 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    46%
  • Great
    8%
  • Good
    17%
  • Poor
    17%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 10.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2017
Professional
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent manner; excellent medical advice. Thorough and very professional. I would highly recommend this physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2017
Professional
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Excellent manner; excellent medical advice. Thorough and very professional. I would highly recommend this physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 14th, 2017
Decent doctor, poor attitude
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He initially blew off my hip pain, but then was found to have a labreal tear. He was great presurgery. I hated his assistant Allison. They are both dismissive and slightly rude. I felt rushed. He doesn't listen to my concerns or anything about me. Did not even know the protocol he was using to restrict what I could or could not do. I got emotional and he left the door wide open with me crying and simply walked away. I wouldn't recommend him, but OA itself I love.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is an efficiently run facility; and Dr. Huffard processes his job with such on-point, effective approaches. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dr. Huffard &/or O.A. to anyone struggling elsewhere to find a fix to their musculoskeletal problem(s).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2015
Smart and efficient Doctor!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Huffard and his staff are amazing. He doesn't pull any punches and gets to the point efficiently. His PA Alison Chabot is awesome as well! I just had arthroscopic hip surgery with him and he delivered the facts at my initial appointment, pre surgery he came in and spent time with me and my husband to go over the procedure and any concerns and post surgery while in recovery came in and showed me pictures of the procedure. He is extremely knowledgable and I was extremely satisfied with him all around. I have run into other patients of his in public and discussing our health issues we discovered we had the same doctor and nothing but great things were said about him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 21st, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have chronic knee problems and have seen many Orthopedic Surgeons over the last four decades. Dr. Huffard is one of the worst, if not worst. I saw him several times with a hip/knee issue. He determined that my swollen knee was 'fine', then drained the knee and injected it with cortisone, even though I never verbally OK'd the latter. He also never looked at my hip, which along with the knee continues to worsen. He never arrived at any sort of diagnosis, yet still advocated for my return to full activity after the cortisone injections. My problems are now much worse than they were when I initially saw him. Unless you have a very simple problem, I highly recommend you look elsewhere for an Orthopedic Surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2013
RN
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
From the first visit to the post op/ physical therapy appointment, nothing but 5 stars for this crew. Dr. Huffard gave me back my ability to enjoy all the activities I so missed. Dr. Huffard took the time to explain the diagnosis and after care, came to see me before and directly after surgery and again the first day post op when I returned for day one of physical therapy. Personable, informative - would absolutely have him again.

2.3 of 5
February 23rd, 2012
will go else Not convinced
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Continue to have problems after my Surg and Dr. was very dismissive. Will seek alternate answers and not go back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
April 14th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Before my spouse had surgery, the nurses told me that Dr. Huffard would speak to me after the surgery. My spouse was in surgery for over 4 hrs and Dr. Huffard never came out to tell me how the surgery went. When I went to the desk to ask when Dr. Huffard would be coming to speak to me about the surgery, they said he had already left. I was very disappointed that he never came out to tell me how everything went during the surgery. I hope his skills as a surgeon are much better than his bedside manners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 30th, 2008
Do doctors care about the whole patient anymore
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 8th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Benjamin Huffard, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Portland, ME.