The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Benjamin Potkin Is this you?

Filter Reviews

24 Ratings • 11 Comments

3.8
  • 15
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
27.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Benjamin Potkin?

Showing 12 of 24 Ratings

Four Stars

Posted on January 22nd, 2016

Dr Potkin was great, he spent the time with me I needed, was very thorough and kind. Great guy!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

What an AWESOME doctor

Posted on April 28th, 2015

I was going to another dr. when he really did not know what was wrong with my heart! Then I went to Dr. Potkin and he new right away what was wrong. He spent a good amount of time with me explaining what was going on and he is sooo kind,and also knows his stuff. I have never had problems with the staff they are all kind and respectful. The t.v. is on for the people in the waiting room. I have never seen the staff watching it. If I have to wait for awhile I know it is because he gives such time and attention to All of his paitients. This man is a wonderful Dr. and I would recommend him to everyone! He even called me at my home!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

We "love" Dr. Potkin

Posted on June 4th, 2013

We would give anything if he was the only Doctor we have to see. He listens, he cares, he treats us both with the best of care and advice. We okay everything that is said or is going to be done to us, by Doctors, with Dr. Potkin right away for his okay. The staff has ALWAYS been friendly and helpful. Our wait time has not been over 15 minutes.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Poor way to treat the sick...

Posted on May 28th, 2013

Staff bully patients....doc a no show....environment dirty and smelly...it's plain that they don't care about patients...staff would rather watch soap operas on tv...not going back

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The best

Posted on February 11th, 2013

Dr Potkins is the best doctor I have seen. He did not lie to me and told me the truth. He was straight and to the point and gave me all the options of treatment

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Boo hoo

Posted on August 18th, 2011

I decided to leave some feedback for Dr. Potkin (my doctor for 4-5 years now) because I saw these other comments when searching his name. It seems to me only the most altogether personally unpleasant and upset patients would set out to spend their time to leave bad comments about someone. My personal experience with Dr. Potkin is great. My primary care doctor referred me to him for a cardiology work-up and I ended up being treated for heart disease with a defibrillator and came out of the experience with Dr. Potkin feeling 100 times better than I did and I owe him 100% of the credit. So unlike the two below comments I had a great experience. (I too had multiple test done.... you're lucky they turned out to be "normal". How would you know they were normal without actually doing the tests???) Go to Dr. Potkin for his experience and professionalism and you won't be steered in the wrong direction.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 4th, 2011

Never saw Dr.Potkin despite 5 appointments. I saw Alex who was introduced as a doctor and I later found out he was a PA. The office ran multiple tests on me, and in the end I was told everything was normal. Office very disorganized. Doctor talking on cell phone during appointment about personal matters. I have to say--it has been the worst experience with any doctor in Santa Cruz. Definitely not "the best"

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

7 years with Dr. Potkin

Posted on May 29th, 2011

I have been Dr.Potkin's patient for nearly 7 yrs. I have always enjoyed the Dr. himself and he always takes time to listen to me and take issues seriously. He's kept me alive this long and he is a good physician.However, his staff leave a great deal to be desired. My average wait for him is TWO HOURS. No, I'm not kidding. During one of those 2 hour waits, I was told repeatedly that he would just be a few more minutes. Imagine my shock when I found out he was not even IN THE BUILDING and never had been! Not his fault, he was in emergency saving a life and had no idea how his staff was handling it. Most of his patients are little old people who need help getting to the dr. It is no small feat for them to get dressed obtain a ride and sit for that long a period of time in uncomfortable chairs. I hate to think of them being afraid to speak up for themselves. One of his technicians accidentally got a little rough with me during a nuclear stress test and injured my arm. I didn't make a big fuss, it was an accident, and it was just a strained rotator cuff, but I felt it should be brought to Dr. Potkin's attention. His response was sympathetic enough. However when it came time to do the test again, he called to tell me that his technician was not willing to perform it and I would need to find another place to get the test done. I was shocked!!!! It is well documented that she did indeed injure my shoulder, my primary care physician treated me for it. I had completely forgotten about it, it's been two years. I shudder to think how many other older patients she has injured who are not able or afraid to speak up for themselves as I have. There have been a few other blatant incidents along these lines over the years. I really enjoy Dr. Potkin and wish I could keep him as my physician, but under the circumstances, his staff has become so difficult I'd rather start over again with a new doctor. It's a real shame.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best!

Posted on May 18th, 2011

Excellent doctor. I wish he was my only doctor for everything. He really cares about his patients and never treats you like just a number. He always remembers me and about me no matter how long between visits. Dr. Potkin is my hero in saving my life.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Energetic and accurate

Posted on September 15th, 2010

I have been seeing doctor potkin for about a year now and I must admit although it is hard to get a morning appointment with him he is there for you when it really counts and is unparalleled in the area when it comes to surgery. He is one of the most energetic doctors i have met and strives for accuracy.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

great doctor

Posted on September 10th, 2010

The most skilled in the Monterey Bay area.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 21st, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Benjamin Potkin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Aptos, CA.