Overall Review

3.8
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

3.1 (-0.7)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    65%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    26%
  • Wait Time 21.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 19th, 2016
WORST DOCTOR EVER
This doctor was very rude, he has horrible bedside manner, he does not know how to deal with human beings. During my visit he was rude to me, his office staff, and other patients. He seemed very disinterested in what I was saying as a patient, was more interested to get in and get out of the room as soon as possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2016
Wonderful and caring
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I always have a wonderful experience when seeing Dr. Lau. It is obvious that he loves children and his advice is always helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 24th, 2016
WORST PEDIATRICIAN EVER
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited over 2 hours to see this doctor. Saw him leave the room next to ours then go to the doctor lounge. Heard him talk for 20 plus minutes to another doctor about CARS. I went to the front desk twice to let them know I could hear him and that our appointment was 2 hours ago. He was VERY RUDE and HAD A BAD ATTITUDE. Then we he finally decided to see us he said we needed to see a specialist. I thought he was a doctor. I would not recommend this doctor to anyone. I would give zero starts if I could.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 18th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I happen to think Dr. Lau is one of the best pediatricians I have taken my daughter to. He has a quirky sense of humor which I thoroughly enjoy because I feel like I am talking to a regular person, not a Dr. who feels or acts like they are "holier-than-thou". He has always spent a decent amount of time with us at appointments and never made us feel rushed even though I know a pediatrics office can get crazy - especially a large one like Stony Brook.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 18th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Ok so his bedside manner is terrible he speaks down to parents and actually made me feel like i was an idiot. He misdiagnosed my son and sent us home. my motherly instincts kicked in and i went to er and we were admitted for 3 days!! He gives long winded answers to questions not giving a straight answer!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2014
Amazing Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Lau is an amazing doctor. He spends a lot of time with me whenever I am there with either of my children. He doesn't rush me out, and never makes me feel like I've asked a silly question. He teaches me how to take care of my sick child, and explains the logic behind all the advice he gives. I've learned so much over the years that I've been bringing my children to see him, like how to minimize the chances of my sick child getting worse, and when antibiotics are not needed, and he even explains possible side effects and how to avoid them! I give him an A++++++
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2013
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thanks to the parents who expressed their negative experiences with this Dr. I thought it was just me.... I've experienced some of the same condescending and demeaning attitudes. Some of the comments he made to me were out right rude. I would say to myself, "Did he just really say that to me?" I've had a few good visits, thus giving him several opportunities, but overall...his personality, arrogant comments, lack of concern for my childs needs has made me realize that I should switch pediatricians.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 20th, 2013
Horrible and arrogant
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He may be a good doctor but you would never know because his arrogant attitude gets in the way. Don't know what dr Thomas was thinking bringing him in but have to switch pediatricians because I do not want my children to be seen by him. Makes you and your children feel horrible and needs to work on his people skills. Those that have given him good reviews must have met him on a good day as he has never been anything but rude and condescending to me and my husband and several other patients I have talked to. Please dr Thomas find a new doctor to be a part of your practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2012
He saved my son
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Lau is one of the most thorough doctors we've encountered. When he does and exam, he really does one! My son had a condition that likely has been present for a long time. No other doctors found it, but Dr. Lau did! Just an awesome doc!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 16th, 2012
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Arrogant nasty and horrible
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 31st, 2012
Great surprise!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saw Dr. Lau with my daughter who has had a really bad rash. He treated her right and the rash got better when others couldn't fix it. He even personally called for follow up! What a great surprise to get this kind of care!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing! Highly personalized service. Spends lots of time explaining in plain english!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Bernard Lau, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near East Setauket, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Saiqa Nabi

19 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lycia Ryder

15 years experience

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Susmita Pati

20 years experience

3.0 of 5