The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Bernard Benedetto Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bernard Benedetto?

Metastatic Melanoma

Metastatic Melanoma

The facts about metastatic melanoma, a serious skin cancer, including signs, symptoms & what happens to the body in each stage of cancer.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bernard Benedetto?

Ratings and Reviews

49 Ratings with 12 Comments

  • Excellent
    33
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    12
  • Excellent
    33
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    12

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 49 Ratings with 12 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 12th, 2017

Great

I was seen by a different doctor in the group when I was admitted at Salem Hospital and I didn't like her at all. I requested another doctor and lucked out with Dr. B. He has been fantastic. Spent alot of time with me explaining my condition (gallbladder) and when it came time for my surgery things went so much better than I could have hoped. 5 stars!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 16th, 2016

11 Months post surgery - Excellent experience!

I had gastric sleeve surgery, performed by Dr. Benedetto a 11 months ago. I have achieved my goals and would recommend this procedure and Dr. Benedetto to anyone that is looking to address weight loss. The entire program was excellent, and it has changed my whole relationship with food, learning to eat to live vice live to eat. I feel as healthy as when I was half my age, enjoy all the foods I desire. I have learned a great deal about myself, eating healthy, and enjoy food more than I did pre surgery. For me this was a very beneficial process, and I would highly recommend Dr. Benedetto to anyone.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 6th, 2016

Dr. B was excellent! I went to see him for a second opinion after having problems with a previous surgery by another surgeon. He treated me as if I had been his patient for years. Two surgeries later and I am problem free. I would not trust anyone else to operate on me ever again.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 1st, 2015

I am so happy and pleased with my gastric sleeve surgery

I am 3 day's post op for my gastric sleeve surgery, this has been such a wonderful journey because of Dr. Bernard Benedetto and his amazing staff, from the wellness center with Ann, Melinda, to all of the classes, my hospital stay, the outstanding care that I have received during my stay at North Shore Salem Hospital. I would highly recommend Dr. Benedetto for his wonderful bedside personality and the knowledge I have received from his staff!!! my life has changed so much in the last few month's thanks to the care and support I have received. As my Journey continues I look forward to many changes in my life, all positive, and to know that I will be surrounded by Dr. Benedetto and his staff for help and support!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 10th, 2015

Excellent

my mother just learned she had cancer and was sent to see Dr. Benedetto. No only was he an excellent surgeon but his compassion and sense of humor helped us through a very scary time. Despite her fear, Dr. B was able to make Mom laugh at every visit. She has done very well since her surgery and is on the road to recovery. We were very happy with her care.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 29th, 2015

Dr. B saved my life!

I had chronic debilitating diverticulitis for years and no surgeon would touch me until I met Dr. B. He was very understanding and worked with me for over a year before my surgery. He did it with three tiny incisions! I am back to work and feel better than I have in years. I would recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2015

I work in doctors offices I have met alot of docs and I think Dr. B is one of the best! I had my sleeve with him three years ago and have had awesome results. I have sent friends and family members to see him as well and they have all been very happy too!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2013

He doesn't listen. I did not feel someone who would not listen to my concerns could be trusted with my health.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 6th, 2013

I felt badly used

Dr. Benedetto apparently decided he did not like me before he had even met me. I transferred to him after my wonderful surgeon retired. Without even talking with me first, he suggested I needed counseling because I did not want to know my weight. Everyone else had been fine with my wanting to know only how much I had lost. Indeed, by the time I saw him, I was within 10 pounds of an average weight, I was doing everything I was supposed to do including participating in a rigorous exercise program. I felt like he was trying to mess with my head. Fortunately, I am a former psychiatric social worker and knew better than to take what he said as gospel but it still messed with my head enough that I had to debrief with my nutritionist. She thought he was nuts and ended up leaving the program because she didn't want to work with him. The man is manipulative and uses his position of authority badly.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 9th, 2013

I had my original surgery at MGH but my insurance changed and they would not see me anymore. Dr. B took me in as his own patient and performed my repeat surgery laparoscopically when other surgeons told me that it had to be done with a large incision. I hav edone great and feel incredibly lucky to have ended up in Dr. B's care. Would recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 1st, 2013

Wonderful experience!

I felt the need to post this because I had the completely opposite experience of the previous reviewer. The doctor made me feel completely welcome and had all the time that I needed. I felt that he had a wonderful bedside manner and he throroughly explained all factes of my upcoming surgery to me. If I could change anything, it would eb the wait time in the office...I would recommend Dr. Benedetto to any of my friends or family members!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 13th, 2012

Need compassion? Seek it elsewhere

I don't know where to begin. This man has all the compassion of a stone fence. He insulted me within 3 minutes of walking in the room. I was shocked. He continued insulting me to the point that I became so rattled that I neglected to give him an important piece of medical information. Did he ask the right questions to help me remember said important piece of medical information? Are you kidding? Why should someone who already knows all the answers be bothered with asking questions of someone he so clearly views as being unworthy of his time? Did I opt to see another physician for my procedure? I bet you know the answer to that.If you want compassion, seek it elsewhere. If you want a surgeon who is interested in hearing from the person who knows your health best (you) rather than existing in his own echo chamber, run, don't walk right past this ignoramus' office.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Bernard Benedetto is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Danvers, MA.

  • Dr. Susan Karol

    General Surgery

    Danvers, MA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    34
  • Dr. Frederick Buckley Jr

    Bariatric Medicine, General Surgery

    Danvers, MA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    43
  • Dr. Martin Hertl

    General Surgery, Transplant Surgery

    Danvers, MA 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (10)
    25