Dr. Bertram Matsumoto MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.4
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.9 (+ 0.5)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    80%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Wait Time 21 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 6th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
knows what he's doing
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 18th, 2016
Excellent
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
An outstanding ophthalmologist and practice!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2015
Perfect vision
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I sincerely thank Dr. Matsumoto for his gentleness, professionalism, knowledge and expertise in taking away my cataracts...In August, he gave me 20/20 vision. I would recommend him to everyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 25th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 14th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
absoultely the best. The whole staff are friendly & on top of everything.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Matsumoto performed cataract surgery on both my eyes in late 2012. I had to wait two months for an initial appointment, but found it worth the wait. Dr. Matsumoto was very thorough, answered my questions., and I felt reassured that I could trust him with my eyesight. The surgery went very well, I had almost no discomfort, there were no complications, and the improvement in my vision was dramatic. I saw him for several follow-up visits, but unfortunately, due to insurance changes, I cannot no longer see him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 8th, 2013
Top Doc in my opinion
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is the THIRD opthamologist I have seen and I have what is considered to be premium insurance. No co-pays, no referrals, etc. I have never had an issue with my eyes until I had what seemed liked pink eye, then the problem became worse. After a prescribed antibiotic it initially cleared up my vision was blurred along with a number of other problems. The other 2 doctors performed perfunctory eye tests and both told me I had "dry eye". Dr. Matsumoto was the ONLY doctor who took the time to do additional exams, ask in depth questions regarding my general health which lead him to believe I had Sjogrens Syndrome. I don't know why the other 2 doctors overlooked the light sensitivity along with all the other symptoms and failed to even run the basic test. I am now seeing a Rheumatologist and getting the necessary follow up rather than just continuing with blurred vision and using eye drops as prescribed by the other docs. I agree his staff leaves much to be desired; but the physician himself is first rate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 8th, 2012
Worth the Wait
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
My appointments are usually at the end of the day, and I don't mind waiting because I know the reason that my appointment has been delayed is because Dr. Matsumoto has given each of his patients before me quality service and that I shall receive the same. The office staff are always friendly and courteous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 13th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Exam is mostly done by medically unqualified technician. The Docotor did little and didn't seem interested in the patient care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 25th, 2012
My Compliments To Dr Matsumoto
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a type 1 diabetic for 43 yrs and my primary ophthalmologist for the last ten yrs has been Dr Matsumoto, who in my opinion is an excellent ophthalmologist and has given my diabetic eyes excellent care over the past ten yrs. In the last two mths Dr Matsumoto has performed delicate cataract removal and Alcon Toric lens implants in both of my eyes which has corrected my very bad astigmatism and has made my uncorrected vision better than it has ever been at 20/25. My compliments and thank you to Dr Matsumoto and his excellent staff who carefully, accurately and thoroughly made the correct diagnosis and measurements for the Toric lens implants that has given me the best uncorrected vision possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 16th, 2010
Gret Doctor, HORRIBLE STAFF!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Matsumoto is fantastic, unfortunately, his office staff, including his assistants, are completely incompetent. Worse, it's impossible to get in touch with Dr. Matsumoto unless you are sitting in his office (and have a scheduled appointment). The wait times are terrible, the staff is rude and no one - other than Dr. Matsumoto - seems to have any clue on how to deal with something as simple as a contact! And, forget about getting your call returned!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 13th, 2009
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very professional ... a top Doc in Phoenix and well respected by his peers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Bertram Matsumoto, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Phoenix, AZ.

Doctor

Dr. Lisa Mansueto

22 years experience

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ronald Cox

47 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Brian Rose

28 years experience

4.7 of 5