Dr. Beth Winke MD Patient Reviews

  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Chesapeake, VA

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 66 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

66 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    44%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    11%
  • Bad
    32%
  • Wait Time 25.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 20th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After several complaints of letting her PA know that the treatment plan which I was started on in the beginning wasn't working for me, they continued to neglect my increased pain. My pain began to increase, and my dosage remained at 2/day although I begged to be reevaluated. I begged to see Dr. Winke and no one allowed me. I was discharged because I took a tramadol (1 tramadol) after I cried to the PA of something very terrible happening to my knee and to this day, I've received a cortisone shot and fluid removed (and it's swelled back up and shot lasted 2 days. I was discharged and all I wanted to do was let Dr. Winke know that I was not trying to be defiant, yet her PAs were neglecting to properly track my progress. Because I was actually getting worse not better. I was in an immense amount of pains and felt neglected by my doctor. I always followed the rules except at the end when I took the tramadol after letting them know I needed attention. I feel because they neglected my issues, now I'm having to suffer. Then I called to leave a message for Dr. Winke and Carole tells me I will not be able to get back in at this point my concerns so t matter because once Dr. Winke discharges you, she doesn't take you back and she didn't have time to listen to "my complaints."
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 28th, 2016
3 year patient
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband has been her patient for 3 years. Recently received letter terminating his care from her. No explanation, phone call, can't get her to return calls, office uncooperative. Tested clean every month! Has not a second thought for her patient's health or well being. In 3 years had done nothing but write scripts for pain meds. Positive getting in to see a professional, pain management doc will be a blessing ! Would like to report this treatment from her and her staff to an authority or someone with the ability to address the treatment!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Winke is a awesome and caring doctor. As long as you are honest with her she will help you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 25th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Winke and her staff are awesome. I won't go to any other doctor for pain management. Ive been with her for 4 or 5 years now and never have had a problem with anything. She understands me and has taken very good care of me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 17th, 2015
Thrown out of office because they would not help me anymore.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
They kicked me out because I failed one drug test. I smoked some Cannabis because of the incredible pain I was having. They would not treat my pain effectively. They have a form that gives you one more month of pain meds. But they did not do it for me !!! Instead, when I complained, they threatened to call the police. I just hurt !!!!! BTW, those contracts they force you to sign are not required by the government. They do it to make money. My Internist treats me now, and he treats me with respect, integrity, and like a human, not an animal. No contracts, no urine tests. Thank God their a few doctors left with ethics. Winkie is not one of them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 4th, 2015
Liar and a coward
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I discharged myself from Dr. Winke office, she lied and red flagged me as if she discharged me. I guess the coward couldn't take a lose and was scared that she was going to look bad so the witch switched it around on me
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2015
Will use you as guinea pigs
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctors were using me for a pay check giving new medication that didn't help cause she was getting a check for Prescribing it to me would not listen to me and didn't care about just the checks for the meds she wanted me to take
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 18th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been reading these reviews~these people must be seeing a different Dr & Evan than I do because Dr Winke is always so patient & so gentle & always answers any questions I ask & Evans couldn't be any nicer or helpful & I've never waited over 5 mins ti see Dr Winke or Evans~I Love the Staff they are always so kind & so helpful! I'd totally recommend Dr Winke 100%

2.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Winke, or shall I say her PAs because it's next to impossible to get in with her, for about 4 years now...and have been wanting to find better Physiatrist for about 3 of those years. The wait is typically 15 minutes to 2 hours. They don't spend any amount of time with you once you get in so they must really overbook appointments. Then they call you in for your "random" urinalysis. It's random yet it seems to happen on at least every other visit. Then they send that to an out of network lab, which I just found out recently when I received 2 bills from the lab, each one for $1,500! Fortunately I got it all worked out, but not until after I paid the bills. The customer service (other than the receptionists who are usually very polite) from the nurses and techs is basically non-existent. They are rude and disrespectful as a rule. They rarely smile and treat you (I've spoken to many people in the waiting rooms about this who feel the same) like a low-life drug addict regardless of the fact that you have done every treatment, including a failed surgery and have no choice but live with the pain or take the drugs. They do offer many treatments, most of which Dr. Winke can manage in the clinic, but on a typical visit they don't so much as lay a hand on you. It is totally incomprehensible to me how someone who treats bone and muscle issues can do so without ever touching you. I see many reviews of people getting kicked out of the practice, well I almost was. Since I've been on pain meds for so long they weren't as effective and we were going through a trial of trying to find a new one that I could take comfortably and that actually worked. I was given one and after a few days it was tearing up my gut, so I stopped it and took my original meds that I still had a few of. I called the doctor to let them know that I couldn't take the new drug and that I took my original until they can get me back in to see someone. The very next day I get a call asking me to come down and sign a violation report! I didn't even need to call them and tell them that I switched, but thought it was the right thing to do, and I was punished for it. They would rather I had either continued the new med and suffer until they could get me in or stop all meds until then and suffer the pain. Amazing, I felt so dirty and cheap while they felt nothing, no understanding or sympathy in the least. And my last complaint is that no matter how much pain you are in, unless they have an opening, they won’t try to work you in to see the doctor. A practice devoted to helping people with pain and yet they don't expect to ever have to deal with emergencies? They tell you to wait until the next available opening or go to the emergency room. An emergency to me means I'm in so much pain that I can't drive or go to work and the pain meds aren't helping but maybe an adjustment or some trigger point injections or prescription of a short term steroid will. This just isn't something you go to an emergency room at the hospital for but they have no contingency plans for situations like this. I would really like to find a pain management doctor that I can count on, but when you sign their narcotics contract it looks very bad on you to change doctors...they look at it as though you are simply trying to abuse the system. If anyone knows of someone really good and can manage to sneak the information into one of these reviews it would be most appreciated. Good luck to all who need a good, knowledgeable and CARING pain management doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 21st, 2013
Doctor and Staff not worth even 1 star!
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor is too meek; can barely hear her speak. You can suggest a drug, and she will prescribe it to you. I don’t know. Staff are a bunch of kibitzers! They all participate in the ‘Protect the Doctor’ game, constantly running interference; worse, either Doctor Winke promotes this behavior or she is so blind that she doesn’t even realize it’s going-on. You’re not a Patient of Doctor Winke; you’re a hostage of the PA, Priscilla and the Receptionist, as they call the shots in the Indian River Road office. The worse blow will come when you make an effort to circumvent either or both to get to Dr. Winke. Once the Staff realizes this, suddenly your no longer a Patient/Client of the practice; instead, your discharged for whatever reason they pull out of the air. Interesting enough though, Winke’s discharge doesn’t effect your being accepted at another Pain Management practice. Hmmmmm, makes you wonder, doesn’t it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 9th, 2013
One of the best
Wait time
5 minutes
This practice is the best I've ever been around. Despite what other reviews say, I think Dr Winke, the PAs, and the staff are very caring and considerate of your care. Yes, you have to take a urine test when you come, but that's the same at every pain clinic. If you listen to what they tell you, you won't have any problems. I never have any problems getting an appointment or any questions answered. I would recommend this place to anyone who is suffering with pain like I am. Don't listen to the negative comments. Dr Winke has always had my best interests and so has the PAs. I've been with Dr winke for 6 years and still with her. Go see her! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 12th, 2013
Never Again
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you have a specific drug in mind, tell her, she will give it to you. Receptionist will tell you, "Your addicted to drugs"; she had to hear it from somewhere; talk about embarrassing, everyone in the waiting room heard her. Questioned Priscella, Winke's PA, only made her snotty, told me I was on too many pain medicines; (Hello, you write the prescriptions!); then shuffled me out as fast as she could. Tried to call back and speak to Dr. Winke; couldn't get pass the receptionist. That's alright, next visit I'll insist on speaking to Dr. Winke!
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Health Guides


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Beth Winke, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chesapeake, VA.